We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, can be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Average, can be better”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I have booked 3 rooms for my famiy holidays.
Hotel should improve on their service. Over the 3-night stay, one of the room was not given hand tower; have to call to get them; quite anoying.
Water flow in the bath tub was slow, "flood" whenever you shower. One of the room with burst shower pipe.
Rooms were clean. LCD TV was OK, but no much programs to watch.
Overall the stay was OK

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PangEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear PangEP

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your feedback.

With regards to your comment on the hand towel, I apologize for the inconveniences but we do not provide hand towels as a standard amenity in all rooms. Hand towels are only provided in the higher room categories and in all other rooms the hand towels is on a request basis. My staff should have advise you on this from the beginning.

I would appreciate it if you could message me the room number where the water flow in the room bathtub was slow and the burst shower pipe so that I can get my maintenance team to look into this and rectify the fault immediately.

Thank you for staying with us and I sincerely hope that the issues that you had encountered will not deter you from staying with us in the future.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    610
    331
    95
    38
See reviews for
285
394
111
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed in your hotel last week and was surprised to see a cockroach running out the kitchen while I was in the coffee shop having my breakfast. I was told by one of your staff that it was normal. Which I don't think so. I was not surprised to see today's star news paper (5th December 2013) carrying a full page article about a 4 star hotel in Penang being slap with a compound for being a dirty kitchen. I did not have the time to check with the authorities which hotel it was, but if it was the Bayview Hotel, I think the management and staff deserve it as they take other peoples health with no respect and value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johncso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Johncso,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for bringing this up to my attention. I am utterly shocked at your feedback as we have been practicing a monthly pest control exercise here without fail. I have instructed my Executive Housekeeper to get the pest control company to do an intensive exercise so as to get rid of any pest in the kitchen.

As for the newspaper article you mentioned, it was reported that the hotel concerned was in the Tanjung Tokong vicinity. Please let me assure you that it was not us.

Once again, I thank you for your feedback as it is with feedbacks from guest that we can improve and we certainly will do so.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Bayview hotel is quite old but nicely decorated. I had some trouble to find the carpark and had to walk some stairs to access the lift to go to the hotel reception. Staff was very friendly and helpful
Non-smoking room with 2 single beds. Room size ok, bathroom basic. The shower in the bathtub was too low for me and rather inconvenient. Location is great to go to nearby pubs and restaurants.

The revolving sky restaurant is great for having a drink as you can sit outside as well and look all around Penang.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johan129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear johan129,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us.

I apologize for the lack of signage at the car park and will look into ways to improve on this. I am glad to note that you found all my staff very friendly and helpful and that the hotel was in a strategic location. Thank you also for your compliments on 360° Revolving Restaurant & Skybar.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The building itself is rather old, even though it's recently refurbished. So the rooms were comfy and clean enough, but still old in places. The car park is difficult to find, and access between the hotel and car park is quite troublesome, having to walk up/down stairs, then accessing another lift, which is small and will have trouble fitting a large family. The hotel and rooms are alright, though.

The location is great, within walking distance to Georgetown's heritage quarter which is fast gaining popularity with the hipsters and backpackers. And of course, the many food outlets Penang is famous for.

Do go up to the sky bar upstairs. It commands a fantastic view of the city and the sea.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiselstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear chiselstone,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to post you review of your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you found our rooms comfortable and clean and the hotel situated in a great location. Thank you also for your compliments on 360° Revolving Restaurant & Skybar.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband n I took our staff nurse n our children for a short holiday.the hotel is so good with the checking in .The hotel as usual has done a real upkeep of the place. They have renovated the place so amicable.the beds are so comfortable .the rooms we stayed were the grand deluxe room n they were so big and spacious.the king size bed is so comfortable that it can accommodate three people in it.the children explored the hotel and enjoyed themselves.good hotel and near to all the attractions.just down the road from the hotel is the world heritage mansion hotel the cheong fatt zee .there are food courts too.very good selection of food to be found there.

Room Tip: Rooms that are good is the grand deluxe ,the premier rooms,the junior suites.take the rooms facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Catherine D,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for the nice and lovely review of your recent stay with us.

I am glad that our efforts in sprucing up the hotel and paid off in you and your family enjoying the new rooms.

It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us and we hope to welcome all of you back to Bayview soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had a free upgrade to a premium, but smoking, room. The room was spacious and comfortable, despite the reeking smell of smoke. The bed was big and comfortable, although the pillows were too soft for comfort. The bathtub drain was a little clogged and it take ages for the water to clear, and there was leaking of the water from the bath to the toilet floor. Basic amenities were provided, as well as bottled water, which is a plus. The TV channels are limited though.

The hotel is rather accessible, just a short walking distance to the Red Garden for dinner, and 5 mins walk to the pubs for a after dinner drink. Generally it was pretty safe to be walking around at night.The Concierge staff is very friendly, and certainly very helpful in giving us directions to the Mural wall arts and recommendations for dinner choices. We are very pleased with his service.

Overall, we had a rather enjoyable stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelindaL_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear choroki,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for your review of the hotel on your recent stay with us.

If you would be so kind as to message me on your room number so that I can get my maintenance team to look and rectify the faults that you have mention, it would be greatly appreciated.
I am happy to note that the concierge team was friendly and helpful and that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to Bayview Georgetown Penang again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
224 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Good sized room. Clean and tidy. Nice band in the lobby bar. 360 restaurant and sky bar are by far the highlight of this hotel and I only went there on my last night.
All in all a good stay.

Only downside for me was the paper thin walls and noisy neighbours

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan-Holden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Alan-Holden,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for the nice review and I am glad that you found our rooms to be of a good size, clean & tidy and also offering good entertainment at the lobby lounge as well as 360° Revolving Restaurant & Skybar.

I apologize for the noise from the room next to you. It was indeed a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.2 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#21 of 84 in George Town
1,047 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
668 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
1,039 reviews
1.0 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#22 of 84 in George Town
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 25A Lebuh Farquhar, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing