We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This Hotel is definitely worth a visit. Being a world heritage site tours of the hotel were given to the public, but this did not interfere with residence. The staff were very courteous and helpful. The rooms were very well appointed, the restoration work has mixed the old with the modern very tastefully. Rooms have all mod cons combined with antique furniture. The hotel is next to a Chinese food market, where entertainment can go on to a little after midnight and some rooms are susceptible to the possible noise. The breakfast was excellent and well served, there was also a buffet for continental style breakfast. As we tend to venture out and explore the locality, we did not eat in the hotel restaurant, but the menu's looked great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GDczuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
There are newer reviews for Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is rated two star in booking.com but should be four star. After staying at the E&O for 3 nights, we thought the Blue mansion stay could not match it but in fact it superseded the E&O as it is like staying in a beautiful stately home, it has that homely feeling that the E&O cannot offer. The deco especially the blue courtyard area is so pleasing to the eye and you are swept into another world, at night the contrast with the red lanterns, blue walls, water, plant, earth and steel come into harmonious union making me believe in the ancient art of feng shui. The rooms are stunningly decorated and the play with the lightings is great. I love this place. I read a few reviews about hauntings in the mansion so kept a room light on just in case but could not sense anything in the hotel other than peace and serenity. The restaurant serves elegantly prepared dishes and the cocktails were excellent especially their signature cocktails. I had a really horrid cocktail at the Farhquers bar at the E&O call the Planters it tasted like insecticide and was giving up on having a good cocktail until I stayed at the Blue Mansion. This was an amazing experience to stay at Cheong Fatt Tze's old home. Spectacular!! Customer service is great too!!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the rooms near the stairs due to the night karaoke at the Red Garden food court ne...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

(+) Stunningly beautiful house. Breakfast in the courtyard was a truly wonderful experience
(+) Spacious room with historic features - fortunate to receive a complimentary upgrade
(+) Big bathroom
(+) Friendly staff
(+) Excellent location between Eastern & Oriental and streets of historic interest. Also located next to Red Garden, a lively food court by night
(+) Very interesting tour delivered in engaging language

(-) Few TV channels. Had to go to Red Garden next door to watch the World Cup football
(-) A little tricky to move within the house when a tour is on (unless you've joined it!)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBrady78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel itself is magnificent and a free tour through the mansion makes it even more so.The staff charming and its location ideal.
However, The Red Garden next door has karaoke until 12.30AM - we found it OK but, if you are a light sleeper forget it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W9937FMChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Also known as The Blue Mansion, we stayed 4 nights in June in Chang Yu (the wine) room and had the most delightful experience.
The hotel is undergoing extensive renovation and currently only 9 of the 18 rooms are available. There is hardly any noise disturbance from the current renovations and the staff believe it should all be completed by December. This will include a pool and spa. We found we had wifi all over the building, including in our room, and there is now a restaurant upstairs servicing lunch and dinner, which we did not use. However the included breakfast, cooked to order, was excellent.

We found the position convenient to walk all over George Town, down the the waters edge, and to local bars, restaurants and food stalls.

The staff are delightful and go the extra mile to ensure a relaxed stay. Whilst there, they discovered it was my birthday and a gift was left in the room and a cake with candles produced with tea. I really was overwhelmed by their generosity.

As guest you are free to wander through the whole house, admire the exhibits and sit in the calm wherever and whenever you want. It is a true haven of tranquility, an experience not to be missed and a real gem. This is not your soulless modern hotel, but it has many of the trimmings. I feel so lucky that I had the opportunity to stay here.
And as for the resident cat.......she is a character in herself!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pochard21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights end of May in room Scholar. The room was enormous with fantastic Hugh comfy bed and a very roomy bathroom. Our room was located on the ground floor and setting was amazing with water garden right outside our room. Table and chairs to sit on where we enjoyed a drink prior to going out for the evening.
Breakfast was served at the table and choice was really good with dishes such as smoked salmon and scrambled egg and eggs benedict. Service was always good and breakfast was so relaxing each morning.
Hotel is in a good location as all attractions in George Town are within walking distance. There is a very busy night food market right next door and we were worried about this as there is live entertainment each evening until mid night. Our room had a shuttered window above the bed which backed onto this and first night we were disturbed as went to bed earlier than normal after a days travelling. Never heard anything the following two nights as we went to bed after mid night. We actually spent our last evening at the food market experiencing the local food and entertainment and we had a really great time and food was amazing and so cheap.
I am so glad we stayed at the Blue Mansion as it really was a unique experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The building was very well restored and the guided tour was informative and interesting. The visit offered us a peek into the private life of a historical figure who played an important role in China and South East Asia. The architecture was a fascinating marriage of Asian and European elements. A must-see in Penang.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank johnofkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#12 of 85 in George Town
3,628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 85 in George Town
855 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 85 in George Town
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 85 in George Town
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 85 in George Town
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion

Address: 14 Lebuh Leith, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Price Range: £78 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Home to Historic Splendour 'ONE OF 10 GREATEST MANSIONS IN THE WORLD' LONELY PLANET 2011 A Grand Mansion conceived and constructed by a Grand Man; an eminent edifice which History calls Home; a peerless representation of the Paradigm Chinese Courtyard House – the Cheong Fatt Tze “Blue” Mansion has been perfectly poised for over a century on firm foundations of architectural, cultural and historic superlatives. Essentially an ‘heirloom with rooms’, today, the Mansion readily bequeaths its charms to visitors who are able to indulge in Exclusive Heritage Homestays; **Guided Tours; and Tailored Functions on its premises. Reputedly the favourite home of the “Last Mandarin and First Capitalist of China”, the Mansion is undoubtedly the favourite home of George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion Hotel Georgetown
Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing