We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent and steady”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The bayview was consistently good in all areas. We stayed in a superior room which was nice and spacious - good size bathroom although shower pressure was average. Strange thing was the cleaning of rooms in the afternoon - as we hit the streets in the morning and like to rest when the day is at its hottest so that did not suit us. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice - the bread and butter pudding was excellent - should have it every morning! The pool area was good with 3 pools and plenty of room - although the pool area could do with a makeover - needs better quality sun lounges and a few umbrellas. Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful - you can always tell a good hotel by the quality of the people on the front doors and the bayview staff were very good - good advice, always smiling and good for a chat! Reasonably close to most things - 20 min walk to komtar - where you can get anywhere by bus in penang - and plenty of markets / eating places close by. The bayview is a good , consistent hotel in all aspects and I would recommend this establishment to anyone looking for a steady , quality performer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear ozclive,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for your nice review of your stay with us and you pleasant experience in our nice & spacious Superior room, the good daily buffet breakfast, the nice pool and the great & friendly staff.

I do apologize for the inconveniences caused from my housekeeping department timing in cleaning your room in the afternoon rather than in the morning.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you and all your friends back again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

I went there for 5 night for a course study. The room is big and really comfortable, also the bathroom is nice. There is an iron in the room (which i really need everyday to have neat clothes haha). Breakfast and lunch is amazing, I love the ice cream freezer and Roti jala/Roti cane spot in there. Would love to come back if I go to Penang again.

Room Tip: If you can, book the room from the booking site lika Agoda or Booking.com, and if you are lucky you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aitiiiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear aitiiy,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your excellent review.

I am glad that you had a nice stay with us in our large room with the amenities provided. I am also glad that you had enjoyed the food served at breakfast and lunch.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and you know where to stay when you are back in Penang again.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Good location for business travellers as there is a rooftop bar at the 6th floor. The scenic view is fantastic and cozy place for discussion. The revolving restaurant revolves till 9pm only but it operates till 12am.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarshiniS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear DarshiniS,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your nice review of your experience at the Revolving Restaurant.

I am glad that you had a pleasant stay with us we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Bayview's location was the reason we chose the hotel, and glad we did. A lot of places are within walking distance and taxis are available 24/7 in front of the hotel.

We had a toddler in tow, and the small park with a fountain in front of the hotel provided space for our morning walks without having to go far.

Walking distance to Jalan Penang and hawker food courts,stalls selling durians and the famous Hameed soups!
There is also a Mamak Bistro next to the hotel.

The hotel kopitiam/ Coffee house offers a good spread and quick service!

If there is one aspect to comment is the lack of seating area in the lobby for waiting guests, especially during peak season. We had to wait three hours for a room to be available! It would have been a good comfortable wait if there were sofas to rest out tired feet and bodies.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Zid A,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your nice review.

Please allow me to apologize for the wait of your room. Due to space constrain, we are unable to place sofas at the lobby. However, the lobby lounge has seatings which guests can freely use.

I am glad that you had a nice stay with us.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Inside is rather bland, so despite it being roasting hot, and the music is a little too loud, sat outside. The views from the top are great. Reasonable prices, but staff could do with being a little more attentive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DarreninHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear DarreninHK,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for review of your experience at Skybar which I will forward to the operators of the outlet.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to our room. We had a family room for the 3 of us. Room was very spacious (compared to other family room we have had stayed in) & clean. Check in was expedient. We reached room in under half hour. Doorman was very helpful & rest of service staff was pleasant & informative

Room Tip: Good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimThomas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear KimThomas2014,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your excellent review and for rating us 5/5.

I am glad that you had a pleasant stay with us in our Family room and all my staff were efficient in their duties.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed in a premier room and was definitely worth the price. We had a spacious and well appointed room on the 15th floor with beautiful views of the bay. All of the staff we encountered during our 6 night stay were friendly and professional. Extra special thanks to the lovely staff in the premier lounge where we enjoyed afternoon tea most days, the snacks were very tasty. Breakfast, also enjoyed in the premier lounge was of high quality. The pool offered an inviting respite from the heat of the day. The hotel is well located close to the old town and modern shopping centres a ten minute walk away. There are plenty of restaurants within close vicinity.
We had a lovely stay and wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again

Room Tip: Premier rooms are worth the extra cost, and ask for a bayview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vichri81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear vichri81,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am glad that you had an enjoyable experience staying with us in the Premier room and enjoyed the facilities, the food and the staff at Premier Lounge.

We hope to welcome you back again soon with the very best of Bayview hospitality.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.2 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#20 of 87 in George Town
1,071 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 87 in George Town
714 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 87 in George Town
1,099 reviews
1.4 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#28 of 87 in George Town
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: 25A Lebuh Farquhar, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: £37 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing