We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The 80's Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights last weekend and for the price it was great.

Staff were very friendly, facilities were good, and location is excellent for exploring and nightlife. The floorboards are quite noisy meaning you'll probably be awake quite early when the cleaners are doing heir rounds but we slept pretty well here.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redfella83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    65
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
54
69
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

very friendly staff and clean rooms.
Also it is located within walking distance of a convenience store, a hawker center, a bus stop and main tourist attractions.
I recommend this guesthouse very confidently.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kei138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is the very first hostel I stayed in and it was just awesome. My friend and I loved its central location, the shops and cafes in the street where this is located (still in love with Love Lane!), the helpful and friendly staff, the quirky contemporary displays against the old heritage backdrop, the comfortable a/c room (we stayed in a double room) with its reading lamp and socket per bunk, free breakfast, hot showers, clean toilets, books and magazines to read...I can go on and on...this hostel makes me want to be back in Georgetown!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaleidoscoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here when making our brief visit to Penang. The staff were friendly, beds comfortable and showers hot. We stayed in one of the double bedded dorms and the bed was clean and comfortable. The breakfast is free and simple. Staff are friendly and helpful about helping you book things and we had to check out a day early they refunded us our nights accommodation without being asked. Recommend a trip along the road to Mickey's place. He is really nice and the food is good. Defs recommend the 80s guesthouse!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Caits P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santos, SP
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I've been in 5 hostels in Asia so far, and this was my favourite. The decoration was very interesting and made the common area very good. The receptionists were all very helpful and gave me nice tips about the city. The rooms were good, with AC anytime and power sources for everyone.
The bathroom was very good, with the best shower I had in Asia.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaioMagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

upon on arrival i thought to myself, i hope this place is alright. and it was better than i expected. it looks and feel all brand new. the beds and accomodation were of highest standard i have seen so far since i started back packing. aircon 24/7. free breaky (toast and fruit). shower/toilet facilitys very good, shower with big head and good water pressure. staff were very kind and very helpfull and very knowledgable (in regards to buses and maps and all the tourist attractions, timings etc). would definetly recommend this place to others and would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williamsmartin852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Quaint little place along Love Lane.

Homely feel with clean shared toilets and showers.

I stayed in the private double room. The room is spartan, with good a/c, and a handy reading light by the bed head as well. Thin walls though.

Staff were helpful and friendly. :)

Good for a short stay.

(chulia hawker st is just round the corner as well!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#32 of 84 in George Town
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#33 of 84 in George Town
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 113 in George Town
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Frame Guesthouse
The Frame Guesthouse
#5 of 113 in George Town
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
SIOK Hostel, Penang
SIOK Hostel, Penang
#3 of 113 in George Town
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
House of Journey
House of Journey
#7 of 113 in George Town
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 80's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 80's Guesthouse

Property: The 80's Guesthouse
Address: 46 Lorong Love, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 113 Speciality Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The 80's Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80's Guesthouse is the latest vintage guesthouse by Old Penang Guesthouse. It is located at 100 year old shop houses in Georgetown, Penang. The concept of renovation rests on a clear contrast of what is old and new. All effort has been made to preserve as much of the character of the existing building as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The 80's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 80's Guesthouse Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing