We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Nearby Hotels
Seven Terraces(George Town)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spices Hotel(George Town)
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,361)
Filter reviews
1,361 results
Traveller rating
220
654
349
100
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
654
349
100
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrevolving restaurantrooftop bargrand deluxe roomred gardencheong fatt tze mansionwalking distancesea viewtaxi standnon smokingblue mansionswimming poolbuffet breakfast isrooms are bigstandard roomeastern oriental hotelpleasant stayfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
640 - 645 of 1,361 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The building itself is rather old, even though it's recently refurbished. So the rooms were comfy and clean enough, but still old in places. The car park is difficult to find, and access between the hotel and car park is quite troublesome, having to walk up/down stairs, then accessing another lift, which is small and will have trouble fitting a large family. The hotel and rooms are alright, though.

The location is great, within walking distance to Georgetown's heritage quarter which is fast gaining popularity with the hipsters and backpackers. And of course, the many food outlets Penang is famous for.

Do go up to the sky bar upstairs. It commands a fantastic view of the city and the sea.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiselstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear chiselstone,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to post you review of your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you found our rooms comfortable and clean and the hotel situated in a great location. Thank you also for your compliments on 360° Revolving Restaurant & Skybar.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband n I took our staff nurse n our children for a short holiday.the hotel is so good with the checking in .The hotel as usual has done a real upkeep of the place. They have renovated the place so amicable.the beds are so comfortable .the rooms we stayed were the grand deluxe room n they were so big and spacious.the king size bed is so comfortable that it can accommodate three people in it.the children explored the hotel and enjoyed themselves.good hotel and near to all the attractions.just down the road from the hotel is the world heritage mansion hotel the cheong fatt zee .there are food courts too.very good selection of food to be found there.

Room Tip: Rooms that are good is the grand deluxe ,the premier rooms,the junior suites.take the rooms facing the side sea view.it has a good view .they are more quiter. No rooms near the lifts.that are so noisy.and ask for the non smoking floors if you going with children.it is much better.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Catherine D,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for the nice and lovely review of your recent stay with us.

I am glad that our efforts in sprucing up the hotel and paid off in you and your family enjoying the new rooms.

It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us and we hope to welcome all of you back to Bayview soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had a free upgrade to a premium, but smoking, room. The room was spacious and comfortable, despite the reeking smell of smoke. The bed was big and comfortable, although the pillows were too soft for comfort. The bathtub drain was a little clogged and it take ages for the water to clear, and there was leaking of the water from the bath to the toilet floor. Basic amenities were provided, as well as bottled water, which is a plus. The TV channels are limited though.

The hotel is rather accessible, just a short walking distance to the Red Garden for dinner, and 5 mins walk to the pubs for a after dinner drink. Generally it was pretty safe to be walking around at night.The Concierge staff is very friendly, and certainly very helpful in giving us directions to the Mural wall arts and recommendations for dinner choices. We are very pleased with his service.

Overall, we had a rather enjoyable stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelindaL_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear choroki,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for your review of the hotel on your recent stay with us.

If you would be so kind as to message me on your room number so that I can get my maintenance team to look and rectify the faults that you have mention, it would be greatly appreciated.
I am happy to note that the concierge team was friendly and helpful and that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to Bayview Georgetown Penang again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Good sized room. Clean and tidy. Nice band in the lobby bar. 360 restaurant and sky bar are by far the highlight of this hotel and I only went there on my last night.
All in all a good stay.

Only downside for me was the paper thin walls and noisy neighbours

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Alan-Holden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Alan-Holden,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for the nice review and I am glad that you found our rooms to be of a good size, clean & tidy and also offering good entertainment at the lobby lounge as well as 360° Revolving Restaurant & Skybar.

I apologize for the noise from the room next to you. It was indeed a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed for 2 days at Bayview Hotel and I had a lovely stay as the rooms are really luxurious and clean .Its location is amazing and you can catch the free hop on hop off CAT bus just in walking distance also the mesmerizing wall-art is also 2 km away.There are taxis just outside the hotel which have a fixed rate for kehloksi temple and Penang hill .Breakfast had variety of things to choose from.Very Friendly staff and ready to guide you for any of your queries.We had amazing view of the sea from our room window.I highly recommend this hotel to everyone going to Penang

Room Tip: You can choose the sea facing rooms
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soumyakhurana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Soumyakhurana,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for this lovely review and for giving us a 5/5 score. I am happy that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for recommending Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang as a preferred hotel to stay in Penang.

We hope to welcome you back again to the very best of Bayview.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews