We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel at a great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A nice hotel at a great spot”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hotel is very well organized, staff is very friendly and cooperative. They have an private parking garage. Rooms are as modern as you can expect from a good business hotel. The view from the roof terrace is very nice!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoekeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear JoekeW,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for the lovely review.

I am glad that you had a good and enjoyable stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    617
    335
    95
    38
See reviews for
293
397
111
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Osaka Prefecture, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We drove to Penang from Perlis and it was instantly difficult to find parking. I had to circle around to find the hotels parking which needs to be a bit more noticeable. After parking your car you will definitely get lost trying to find the hotel lobby and then definitely get lost trying to find the car parking lot. You have to go threw an area that's super smelly.... (the back of the Japanese restaurant-- not a good sign to me) to find the car park. Staff was nice, room was big, the bathroom was big, the view was nice, and the location was super awesome. Issues: pillows smelled funny, the buffet was okay (lots of variety but not much flavor in the food actual food- the fruit was good... got coffee down the road), and if you're a foreigner they assume you didn't drive here--- you may want to mention that your car is parked in the back. Come here if you want a convenient location and want to spend time in George Town. If you are traveling around Penang this place may be a hassle to get to with all of the one way tricky streets that are everywhere.

Room Tip: I think there might be ocean views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Jenna H,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

First and foremost, please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences caused over the parking. I have taken note of comments and I will get my team to review this and improve on the signages at the carpark. We actually have a dedicated carpark lift which is located beside the back entrance of the Japanese Restaurant but most guest prefer to use this back entrance for convenience.

I am glad that overall you had a pleasant stay with us in our great location, nice big room, good view and the good service from all my staff.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Basically this hotel not so crowded like those hotel in Tanjung Bunga or Batu Feringghi.

The hotel is located near to town and those famous local food.

Stayed on July with family. We book 2 standard room but was upgrade to superior room on 10th floor. Room facing sea but was obstruct by a tower crane.

The rooms were furnished with coffee & tea making facility, iron, safe, fridge and other bathroom utilities. The bathroom with both bathtub & shower.

Free wifi for 2 devices only.

We having our welcome drinks at the revolving restaurant. It had a great views. A must to visit.

2 Swimming pool ( 1 adult & 1 children ) plus a massage pool. And be careful the adult pool is 3.5M depth.

Parking was provide and it locate on the other building behind the hotel. Need to drive one big round from hotel main entrance. Please beware the public parking in front the hotel was not free. You need to obtain and display parking coupon even is sunday or public holiday ( 8am to 12pm ).

Overall we have wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felixipoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear felixipoh,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for your nice & positive review.

I am glad that you & your family had a wonderful & pleasant stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

All the charm and space of a 70s/80s built hotel with modern motel extras like free in room wifi and flat screen TV's. Slightly tired, more daggy than concerning. Great pool area with a generous 3.5 mtr depth, plus heated jet spa & kids pool. Epic rooftop bar and revolving restaurant are the icing on the cake. Friendly staff & knowledgable porters. After staying in budget accom throughout Indo & KL this hotel was a comfy almost luxury experience at not much more cost. Stayed on lvl 10 & indeed had bay views.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reif H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Reif H,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for your lovely review. We are in the midst of refreshing all our Standard & Superior rooms floor by floor and this exercise should be completed by November this year. I am sure that you will find the "new" rooms more appealing.

I am glad that you had a pleasant stay with us with our friendly staff at your service.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for one night in Penang recently and booked into Bayview hotel. The hotel is located in a central position very close to E & O hotel but at a fraction of the price. Check in process was a little slow as the check in guest relations personnel also has to attend to phone calls, otherwise it was okay. We were given a room on the 6th floor. We asked for a room away from the lift and indeed was provided with one, a good distance walk away from the lift (Room 622). It was very spacious but the airconditioning was not very efficient - the room was hot even though the airconditioner temperature was set at between 12-15 degrees Celcius.


On one occasion, when we came back to the hotel, after dinner, we tried to find a 'shortcut' way to our room. We walked towards the wrong direction and came cross the corridor where Room 627 was located. The room looked 'abandoned' and 'eerie' with a cross sign on the slightly opened door. I felt that Management should put a sign up so people dont walk towards that section which obviously is not let out.

We drove to the hotel and there was parking but each time we leave the hotel we have to get our parking ticket stamped. It would have been much more efficient and convenient to guests if the validity of the parking is set for the duration of the stay so that it need not be stamped every time one has to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syanlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear syanlim,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us.

I do apologize for the "mess" at the West Wing of the hotel. We are in the midst of refreshing all the rooms there and I believe that the signages that was put up earlier may have been moved.

I will get my maintenance team to look into the air-conditioning in room 622 and get it fixed up. Thank you for bringing this up to my attention.

I have taken note on your comments over the parking system (which we are aware of) but unfortunately the whole parking area & system does not belong to us.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again for a longer stay.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I had a standard room with breakfast , which was perfectly satisfactory . The view was spectacular. The hotel had given me a room that answered my specifications on my online booking, but the furnishings were a little tired and the bath was chipped. The bed was comfortable , twin beds, one smaller than the other !
The breakfast buffet was delicious.
The hotel is very central and all the staff were very helpful and friendly.
There is a small swimming pool, but the jacuzzi is very nice.
I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Christina T,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for your lovely review. We are in the midst of refreshing all our Standard rooms floor by floor and this exercise should be completed by November this year. I am sure that you will find the "new" Standard rooms more appealing when you next stay with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast served and thank you for your endorsement on our perfect location.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurong, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is the 2nd time I stayed in Bayview Group Resort and Hotel,
6yrs ago with our kids we stayed in Bayview Beach Resort at Batu Ferringhi Beach with my kids which they enjoyed very much especially going down to Gurney Drive for their local food.
This time, we couples stayed in Bayview Georgetown for a change as its in the city. It was a great and enjoyable experience for us as we see a lot of the old town and visited their Art museum, Kwang Yin Temple, 3D Gallery and all the small alley with just the walking distance and not forgetting their local food. Service of the front desk was quick and helpful and the rooms that we had was facing the sea with great view of Penang sea. You are able to see the panoramic view of Penang in their Roof revolving restaurant.

Room Tip: High floor so you can have better view of Georgetown
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Janette J,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for endorsing on our excellent location of the hotel.

I am glad that you had a good experience staying in our chain of hotels and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.2 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#21 of 84 in George Town
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
681 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
1,049 reviews
1.0 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#23 of 84 in George Town
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 25A Lebuh Farquhar, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing