We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in history”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

It was an experieince to have tourists come to take tours of the hotel in which we were staying. As occupants, we were entitled to take the tour for free, which was very interesting. The house is intriguing and beautiful. The room in which we stayed was large and comfortable. Although this was more expensive than other places we stayed recently in SE Asia, this was, as several guidebooks say, the place to splurge. There is a noisy food area next door at night which, thankfully, is not heard in the guest rooms. Staff was quite helpful. A good breakfast was served.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MWG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
There are newer reviews for Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

We came here expecting a beautiful mansion, but being a historical building, I didn’t have very high expectation for room quality. We were proven wrong! The room was spacious, clean, with tasteful antique furniture. Full amenities and integrated AC. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. There are several open rooms and courtyards for the guests to relax in.

My favorite part of the stay was being able to roam around the Mansion property during the day as guests, while all other visitors have to queue up outside the gate. Made me feel special.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Qian21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed at this amazing hotel/house/mansion for 6 nights recently. In a 6 week trip in Vietnam and Malaysia, my stay here was the highlight. The welcome accorded to me was so very warm that I felt immediately at home - and that feeling continued to the entire time I was there. The accommodation was not top-of-the range but was very comfortable nevertheless, with everything I needed, including a generally quiet location - perhaps with the exception of the nights when loud singing emanated from the food court next door! I can't say enough about the staff, who, without exception were warm, friendly and looked after me like their mother!! And as I am old enough to be just that, it went down very well!

This establishment is being upgraded, under new management, I believe and the tariff will increase. That is understandable, but if in the interest of improving physical comforts, the atmosphere and ambiance was lost or diminished, that would be a pity!!

I loved every minute of my time there!!

Room Tip: Only saw my own room, which was spacious and on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobynJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this "mansion-hotel." If you visit Penang, Malaysia, try to stay here or, at the very least, take the tour of the place held 3x a day for a small charge. We stayed 2 nights and loved it. Very comfortable, large room with roomy bathroom and great A/C. This room had not yet been renovated as the hotel is doing this a section at a time. Had a glass of wine in the courtyard and an excellent, prepared-to-order breakfast amid outstanding surroundings of amazing artwork. Built in around 1880 and totally restored in the 1990's, the carvings, screens, stained glass windows, etc. etc. must be seen!! The service was gracious and personal. Go if you can and make sure you sign up for a tour as the history is fascinating.

Room Tip: We stayed in Towkay room which had not yet been upgraded but was very comfortable and quiet. I did...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We called on the day and they had availability. The feeling when you first enter the mansion is magical and so it remains. Every room has it's own name and style. We got 50s room, which was humongous, airy, but the style left a slightly abandoned impression. I would have liked to check out other rooms. Our only real qualm with this hotel was the construction noise that woke us up at 9am in the morning, right outside our windows. Do take the tour of the mansion which is included in the price - there's a lot of history to learn. Overall we would stay there again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SashaRumyantsev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

...and gorgeous. Lovely place to stay, updated sympathetically some years ago. Very kind and friendly staff, truly memorable experience in a historically unique hotel. Some if the fixtures were a little tired in places, but this did not interfere with the experience - and the building is currently undergoing restoration....so go now while it's still a bargain! And don't forget your camera.....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for the 3 night package as we wanted to fit as much in as possible. We couldn't have had a better experience. The house is cool and quiet yet well located to see all the sights. The walking tour was excellent and we were able to ask lots of questions. We visited places we would not have found on our own. We ate at the red garden next door one evening and were taken for nyonya cuisine and a steamboat by Mr Poh on our other nights. It was good to be taken further afield and we felt safe and relaxed. The blue mansion staff were exceptional; they could not do enough for us. I had a problem with my leg and Mr Poh insisted that he drive me to the doctors where I received treatment and medication. We got advice about other things to do on the island during our stay and visited the national park to the beatiful beach and jungle walk. Georgetown is a fascinating city with lots to do but it is hot and very sweaty; the cheong fat tze mansion provides a great place, full of history and intrigue, to cool down.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marmotgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#12 of 85 in George Town
3,628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 85 in George Town
855 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 85 in George Town
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 85 in George Town
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 85 in George Town
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion

Address: 14 Lebuh Leith, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Price Range: £78 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Home to Historic Splendour 'ONE OF 10 GREATEST MANSIONS IN THE WORLD' LONELY PLANET 2011 A Grand Mansion conceived and constructed by a Grand Man; an eminent edifice which History calls Home; a peerless representation of the Paradigm Chinese Courtyard House – the Cheong Fatt Tze “Blue” Mansion has been perfectly poised for over a century on firm foundations of architectural, cultural and historic superlatives. Essentially an ‘heirloom with rooms’, today, the Mansion readily bequeaths its charms to visitors who are able to indulge in Exclusive Heritage Homestays; **Guided Tours; and Tailored Functions on its premises. Reputedly the favourite home of the “Last Mandarin and First Capitalist of China”, the Mansion is undoubtedly the favourite home of George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion Hotel Georgetown
Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing