We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Ranked #18 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Been there last week with my family the hotel is clean, our room is satisfying
the staff so friendly and helpful
Shopping mall just minute walk from hotel
The food beside the hotel is very tasty
Must try the prawn noodle curry and the abc
Thanks for making our holiday so special


Stayed: August 2014
Thank cho a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Armenian Street Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hey There,

Thanks for the thumbs up, we hope to see you again.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Very friendly and helpful staff. Spacious room, central location. Good value/price ratio.
Things that need more attention, cleanliness. Its not bad, but its not fantastic either. Stains on duvet cover, floor felt dusty, bathroom (this was my main gripe) was not cleaned during daily housekeeping (dirty tiles) and there was a constant smell emanating from the water outlet in the shower. I believe it would have been attended to had I brought it up with the staff, but we were too busy exploring the sights. However, these are matters that should have been attended to without being prompted.

Nevertheless, I would come back here again.

Room Tip: higher floors are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gypsybutterflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Armenian Street Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hey There,

We apologize for the lack of cleanliness at our hotel. Please reach out to me personally at sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com with your bookings details. With this information I can investigate what fell through in the cleaning process; take relevant measures to improve and ensure this does not happen again.

Thanks for the compliments on the front desk team and we happy you enjoyed your stay overall.

We look forward in hosting you again.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The location of Armenian Heritage Hotel is perfect: You avoid those noisy streets where many budget-options for backpackers are, but you are still in walking distance to whatever you want to explore. Rooms are clean, AC works fine but the only con is that WIFI does not. We had to go outside your room or to the lobby. Breakfast wasn't included in our room rate, but there are plenty of (cheap) options just around the corner (we tried the coffeehouse next to Heritage once, but we weren't really convinced). You probably won't get a better sleep at this rate at another place in Georgetown.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lex_kerouac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Armenian Street Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi There,

Thank you for the review. We are pleased to find that you've enjoyed most part of your stay except for the WIFI.

We have a great front desk team who is always ready to assist, please speak to them if you need any assistance in future.

Thank you for your sharing this review with us and we look forward in hosting you again.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I didnt stay at this hotel but I went into the reception counter to asked for directions for the street paintings. It was on the 1st day of Hari Raya-around lunch time.My family had been walking around without much success at finding those street paintings The guy manning the counter was very courteous and nice and after listening , he took out a street map with details of where the street paintings was located. Most wont have bothered, but he showed me where we are and where those paintings were located. The next trip to Penang, I will definately consider this hotel to stay in. Thanks a lot as it has saved me a lot of time and energy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank slwh23PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

For the quality, comfort and location of this hotel...I am making Armenian Street Heritage the no.1 choice when I next visit Penang! The hotel seems new, with tap-in card sensors for the room doors and the best thing we realized was that if the room door was not properly closed, the locking system starts beeping as a form of alarm. How cool is that?!

Location: it is walking distance to Kimberley Lane (night food market) and Pin Hooi coffeeshop (breakfast)...both have yummy food and one would really be spoilt for choice. Two shopping malls are also less than 10mins walk away (1st Avenue Mall and Prangin Mall). One can also walk (about 15mins) to the bus station nearby for buses to visit other areas/attractions in Penang island.

Staff were also helpful and responded quickly to our needs/enquiries. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who intend to stay in Georgetown!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Fishyu1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We've requested for an early check-in (it was not peak period) but we were told that we could only check in at 2pm even though we arrived at 11am and we noted that the check-out is at 11am. The hotel is very basic with no fridge and no complimentary tea/coffee provided in the room. The bath and floor towels had 'Tune Hotels' tags on them. Our family room had a pillar between the two beds and it obstructed our views from certain angles when we watched TV from the beds. Poor service and the receptionist pointed us to the wrong place for the interactive museum. It's definitely not worth the USD 142 we have paid for the 2 nights stay and the only plus is its location as it's within walking distance to most of the street paintings.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank damienjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Armenian Street Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We apologize for not meeting the desired service standards you expect from us.

Please note that our check out time is at 11 am sharp and housekeeping activities for check out rooms will start shortly thereafter. If you wish to check in earlier, you will have to purchase the early check in add on online at the time you made your bookings.

We try to accommodate needs of our guests in the best possible way we can. However, it also equally important that the housekeeping activities are carried out effectively and priority is given to guests with pre-purchased early check in option.

We take note of your requests for complimentary coffee and tea making facilities, and about the poor service rendered by the front desk staff as well as the Tune Hotel Logo on our towels and bath mats. I have shared your feedback with the parties concern for them to consider and improve the necessary.

And about the pillars in your room, for the best solution, please speak to our front desk to perhaps relocate you to a different room.

Thank you for highlighting these to us and we hope to restore your experience the next time you visit us.

See you.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva -Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Enjoyed 3 nights in family room. Excellent location within walking distance of major shopping outlets and Little India etc. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would have given 5 stars if the room had a bar fridge.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#12 of 87 in George Town
863 reviews
0.6 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 87 in George Town
517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#36 of 87 in George Town
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Spices Hotel
Spices Hotel
#25 of 87 in George Town
196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.2 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 87 in George Town
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armenian Street Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armenian Street Heritage Hotel

Address: No 139, Lebuh Carnarvon, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia (Formerly Armenian Street Heritage Hotel (By Tune Hotels))
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range: £20 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Armenian Street Heritage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage zone in Georgetown, Armenian St. Heritage Hotel lets you experience the charm of old world hospitality at its best. The hotel is steps away from the heritage trails of museums, temples, eateries and the world famous "Little Children on a Bicycle" mural hand-painted by renowned artist Ernest Zacharevic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Armenian Street Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing