We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical except for the construction noise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Magical except for the construction noise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We called on the day and they had availability. The feeling when you first enter the mansion is magical and so it remains. Every room has it's own name and style. We got 50s room, which was humongous, airy, but the style left a slightly abandoned impression. I would have liked to check out other rooms. Our only real qualm with this hotel was the construction noise that woke us up at 9am in the morning, right outside our windows. Do take the tour of the mansion which is included in the price - there's a lot of history to learn. Overall we would stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SashaRumyantsev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    158
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
115
279
70
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

...and gorgeous. Lovely place to stay, updated sympathetically some years ago. Very kind and friendly staff, truly memorable experience in a historically unique hotel. Some if the fixtures were a little tired in places, but this did not interfere with the experience - and the building is currently undergoing restoration....so go now while it's still a bargain! And don't forget your camera.....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for the 3 night package as we wanted to fit as much in as possible. We couldn't have had a better experience. The house is cool and quiet yet well located to see all the sights. The walking tour was excellent and we were able to ask lots of questions. We visited places we would not have found on our own. We ate at the red garden next door one evening and were taken for nyonya cuisine and a steamboat by Mr Poh on our other nights. It was good to be taken further afield and we felt safe and relaxed. The blue mansion staff were exceptional; they could not do enough for us. I had a problem with my leg and Mr Poh insisted that he drive me to the doctors where I received treatment and medication. We got advice about other things to do on the island during our stay and visited the national park to the beatiful beach and jungle walk. Georgetown is a fascinating city with lots to do but it is hot and very sweaty; the cheong fat tze mansion provides a great place, full of history and intrigue, to cool down.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marmotgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

This was a great place to stay. The traditional building is gorgeous, the history is really interesting (you can do a guided tour) and the room was really comfortable. And the staff were exceptional, very friendly indeed, and really helpful. The Red Garden hawker centre next door is really good too, especially the oyster and mussel omelettes!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

My boyfriend and I have just finished our 3 night 4 day package at the hotel and it was absolutely fabulous. The building itself is gorgeous but it's the people who run it that make the experience so special. Mr Poh and Danny were particularly helpful and friendly and we look forward to being able to visit again in the future and stay in another of their beautiful rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GOandAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunisie
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The mansion is very beautiful, full of colors and historic. We were very well welcomed and during our stay we kept hearing exciting stories. The mansion is visited everyday by tourists and there are guided tours. You should do the tour upon your arrival to know what represents every single corner, it is free for the customers of the mansion. Amazing place ! you feel priviledged to live there !
Though basic (no TV, no wifi),the rooms are very big and traditionally decorated. We had “Batavia” and “Chang yu”, you feel you are part of history. You can read a book or rest in the sofa in front of the rooms, very quiet space. There is a food court a bit noisy next to Batavia, though we have not been disturbed. They are restoring the rooms and making improvements. Our kids loved the playing room, where you can find ping pong, CDs with films, computer, wifi available etc... Thank you for the trip through history !

Room Tip: Batavia is next to the food court you can be disturbed by noise specially at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FerialKrichene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had an amazing stay at this gorgeous and historically rich mansion. It's hard to think of a single criticism or anything I'd change of the place. Highly recommended even if it's just 1 night. The people are all wonderful and the level of detail in the decor and room interior is staggering. A trip to Penang without visiting for at least a tour would be foolish.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjaminAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#5 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion

Property: Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion
Address: 14 Lebuh Leith, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Home to Historic Splendour 'ONE OF 10 GREATEST MANSIONS IN THE WORLD' LONELY PLANET 2011 A Grand Mansion conceived and constructed by a Grand Man; an eminent edifice which History calls Home; a peerless representation of the Paradigm Chinese Courtyard House – the Cheong Fatt Tze “Blue” Mansion has been perfectly poised for over a century on firm foundations of architectural, cultural and historic superlatives. Essentially an ‘heirloom with rooms’, today, the Mansion readily bequeaths its charms to visitors who are able to indulge in Exclusive Heritage Homestays; **Guided Tours; and Tailored Functions on its premises. Reputedly the favourite home of the “Last Mandarin and First Capitalist of China”, the Mansion is undoubtedly the favourite home of George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion Hotel Georgetown
Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing