We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location but poor room and service.”
Review of G Hotel Gurney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
G Hotel Gurney
Ranked #15 of 88 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Luckily just a night stay otherwise would have rated it terrible. Location is excellent but lots of flaws in this hotel. Once stepped out from the lift to the room, the carpets were wet and smelly. It was noisy at night as there were bars below and right next to Gurney Shopping Mall. Unable to get a good sleep. Do request for rooms on higher floors if you want a proper sleep. Staffs couldn't speak proper English and this is a 5star hotel but quality like 3star. Service is very slow and had to wait for a long time to get some toiletries from the housekeeping side. Price is expensive for the poor experience stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JKY209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

679 - 685 of 1,677 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed at the club floor in the recent month and enjoyed my stay. The room is quite spacious and I love the Aigner body lotion that was provided in the room. Minibar was complimentary and room is cold. Breakfast at the executive lounge was good and service was fast. I felt that the lobby is a little dark, due to the paint colors and doe snot quite like the outsiders who hang around the lobby area. But then I guess you can't do much about them.....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The pool is fantastic. The Japanese Restaurant in the 2nd floor is excellent. Breakfast buffet is good. Try the local cuisine available every morning. It is spicy but delicious. Service is outstanding. Rooms in the executive floors are big and comfortable. However the rooms are starting to look a little tired.
Conveniently located next to the Gurney Mall, you can find everything you might need.
A great place to stay in the trendy Gurney area.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a room overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natoverbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Located at gurney drive, Convenience , stylish room, clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. Great food at Miraku Japanese restaurant (1st floor) , Thank you to Mr Kumaren for excellent service. we will come back again ...

Room Tip: Please ask for seaview room, high floor and middle room you can see very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamarudinsmile77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

It was a last minute weekend trip with parents and through recommendations of a local friend, we booked this hotel.

What a great recommendation it was, great location that comes with rooms with very generous size. We didn't expect much prior to arrival, as this was also my first visit to Penang, i didn't have the slightest idea of the hotel's great location.

The arrival and check in experience was good, hassle free and we will in our room within 20 minutes. 2 rooms were booked, same floor was accorded, not very high floor but we were not fussed about it. welcome ice-cream was a good touch though. We didn't spend much time in the room after check in as we found ourselves in the Gurney Drive food centre, which was 5 minutes walk from the hotel, in no time. The showers worked wonders, good water pressure and working heating system. Our rooms were serviced as expected, though we had to ask for face towels. Did i mention complimentary mini-bar? Well, 5 cans of soft drinks and 2 bars of Kit-Kats, and bottles of drinking water. Inexpensive items, but hey, its a nice touch that keeps guests talking.

The hotel is also adjacent to Gurney Plaza next door, which is very convenient.

In all, we will not hesitate to come back to this hotel, given its location and room size, the rates were reasonable and value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from g Hotel !

I would like to thank you for your positive comments in regards to your recent stay.

Penang is a very interesting destination and it is great to hear your encouraging feedback and I do hope you will stay with us for your next visit.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I like to judge a hotel based on Service, Quality and Value

Service is OK, for the most part everybody is friendly.

Quality: rooms are ok. Very nice gym overlooking ocean. Swimming pool area is great place to relax with a book or a swim in a very large pool. This is my favorite area in the hotel. There is also a Spa by the pool area. My favorite spa is at Gurney Hotel down the street. Breakfast is great with many fresh and hot selections. Many restaurant options in hotel and also in Mall. Nice bar on second floor with Jazz music. If you want to try local food try hawker stand next to hotel. Hotel is next to a very large mall with great shopping.

Value: good value for quality. There are cheaper options down Gurney drive but lack the quality and service.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelSamDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from g Hotel !

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation and we are delighted to learn that you enjoy your stay with us.

We appreciate you taking the time to write and look forward for your return in the not too distant future.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great hotel with stylish atmosphere. Good fitness and swimming-pool facilities. Location is wonderful, in front of the see (ask for a sea view room!) and next to two shopping malls with bars, cinema and restaurants. I have to come to Penang one week every second month and I always try to book this hotel. Breakfast is very diverse including both asian and western food and a good range of fruit, cheese and nuts. The only thing the breakfast misses is fresh orange juice which is not always available.

What makes this hotel special is its great service. They are always very friendly, helpful and professional. Starting from the white-shirt ones from concierge (specially Zahar) to the staff at the executive floor. If you are on the executive floor, you will probably meet Shalenne. She is always very friendly and helpful. She can provide you great travelling tips and explain you the local culture too.

The quality of the wifi connection depends on the room. This can be a bit annoying if you are on a business trip.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Pol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from g Hotel !

First of all, thank you for your kind words in regards to the excellent service you received. Your comments have been shared with our team, to let them know that their efforts to provide quality services are being appreciated.

I was however concerned to learn that you had encountered some challenges in regards to the WIFI connections. Please rest assured that our IT department will coordinate with our service providers to work out the best solution for the internet connections.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.1 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 88 in George Town
485 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 88 in George Town
3,706 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
4.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
5.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G Hotel Gurney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Gurney

Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#6 Family Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range: £86 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Gurney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G Hotel is your urban thirst quenching oasis, prime for both discerning business and leisure travellers. Grand as it can be, the entrance lobby itself speaks volumes of the exclusivity of what lies within. Furnished with contemporary designs like the iconic Spoon Chair by Kartell, Felt Chair by Capellini and Shell Chair by Hansen, douse your senses with visual elegance and ergonomic comfort aimed at turning even the simplest act of waiting into a unique one. Rich in modern contemporary architecture and opulent interior designs, the 312-room hotel evokes a sense of grandeur, one which is left for you to experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your G Hotel Gurney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
g Hotel Penang
G Hotel Gurney Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing