We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hassle free stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #26 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We're happy that we had made a right choice and the right hotel for our stay during Malaysia's Independence Day holiday on 30th August 2014. Everything seems very smooth right from parking our car, checking in through front office and getting into our room. We were given a free room upgrade too. Breakfast is complimentary and foods are delicious. All staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel location is just nice for us to explore the Penang city day and night. Most places such eateries, shopping complex and arcades are within distance and you walk around on foot without having to drive around. We will definitely will stay there again next time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khairuddin1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Khairuddin1964,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for this lovely review of your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you had picked us as your choice of hotel and I am happy that you had an enjoyable stay.

The management and staff will continue to ensure the very best of Bayview hospitality and we are ever mindful especially in terms of friendliness, efficiency, service standards, varied facilities and consistency that will count in winning our guests in returning to us.

It was a pleasure having you and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,301)
There are newer reviews for Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

441 - 447 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

Good hotel, helpful and attentive staff. Location great with easy access using buses or taxi's, but the best feature was the rooftop bar and restaurant, with far reaching views and a great music. The location is central with restaurants and shopping within short walking distance. China town and the port area not far. Bus stop 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davea101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear davea101,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for this excellent review.

I am glad that you had a pleasant stay in and was pleased with the service provided by all my staff. Thank you also for the endorsements on our central location and the compliments on Revolving Restaurant & Skybar which is the one & only in Penang.

It was a pleasure having you and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The room that we stayed was a family room which was pretty good. We booked for a standard room but we got a free upgrade which was much appreciated. Breakfast was not bad at all and good variety and the pastry from Bayview was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hanami1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Hanami1915,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for this lovely review of your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you had a pleasant stay in our Family room and had enjoyed the buffet breakfast and pastries served.

It was a pleasure having you and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Bayview was a little tricky to get to. To get here by car (as we did), you need to turn into a small slightly obscured lane. Once we got there, it was overall very good. Free parking, staff friendly and helpful, and room very well presented and very well sized. We were also given a free room upgrade which was a very pleasant surprise.

There is also a rooftop bar on top with fairly nice views of Penang, as well as a revolving restaurant which we did not try.

All in all, this was a place we decided to select because of its value and we certainly were not disappointed. Location-wise it is a little bit off the city centre, but that may actually be a good thing. Solid 4/5.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Wayne S,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for this lovely review.

I am glad that you had a pleasant stay with us in our well presented and our large room size and that you had enjoyed the excellent view from Skybar.

We certainly offer value for money accommodations and we strife to do our best in providing excellent service.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Big round applause good to Lawrence Periera the GM of the hotel. We checked in on August 24th for one night. We booked for standard room apparently there was no room available when We arrived. The FOA named Magdalene upgraded the room to Superior that is 1227. Reasonable bed, cosy and excellent airconditioner. The only lacking here is the water pressure. Cleanliness is perfect despite old furnised. Maintenance guy was prompt as there was disruption on the tv3 channels due to lightning. Followed up calls from operator n also their English is good being as a Malaysian. Hopefully We will get better upgraded in our future visits.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SherifaEdora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear SherifaEdora,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for the compliments. I am happy Madeline was proactive in upgrading your room upon arrival. I am also glad that the cleanliness was perfect and the service from all my staff was excellent.

Please do message me on your next plan trip and I will ensure a nice room will be waiting for you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

The car park is just right beside petron petrol station after you drive past the lexus car showroom. You turn right and you will see the petrol station and you have to drive up the slope but watch out for oncoming cars as both way use the same drive way. The room was clean and nice enough. For better view choose the odd numbers room as most of it facing the sea side and pool. For even numbers will be facing the town. A must visit at the three sixty roof top bar for a spetacular scenery of sun set and night view of the island. The pool is small n its really small and its not child friendly but they do hv a open jacuzzi pool to chill out just right beside the pool. Gym area are just ok but most of the equipment are of old version
The breakfast is nice especially the coconut jam which is my favorite. Overall its one of my favourite stay everytime i come to penang. I like the most is the roof top revolving restaurant and bar. Remember to validate ur free parking ticket before exit at the reception counter for hotel guest and its foc.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
10  Thank Sze H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Sze H,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am glad that you had a good stay with us in our nice & clean room. Thank you very much for your compliments on our good buffet breakfast and I am glad that you enjoyed the coconut jam.

We hope to welcome you back again on your next business trip.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

PS - I would advise all readers to book our Deluxe room category and above if you want a nice view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This was the second time this year that we had stayed at the Bayview. We booked a deluxe room and were a little disappointed that it was a smaller corner room. The air conditioning was extremely noisy on switching it on and to the hotel's credit, a maintenance fellow came promptly to look at it. We were eventually moved to another very spacious room (upgrade) on the 14th floor with lovely sea views.(Thank you) It was clean, with a comfortable king bed, the usual TV, fridge, safe etc that one expects of a generic hotel. Bathroom was also a good size with a separate shower and bath.. There was a problem with the sink drainage, which, once again was quickly fixed. Was a bit surprised to find the sink very dirty..not cleaned at all ..after it was fixed. Minor issue really. Breakfast was included in our rate and was good with plenty of variety for all tastes. The reason we picked the Bayview was its great location right on the outskirts of beautiful Georgetown. Also found the staff to be very pleasant and friendly, especially several of the doormen who remembered us from last time! If you are looking for somewhere with character, Iook elsewhere, but if you are looking for western style accommodation, this fits the bill.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aussierover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear aussierover,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for your nice & lovely review. Please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences caused in your 1st room. I am glad that my staff was pro-active in making the necessary arrangements for a room change and your 2nd room was in good order. I also apologize for the mess that was not cleaned up by the Maintenance staff. I will need to remind them on this again.

Overall, I am happy that you had a pleasant stay with us with our good breakfast, friendly staff and good location as you had mentioned. Thank you also for the recommendations.

We hope to welcome you back again and please do message me when you have made arrangements and I will ensure that you get a nice room again.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.2 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#20 of 85 in George Town
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 85 in George Town
704 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 85 in George Town
1,086 reviews
1.4 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#27 of 85 in George Town
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 25A Lebuh Farquhar, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: £37 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing