We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel - very stylish”
Review of G Hotel Gurney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
G Hotel Gurney
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel - very stylish”
Reviewed 25 January 2009

Stayed at this hotel for three nights when passing through Penang. Where really impressed when I stepped in to the lobby which was really spacious and very stylish. The rooms are big and comfy (stayed in a superior room) and there is a really nice infinity pool on the back of the hotel. Tried several of the restaurants, which all where good but the portions where a bit small sometimes. Great staff - friendly, attentive and very service minded. If you like nice design (maybe not the rooms but the lobby and restaurants) and a good atmosphere then this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank matteb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    644
    174
    52
    49
See reviews for
406
415
88
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2009

We stayed at the G Hotel in a very spacious 2 bedroom serviced apartment, with internal laundry facilities and cutlery provision for 4 nights in Jan 2009. Since we were in an apartment we were given access to the Executive Club Lounge. Check in was 2pm and check out was at 12 noon. The apartment was very modern, huge and comfortable. There was free broadband and the provision of an iPod docking station.

The apartment had a kitchen, dining table and lounge, TV screens in all bedrooms and the lounge room. The main bedroom of the apartment had a bath with a window view. Everything is new and fresh and the decor is pleasing.

The beds were comfortable and by and large everything was clean except for some spot cleaning - marks - caused by wear and tear - this - management need to address and be more particular about.

The Executive Lounge was a joy and I would recommend that you try to get a room with Executive Lounge acesss. We had a lovely breakfast every morning, peaceful and away from the madding crowd. We could look out towards the lush green hills of Penang from this higher floor. During the day and night the Lounge provides a buffet (all complimentary) and drinks (all complimentary). So you can eat all day here if you want to. Also I should mention that wine is expensive in Malaysia - here you can drink as much as you wish. You even get champagne for breakfast if you want. Typically you would have white/red wine available, soft drinks, beers in the fridge (help yourself), spirits, apricot brandy etc etc etc.

The buffet changed everyday so you were not stuck with the same meals - finger food bites - and desserts and chocolates were avaiable each day too. All complimentary.

Whilst at the GHotel we enjoyed their pool area and went to their lovely spa facility where my husband and I both enjoyed a wonderful massage, scrub and scented bath. I wasn't feeling very well at the time and this treatment was very beneficial. The spa room is very nice.

We had dinner at the G Hotel in the fusion restaurant - the food was very good and I do recommend that you use this facility too.

Sighseeing tours are available at the concierge desk and if you use this service I thoroughly recommend you ask for Reza the driver as he does a marvellous job and will tell you everything you need to know about where you are. He is a very good driver cum guide.

I thoroughly recommend a stay at the G Hotel. It is about 10 minutes away from the centre of town.

  • Liked — Spacious accommodation and food
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Luxecarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Very reliable and friendly service, reservation reliability perfect, well maintained rooms, very stylish. Staff really takes care for you in this hotel (eg. Mr. Loke helped me a lot on my multiple reservation matters, Mr. Troy takes well care for you in the lobby bar, Mrs. Saanta does a wonderful job in the executive floor). Breakfast buffet outstanding in quality and variety. Very good pool and fitness center. This is a place, I love to come back!

  • Liked — Interiour Design and friendliness of stuff
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank makaluflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2009

We were in southeast Asia for 3 weeks and needed a place to ring in the new year. Based on a friend's recommendation, we selected Penang and the G Hotel.

The island itself left a little to be desired, but we were very happy with the hotel. It is situated right on the ocean with views of the bay (notice I did not say beach, you do not come to Penang for the beach as far as we could tell). The hotel seems relatively new and the dining areas, rooms, pool area, and gym facilities were all excellent. It is located just a bit down the road from the main Georgetown area, which I think we ultimately preferred. The hotel offers free bicycle usage and we took the bikes out riding through town, which was probably the highlight of our stay. Its a bit scary, but a great way to see town and experience the culture.

Beyond that, it is worth checking out the Eastern & Oriental Hotel for a drink at their bar and we had a great meal at a restaurant called 32 or "The Mansion" on Jalan Ahmad Shah near Upper Penang Road. It was a great meal in an old historic building - perfect for new years eve. After that we watched fireworks over the bay from our hotel room, as most of the revelers appeared to have gathered below the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cogirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2009

My husband & I were impressed with the way the hotel was designed. Brilliant set up, furniture was very current. Our room was excellent and the amenities exceeded our expectations. All aspects of our visit was perfect save for the bad attitude of some of the staff.

From check-in to check-out, our experience was marred by staff who are either arrogant or incapable of smiling. Banging of phones, rudeness to guests, 'bored' faces are not very welcoming to guests so please do something about it quick because hotel business depends fully on its customers. Repeat customers are rare.

  • Liked — Designs, furniture & amenities
  • Disliked — Staff attitude
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fragrance78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

We stayed 3 nights in a deluxe king room and were very impressed.

Firstly staff were so gracious, personable and helpful. Especially Hanib (concierge) and all the other doormen and concierge team, who anticipated our needs and questions (re. how to get around, figuring out reasonable taxi costs, etc). They virtually tripped over themselves to help us with luggage, always making an effort to open the door with a smile even if we weren't carrying anything heavier than a handbag. And Hanbi and Nani were really fun!

We arrived early on day 1 and left late on day 3 - staff didn't bat an eyelid with checking us in early (~11am) and granting a late checkout (1pm). After checking out, we had no problems with hanging out in the lobby whenever we liked, or having access to the amenities on the ground floor (to freshen up prior to catching our overnight bus at 10pm).

The room was spacious (room, bathroom and separate office space were extra large compared to the largest hotel rooms we have ever been in - just compare the sq. m stated online) and stylish. (note - Daily room cleaning was less than thorough but still more than acceptable). The gym was state of the art as well (built in heart rate monitors and even cable tv on the treadmills!! Watch Discovery channel while keeping your heart rate in 'the zone'). OH, and complimentary in-room internet plus free wireless in the lobby.

Finally the location was ideal - pop downstairs to the shopping centre for all those things you need to pick up (like walk-in eye checks at Optical 88 with a qualified optometrist, then new frames & lenses in your hands inside 4 hours - for less than $250 Malaysian Ringgit). A 5 minute stroll to dinner at the nightly Gurney hawker market (halal section as well as usual) or an easy 10 minute stroll to the various cafes, restaurants etc on Gurney Drive, OR, best of all, a 20 minute stroll / 12 ringgit taxi ride to Pulau Tikus morning market for breakfast, taste of local culture, etc.

  • Liked — Food locale
  • Disliked — Housekeeping crew did not have the service culture of front of house staff - not as welcoming, did not show comparable standard of work
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MsianFoodFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

After checking in, receiving an upgrade to 1 bedroom apartment, our stay for 3 nights started at the G hotel. It feels stilish, from the huge lobby up to the rooms. Clean white with color accents, nice bathroom and relaxed lounge music every where made me feel like I could escape and chill for a few days.
The infinity pool has a kind of weird feel while relaxing between high buildings and parking garage of the neighbour shopping mall. It felt like they weren't used to providing high quality pool services, such as food and beverages (that's nice when you plan a relax afternoon at the pool) therefor I went to the shopping mall to bring my own.
Overall it was a nice stay, good breakfast and the hawker stalls just a short walk away are convenient. But it feels 'cool' in a distant kind of way. Like you can come in and after 4 days leave without a blink of an eye. It doesn't feel like a warm bath. But that's ok if you're not looking for that kind of service.

  • Liked — Stilish feeling
  • Disliked — Cold and distant service from staff
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank C_Dutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.1 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 84 in George Town
423 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
3,531 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
5.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,231 reviews
4.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G Hotel Gurney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Gurney

Property: G Hotel Gurney
Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#6 Family Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Gurney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G Hotel is your urban thirst quenching oasis, prime for both discerning business and leisure travellers. Grand as it can be, the entrance lobby itself speaks volumes of the exclusivity of what lies within. Furnished with contemporary designs like the iconic Spoon Chair by Kartell, Felt Chair by Capellini and Shell Chair by Hansen, douse your senses with visual elegance and ergonomic comfort aimed at turning even the simplest act of waiting into a unique one. Rich in modern contemporary architecture and opulent interior designs, the 312-room hotel evokes a sense of grandeur, one which is left for you to experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your G Hotel Gurney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
g Hotel Penang
G Hotel Gurney Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing