We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveller rating
460
121
25
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
460
121
25
8
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 618 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2019

Very good location, easy walk to any where in the city.Love the design of 200 year old house with a small yard and lots of trees.Helpful staff
Have breakfast elsewhere. Order must be given the prior night, however it took 40 minutes to get our super simple breakfast.

Date of stay: June 2019
1  Thank Tourist497213
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastIndiesMansion, Front Of Desk at East Indies Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2019

Dear Tourist497213,

Thank you very much of spending your precious time to write a review during your experience stay at East Indies Mansion! Thank you for sharing the certainty of the mansion's location which is in the centre of the Little India, easy for our guest to move around. Our mansion has been over 200 years with full of historical important and unique architectural.

We apologize that the breakfast was keeping you awaited. Our breakfast is pre-order so we could estimate the number of breakfast however, the breakfast is not pre-cook in advance. Because we would like to serve to all our beloved guest with the freshness food on the beginning of the day. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the disappointment related to your breakfast. Your feedback matter to us as we are committed in providing and improving our services for our guest.

We thank you for choosing East Indies Mansion and we look forward for seeing you soon.

Best Wishes
EIM Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2019

A delightfully historic building converted into a comfortable 'boutique style' of hotel with very friendly staff and all the basic comforts one needs for a stay. The building layout is very soothing with its courtyards full of exotic fauna. Well located near many excellent restaurants.

Room tip: Upstairs is quieter. Downstairs as in Nutmeg Suites can be a bit noisy when kids are staying in the room above
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pwater370539
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastIndiesMansion, Front Of Desk at East Indies Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2019

Dear pwater370539,

Thank you very much of spending your precious time to write a review during your experience stay at East Indies Mansion! The mansion is almost two hundred years old and we work hard to maintain the architectural and aesthetic value of the mansion for our guests to gain the best experience during their stay. Thank you for sharing the certainty of our hotel's location which is in the center of little India, so easy for our guests to move around. Our team work hard to strive the best service giving it to our guest, so they could stay relaxing just like home away from home with the facilities provided.

From our team, we are happy to have you here and hope to see you here on your future visit in Penang.

Best Wishes,
EIM Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2019

Fantastic tranquility of this excellent hotel at the heart of George Town. Would be a perfect choice to stay. Excellent hospitality of every staff. One could enjoy the beautifully refurbished old structure with thoughtful design of small garden at the centre of the Chinese-style building. Absolutely value for money.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank shirleychau_2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastIndiesMansion, Front Of Desk at East Indies Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2019

Dear shirleychau_2019,

Thank you very much of spending your precious time to write a review during your experience stay at East Indies Mansion! We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay at the mansion. Thank you for sharing the certainty of our mansion's location which is in the hub of Georgetown. The location can easily bring you to Street Art Street, Heritage Site, Transport Station, Restaurants, Museum, and etc. We always ensure to maintain our best quality of service to all our guest, to make them feel like home away from home in this peace and warm mansion.

We thank you once again for choosing East Indies Mansion and look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best Wishes,
EIM Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2019

We loved it!!!!! The receptionists are smily and very helpful, the chef, Sandra, is wonderful. She even come with us for some Malay shopping and gave a back massage to one of us!!!! And the location is just perfect!!!!!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TheWayToTheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastIndiesMansion, Front Of Desk at East Indies Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2019

Dear TheWayToTheUK,

Thank you very much of spending your precious time to write a review during your experience stay at East Indies Mansion! We are delighted that you enjoyed the atmosphere at the mansion and finds the location great. We love each and every guest that walks through our doors and into our heritage family.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you at East Indies Mansion in the near future!

Best Wishes,
EIM Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2019

I had a wonderful four day stay at the East Indies Mansion in Penang! The hotel is stunningly decorated: modern with beautiful mixed Chinese and colonial influences, the heritage shines through. Breakfast was nice, and even nicer was tea time at 4pm where tea and cakes were served. The staff were absolutely wonderful, shout-out to Sandra and Tom and all the other staff who were very sweet and always very happy to help. Sandra even took me accessories shopping... Can't stress enough how gorgeous and nice this place is. 100% recommended, best place to stay in Penang!

Room tip: Nutmeg b!
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank tavagass
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastIndiesMansion, Front Of Desk at East Indies Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2019

Dear tavagass,

Thank you very much of spending your precious time to write a review during your experience stay at East Indies Mansion! The mansion is almost two hundred years old and we work hard to maintain the architectural and aesthetic value of the mansion for our guests to gain the best experience during their stay. Thank you for sharing the certainty of our breakfast and new started afternoon tea recently. Our team work hard to strive the best service giving it to our guest, so they could stay relaxing just like home away from home with the facilities provided.

From our team, we are happy to have you here and hope to see you here on your future visit in Penang.

Best Wishes,
EIM Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews