We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free & Easy Stay in Penang”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Jurong, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Free & Easy Stay in Penang”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is the 2nd time I stayed in Bayview Group Resort and Hotel,
6yrs ago with our kids we stayed in Bayview Beach Resort at Batu Ferringhi Beach with my kids which they enjoyed very much especially going down to Gurney Drive for their local food.
This time, we couples stayed in Bayview Georgetown for a change as its in the city. It was a great and enjoyable experience for us as we see a lot of the old town and visited their Art museum, Kwang Yin Temple, 3D Gallery and all the small alley with just the walking distance and not forgetting their local food. Service of the front desk was quick and helpful and the rooms that we had was facing the sea with great view of Penang sea. You are able to see the panoramic view of Penang in their Roof revolving restaurant.

Room Tip: High floor so you can have better view of Georgetown
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Janette J,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for endorsing on our excellent location of the hotel.

I am glad that you had a good experience staying in our chain of hotels and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    622
    336
    96
    38
See reviews for
294
398
113
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed on 2nd & 3rd June..stayed with family
We had got superior rooms on the 16th floor: rooms nos. 1608 & 2 others.
The hotel is very centrally located (walking distance to heritage town attractions like blue mansion, pinang perakkan musuem, weld quay, khoo khongsi,etc)
The check in was hassle free - but we had to wait from 1 pm to 3 pm as 3 pm was the standard check in time. That iritatated us a lot as we had to sit in the lounge bar for 2 hours after travelling for almost 11 hours. But they followed the policy to the T
The rooms were clean, comfortable and nicely furnished with a good view of the bay and the town. Everything from iron, ironing board,bathroom utilities were well thought of . The housekeeping people were always smiling & helpful. The wifi- although not great was adequate for all business purposes. The bathroom was spacious with a bathtub and all toiletries.
The room service & reception staff were always smiling, attentive & prompt.
The breakfast menu was quite exhaustive, with something for everybody. The food was fresh and inviting. Only problem was finding enough seats as it was always very crowded.
The revolving restaurant on the top floor had great views but too expensive.
The pool was just normal( it is on the forth floor, not enough sun decks, and when you look up from the pool all you can see was the rooms of the hotel-- very uninspiring) but the jaccuzi was
fab.
Overall a nice modern centrally located hotel, with all amenities and smiling service. Would I recommend it- yeah, definitely.

Room Tip: Dont take rooms on the 16th floor if you are light sleeper as the 360 degree bar upstairs is open t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saibal_Destinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear destinationtravels,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your nice review and I do apologize for the wait in rooms as Housekeeping needed time to turnaround and refreshed the previous occupied room.

I am glad that you had a good experience staying with us in our lovely appointed clean & spacious rooms furnished with all the amenities. I am also happy that my staff were always smiling & cheerful and ready to assist at all times.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcome you back again with your family.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Bayview with my family during the June holiday. I would to compliment the receptionist Madelan as she has showed patient when I asked her with many questions and also the concierge guys friendliness to guide me the way around the town. My family would definitely return again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mabel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Mabel N,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

I am glad that all my staff especially, Madeleine and the Concierge staff were able to assist you with care and patience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again with your family.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed for two nights in the Bayview and it was a nice experience! Our room was spacious and we had a beautiful view over Georgetown through the big window. The location is perfect with shops and restaurants nearby at walking distance. Breakfast was western-oriented and good. For diner, the food court 'Red Garden' is three minutes walk and a must. Live music, good atmosphere and plenty cheap delicious food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Bert W,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for the lovely review. I am glad that you had a good experience staying with us in our spacious room and with the hotel's perfect location to the many sights, shopping and cuisines of Penang.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Large pleasant room, overlooking Straits. Staff helpful and service levels good. The building interior is slightly too functional and lacking in character.
However, this is more than compensated for by its location. You're within walking distance (even with the Penang climate) from some of the best parts of Georgetown, with its rich and diverse cultural history.
The ground floor bars and restaurant in the hotel were quiet, but the rooftop bar and rotating restaurant a lot busier. It also proved difficult getting taxis from the front of the hotel on a few occasions.
I'd definately stay there again. Decent modern hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Away_On_Business57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Away_On_Business57,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your excellent review.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable & pleasant stay with us in one of our lovely appointed rooms and I thank you for your endorsements on our perfect location.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Good size room with toiletries, excellent location, plenty of car park space, good value for the price we pay for which includes breakfast for two, Very nice view from rooftop. Friendly staff. Would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satisfy401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Satisfy401,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

I am glad that you had a good & pleasant stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel. We took a standard twin room which was on the 11 floor. The room was partially facing the sea & partly facing the famous E&O Hotel

Room was just a little bit small for my liking but overall I was happy with the room. The facilities & amenities provided was complete & adequate.

My only complaint was the water pressure could have been better.

Location was very close to Penang Road which makes food easily available & eating convenient as it is within 5 to 10 minutes casual walking.

Btw the revolving restaurant & the bar at the top of the building is worth the trip there.

Certainly a place I would recommend for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Josephong,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your nice review.

We do have more spacious rooms i.e.. from Superior category onwards.

I am glad that overall you had a pleasant stay with us and I thank you for your recommendations.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.2 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#20 of 84 in George Town
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
692 reviews
1.0 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#22 of 84 in George Town
896 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#21 of 84 in George Town
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 25A Lebuh Farquhar, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing