We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
12
74
75
28
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
12
74
75
28
18
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Booked two twin rooms and a double room for a family stay-cation. While the rooms are cheap (USD35 per twin room, USD46 per double room with breakfast), the inconvenience makes you wish you pay more.

1. Air conditioner didn't work for one of the rooms. TV screen was static. Busted lamp in the other room. Leaking toilet tank in the same room. Had the maintenance personnel in those rooms for quite a while, which ruined the trip a little.

2. Food is substandard. Even though it is a Muslim-run establishment, I don't mind having halal food but the variety is poor and the quality is below average. Fortunately Penang is renowed for great hawker fare island-wide outside of the hotel.

3. The access of beach made everything else worthwhile :) The pool is very small though but the beach is good enough.

4. Staff was actually very friendly and helpful. Shame that the hotel conditions were too bad but they were trying hard to help us with the issues in the rooms.

5. Wifi was provided for free (part of the promotion), decent connection. Car parking available at the basement.

6. There is a food centre right opposite with local fare and seafood :) Helps a lot for the sad meals in the hotel. Location is pretty close to Gurney Drive down the road and Batu Ferringhi up the road.

So, there you go. It is still ok but you cannot have high expectations.

Room tip: Only double rooms have sea view. All the other single and twin rooms have side view.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLynxTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I booked the 2 standard rooms at Agoda.com for the total of USD72 (about RM242). The reason I chose this place was because I had a great stay at the Malacca outlet during my outstation jobs. The deal was pretty good.

I called up just a few hours before hand to let them know I'll be late. And the best bit was they told me that I got a free upgrade because I requested for interconnecting rooms. I got the family suite, which faced the sea as opposed to the standard rooms! How great was it!

The beds were comfy. One thing I like about Naza Talyya was they had wooded floors installed so for those who want to have extra guests over, wooden floors are way better than tiled ones. And it's nicer to walk on too!

Downside was there was only one toilet to share among the 4 of us. Maybe a problem for a bigger group of people.

Room tip: Try to get the family suites (maybe a bit more pricey and only have one toilet), which has the sea view.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisheruT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Having previously stayed in Georgetown and Batu Ferringi, decided to stay between them this time. Hotel is a short bust trip from either place down a short, quiet street. There is a bus stop about 100m away - from GT get off one stop after Tesco -the bus stop is known as Chinese Swimming Club stop, bus drivers know this.
The hotel - no complaints whatsoever. Had booked online, friendly reception and very happy with my room - on the sea side, small balcony and just loved the views over the beach and out to sea.
Clean, quiet, secure (room safe), large bathroom area.
Would happily stay there again.
Nice to have a 'proper' swimming pool for lap swimming; or walk another 10m to the sea, though note they have signs warning of jellyfish. Waling east from the hotel along the beach takes you to an old (1799) Chinese Temple, walk through here and another 5min you're at Tesco Hypermarket. Diagonally opposite the entrance to the hotel is a large foodcourt - mix of Asian meals through to western pizza at reasonable prices.

Room tip: High up on the sea side with a balcony - wonderful views across the sea to the mainland
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank songsee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This hotel is, as the name implies, actually situated right on the beach and all rooms have sea views. For the money we paid (USD 27) I would say that it was excellent value for money. We didn’t try the breakfast as it wasn’t included, and for dinner we used the excellent food court just across the street – with plenty of choice and very good prices. The only other thing, except a few small restaurants, is a quite small Tesco mall. To explore anything of the Island or George Town you will need transportation. The hotel is located along the northern beach road so it’s easy to both get into the city and to explore the northwestern parts of the island. The room was clean and, even if quite small, very functional. Our room, a Seaview standard room, had a small balcony. It’s not a 5-star facility but you get far more than you pay for. The restaurant and pool area needs a face lift, and would have great potential in right hands but now it’s not well maintained and there is really nothing offered. The beach is good with white fine sand and a swimmable ocean. It gets deep quite fast and there are some tidal currents so not perfect for children. If we get the same price I would probably come back because of the location and the proximity to the food court.

Room tip: Avoid the rooms next to the elevator shaft...
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matjesill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This hotel is really worth the money to stay. The price is cheap compared to many hotels around this region. The location is very good as it just next to the beach. You can walk to the beach by walking down the steps via the hotel swimming pool. The room is standard size and very clean. The floor is wooden instead of carpet. This to me is a plus point because it is cleanner than carpet because of easier maintenance and non-smelly nature of wood. It is very convenient for food as there is a foodcourt just a minute walking distance away. The basement car park is convenient as it did not charge to guest. There is also a balcony outside the room. Only that there is an aircond compressor placed at the balcony and you can feel the heat from the compressor if you stand at the lobby. The swimming pool is nice and is between the restaurant and beach. Though the beach is not as pretty and not much spot activities as those found in other part of island, such as Batu Ferinngi or Teluk Pahang, given the much lower price of hotel and convenient of much nearer to town, this is a good choice for budget traveller.It even has free WIFI in room.

Room tip: Watch out for promotion rate. It can be very cheap at low season.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews