We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Strategic Location”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Plus points - Location is good. 3 minutes walking distance to restaurants. There is a Maybank Branch next door. Food serves during buffet were tasteful. Must compliment the chef.
Negative points - Quite an old building, nothing much can be done about it so you would see old furniture in the room. The front office insist to charge me half day rate if I don't check out within 10 minutes (it was already 1 pm at that time) though I told them that my wife was packing up.

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the sea. Your kids would love looking out the window to get a good view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adiiskandari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear adiiskandari,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you had a good stay with us and I do apologize for the tactlessness of my staff on duty on the day of your check-out. Efforts will be made to improve on this.

My Chefs will be pleased to note that you had enjoyed the buffets.

We hope to welcome you and your family back again soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    609
    331
    95
    38
See reviews for
284
394
111
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We have just spent 11 days staying at City Bayview in Georgetown. The location is great, easy walking distance to shopping and lots of places like Little India.The hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming.We were on the 15th floor, the room was quiet, great air conditioning, which was needed as it was very hot.The showers have strong water pressure. Breakfast was nice, a mix of western and Asian food.The omelette was perfectly made, Yumm .If you needed to know anything the staff were happy to help you. The Manager of the hotel is pleasant and approachable.The lobby bar staff always happy and smiling. We had a great holiday and we would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear treen_11,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for rating us 5/5.

I am glad that you had a fantastic experience staying with us and your endorsements on our excellent location, friendly staff, good air conditioning & powerful showers in the room and the good buffet breakfast served every morning are very much appreciated.

We also thank you for your recommendations and we hope to welcome you and all your friends to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Bayview hotel is in a great position near the top of Jalan Penang. You can explore most of Georgetown on foot from here, although the heat will require you to make a few air-conditioned 'pit stops'!
My room was very spacious, on the fourth floor, which is a smoking floor. It had a small balcony over-looking the pool. The decor was a bit faded and the bathroom in need of a face-lift, but this did not spoil my visit in any way. The TV had a reasonable range of English speaking channels.
The revolving restaurant is great, although the food is only average as most lukewarm buffet food is. Still it is not overpriced and the view is worth it. The evening I ate there there was a loud and spectacular thunderstorm which came as quickly as it went. The whole experience was memorable.
The room price was most reasonable and I would stay there again if I was in Penang.

Room Tip: There was no excess traffic noise on either side, so I suppose most rooms would be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormGeelongAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear NormGeelongAustralia,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your positive review of your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you had a wonderful experience staying with us and your endorsements on our excellent location and large rooms are very much appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 571 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

If you are looking for a Hotel in town, i would intro you this hotel as it has a Rooftop Sky bar + Revolving 360degree Restaurant. You can enjoy the Penang Island view at the restaurant as it turns 360 degree or go out to the rooftop bar for a ice cold beer and with the chill breeze wind while you were enjoying the scenery of sunset or night scene of the island.

The only turn off is the size of the swimming pool which is rather small and steep. Please becareful. Also the spa facility is poor. Dont expect a real spa with jacuzzi and etc... They didn't have this. Only a paid sauna if you were to use it and massage. If you were driving than you have to park your car on top of the hotel building which the entrance to the carpark is right beside a petrol sation(Petron if not mistaken) Beware ,Its a two way flows. So make sure there is on coming cars while you were driving up the carpark. If there is an oncoming cars than either you should give way first to avoid collision. Cheers.

A walking distance across the road, there is a food court which serve local food or behind the hotels there is a rows of Bars & Pubs for you to throw out the day. But i would prefer the rooftop bar. This hotel also near to the ferry if you were driving and intend to cross to the mainland by ferry instead of the bridge.

Room Tip: Take a non smoking room as the cleanliness is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sze H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Sze H,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for your nice review. I am glad that you had a good experience staying with us and your excellent comments on 360° Revolving Restaurant & Skybar is much welcome.

It was a pleasure serving you and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

located near the Penang ferry and town center. stayed for one night at rm230. overall it is very convinient. You have the restaurant,taxi stand,bus stand,mosque,church,pub,disco n banks with only not more than 50 footstep from the hotel. worth stayingl

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ikram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Ikram A,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

I am glad that you had a pleasant experience staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellieha
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Reception good, though checking in was a bit slow, however all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Buffet dinner was good, and the price reasonable. I agree the place could do with some renovation and my room was large enough for 2 wheelchair users, being a wheelchair user myself it was good, however, the wet room lacked a handle by the shower so I had to hang onto the tap and hot water took an age to flow. I loved the rotating restaurant and bar that was at the top of the hotel, fabulous views of Georgetown at night and beyond. Having come from fully accessible Singapore the roads and pavements were not easy to negotiate so not the best place for a lone wheelchair user but the few days I was there were fun.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Judith B,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for your nice review and I am glad that you had a pleasant stay with us.

I have taken note of your comments on our handicapped room and I will look into further improving it to be more "user friendly"

It is good to note that you had a nice time with the fantastic views from Skybar.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Sunway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in a standard room. And as expected, everything was pretty standard. The check-in staff are friendly and accommodating. The rooms could use a bit of renovation. The pool is really small. Overall, the hotel feels old and lacks modern ambiance.

Hotel breakfast is subpar. The spread doesn't have much to offer, and the coffee is terrible.

The hotel is at a very convenient location with popular food places, bars and murals within walkable distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tridibsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear tridibsays,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We acknowledge your comments of the Standard room which is the lowest room category in the hotel.

I would like to inform you that we are in the midst of refreshing all our Standard and Superior rooms and works will be done progressively throughout 2014 & 2015.
All our other room categories from Deluxe room to the Premier rooms have been completed.

I am certain that all our guests will like the new refreshed rooms once it is ready.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.2 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#21 of 84 in George Town
1,047 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
668 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
1,039 reviews
1.0 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#22 of 84 in George Town
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 25A Lebuh Farquhar, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing