We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor air condition in the room and walkway outside the room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor air condition in the room and walkway outside the room.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The air condition is not in good condition for the room and walkway outside the room. Overall experience of the hotel; feels hot and humid.

The hotel is located near to attractions of Penang and is within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeKF2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Armenian Street Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We regret to hear that you were not pleased with us during your recent stay,

Please e-mail your stay details to sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com and we will get the maintenance crew to rectify this.

Thanks you very much for your time to share this review with us.

We hope to welcome you back and provide better service.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    282
    73
    23
    14
See reviews for
150
171
66
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

`The location is great right on the edge of the heritage area easy walking distance to good cafes & restaurants & many of the attractions of Penang, the staff were friendly & helpful & the cafe downstairs served good reasonable food, the fruit tea shop in the foyer was a refreshing treat we recommend. The decor is very plain & functional & the room was comfortable & well laid out having been recently renovated, but the only room service we received was sheet changing & fresh towels, no attempt was made to clean any part of the room or bathroom during our 4 night stay. We noticed the floor was a bit gritty when we checked in & it was vacuumed on request but that was it. Such a shame that cleanliness let them down as it is a nice reasonably priced hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Armenian Street Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize for the level of cleanliness you have experienced during your recent stay.

Please let me find out more on what had happened to the housekeeping activities. Please furnish your stay details to sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com and so that I could investigate this matter and get back to you.

On separate note, we are delighted to read your review about the room and the location of the hotel. I can't agree with you more, our hotel is centrally located, comfortable and affordable.

Glad to hear you have enjoyed other parts of your stay and we hope you'll give us the opportunity to welcome you back and serve you the very best of our hospitality,

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights and what a disappointment it was.

The first thing we noticed was the stink of the bed's headboard. It stank so much we had to sleep with our head on the other side of the bed. We asked on multiple occasions to put our pillows on the other side of the bed but each and every day when we come home, it is leaning against the rank headboard. They only placed our pillow on the end of the bed once and that was on our last day there.

Prepare to be woken up and stay woken up every day at 6AM, that's when the nearby mosque starts their morning service. They broadcast their chanting over the PA system and it's blaringly loud even with ear plugs.

Housekeeping was a real let down here at Armenian Street Heritage Hotel, on our 4th day here, our bathroom vanity started to stink and we had to wash it ourselves. Housekeeping would provide new bottles shower and bath gel every few days but won't chuck out the old ones.

There are many mosquitoes in our room and we got bitten every night (mostly my wife) ... actually we weren't sure if it was mosquitoes biting us or the ant infestation in our room. We had ants on the floor, on the table, in the waldrobe, on our clothes, in our luggage, eating our food, sleeping with us and in my hair.

Simply dreadful!

Room Tip: High rooms have less traffic noise, street facing rooms don't suffer from 6AM morning prayers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Armenian Street Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We apologize to hear you had not experienced a comfortable stay at Armenian Street Heritage Hotel.

Please connect with me directly at sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com so that I could check this matter up and get back to you personally.

We regret for what has happened and I assure you that this is purely isolated. Cleanliness is an important aspect of our service culture and the housekeeping team works hard in ensuring this is not compromised.

Thank you for highlighting this to and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide better service.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel was definitely a pleasure to stay in. It was fully equipped, the rooms were clean and the location was right in the centre of Georgetown. The staff were friendly and the whole place was professional. It pretty much had everything.

The interiors were beautiful and mansion-like, the rooms gave off a historical feeling and the whole ambiance was just enticing. Bathroom was great, bed was comfy and the TV gave me something to do while in the room.

If I were to find one small criticism, it would be the fact that the mozzie problem in the rooms needs to be addressed. I found myself one night full of bites all over my body but obviously this is out of the hotel's control. However, spraying rooms may be beneficial in the long room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

From the end of April to the middle of May, after 2 and 1/2 weeks living here, we still can't get enough of it. The partner and I were down for work. Initially we were supposed to check out as soon as work is over, but we kept adding our days of stay on the booking list until we REALLY have to head back home because we just couldn't't get enough of this place.

We must say, we really couldn't get enough of the wonderful people there, from the friendly guards, to the ever so kind front desk managers, not to the mention the fantastic room service and house keeping. I can't stress enough on how great everyone is. They are always on the ball and so so helpful.

As far as I am concerned, the rooms are just perfect. Both Double Room and Family Room are clean, clean, clean. That's all I need to say. ( Yes. Because we wanted to stay longer, we got the Family Room and what can I say ? Absolutely no regrets. )

But one note though dear Armenian Street Heritage Hotel. In Family Room No.402, the bathroom door is a bit temperamental as it creeks when it likes to. So maybe you can have that checked out. Otherwise, everything was great.

Once again, what more can I say other than THANK YOU. We are DEFINITELY coming back, so see you soon in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Nick and Vanessa

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Armenian Street Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi Nick & Vanessa,

We are glad you have made the right decision. Thanks for for staying with us and for the review.

We are always happy to welcome you back once again.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The friendly counter staff, the clean spacious rooms and the excellent location is great for the budget traveller. From the hotel, it was so easy to get to the heritage sites around Georgetown - I especially enjoyed strolling down Armenian Street (Lebuh Armenian). A popular Nasi Kandar stall is just minutes walk away, as is Little India and Campbell Lane. Minutes walk to Komtar where the bus interchange is.

Our room was quiet, and the area is safe. We also booked a tour with a tour operator at the lobby. Absolutely enjoyable experience with a great driver who brought us all over Penang and all the tourist sites.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radiah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Went here early may 2014 for a business trip. Book this place due to good recommendation here in tripadvisor. Had a double bed room for myself and 4th floor, got window, facing the opposite building.

Room: clean, ac is good, space is good. Shower room is good and clean. Got towel and all the basic toileteries. However no mini fridge, and no iron. I was given password for wifi, but there wasn't any wifi signal in my room!

Location: within walking distance to all my fav food i.e. Nasi kandar beratur, nasi kandar line clear, little india, restaurant kapitan kling, etc. Also within walking distance to
1st avenue shopping mall and Komtar. So overall great location!

Sleep quality: i slept like a baby! Very nice bed and pillows + good AC + no noise.

Breakfast: got kopitiam at ground floor. Food quality same like any other kopitiam standard. But got aiskrim goreng, quite nice.

Taxi: no taxi stand, but there's a travel&tour company there, but they charge quite expensive.

Overall, i would come back if here for any business trip (on budget though).

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jasman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Armenian Street Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We are happy to find that you have had a pleasant stay and we hope you will come back the next time you visit Penang.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 84 in George Town
791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#34 of 84 in George Town
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
1,039 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armenian Street Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armenian Street Heritage Hotel

Property: Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Address: No 139, Lebuh Carnarvon, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia (Formerly Armenian Street Heritage Hotel (By Tune Hotels))
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Armenian Street Heritage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage zone in Georgetown, Armenian St. Heritage Hotel lets you experience the charm of old world hospitality at its best. The hotel is steps away from the heritage trails of museums, temples, eateries and the world famous "Little Children on a Bicycle" mural hand-painted by renowned artist Ernest Zacharevic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Armenian Street Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing