We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated hotel in good location”
Review of Naza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Naza Hotel
Ranked #68 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Dated hotel in good location”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Penang for one night on a business trip. We opted to stay in Naza because of the beach front & close proximity to the city as well. However, for those who expect a beautiful beach, forget it. You will not be able to swim there due to jelly fish. So the swimming pool facing the sea is the best option.
The main good point is that the price wise, it is reasonably priced & the hawker center opposite gives you good local food.
However rooms are dated. Need renovation. When we checked in , the toilet flush was not functioning & the kettle provided does not work.
Overall, it is still a good bargain based on the price of the hotel

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    74
    76
    28
    18
See reviews for
43
60
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Second time in Naza and I was pleasantly surprised! The staff were lovely( except for Sangeswary)
Rooms are nice,cosy spotlessly clean and spacious. The balcony offered a panoramic view of the sea.Breakfast was more than adequate.I love the location which is just next to the foodcourt with a great variety of local food and Tesco which is just round the corner(10 mins. walk) and just a step to the beach from the dining area.Great value for money, good location and very comfortable.
I would definitely visit again. Two thumbs up for Badrol for being such a good housekeeper and making our stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Choose the 5th floor, sea view. ( Badrol keeps these rooms spotlessly clean) middle rooms have bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 646Jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Only thing good about the hotel is that it's in the middle of town n had a good seaview n breeze as we were on 10th floor. Our room was dirty. We pushed our beds together n found dust n dirt underneath the bed. Bathroom was dirty and aftershower found water stagnant n some dirt. Requested for a change in room and claimed that they were full n tho I asked to speak to their manager, refused to pass the line. Breakfast was nothing to shout about. Overall found the hotel highly disappointing n pricey for the condition of the hotel n room.

Room Tip: If ur not so fusy n wud like to stay here anyway, chose rooms in the 10th floor for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these George Town hotels

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Nice view of The Mainland from my 10th floor room.Room light was a bit dark.Free coffee was nice.Bed was comfy.Water pressure from shower was low.Car park is small & without lift to lobby.Location is awesome.Tv got Star Sports.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SidPIRATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in Naza for 10 days. A good hotel to stay in with decent facilities. The staff is also very helpful and supportive. Specially the housekeeping staff. Will consider Naza if I visit Penang again in future :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AjayBhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The corridor to our room on the 6th floor had a not too refreshing smell. Overall, the room was alright. The bottom end of the sliding shower door was broken but the shower was good. However, only 2 bath towels were provided, could have been more considerate to provide face/hand towels and floor towel as well. Enjoyed the scenic view, so, if you are not too picky, this may suit you well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnnYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasaragod, India
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I been to Naza Hotel Penang in Feb 2013, which I booked through a Portel where I used to stay 2 nights. The prime attraction of this resort as its so closest to the sea. Once can step in to the beach from the restaurant area and pool. View from the room window is amazing and scenic. The adjacent beach is not suggestable for swimming as no soft sand as well as the threat of Jelly fish. Bed, Room space and facilities are quite good but one may feel that it could be better maintained as I saw ma flesh was not working well. Breakfast was quite good and worthy. Pool is not maintained well and was dirty, so my intention to use the pool was not filled. Price is moderate and I say It would not spoil your money or a comfort overnight stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the sea side is so good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadicstories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sentral Seaview, Penang
Hotel Sentral Seaview, Penang
#1 of 2 in Tanjung Tokong
254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
0.5 mi away
Straits Quay Suites
Straits Quay Suites
#49 of 84 in George Town
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
#5 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
742 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,062 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naza Hotel

Property: Naza Hotel
Address: No.555, Jalan CM Hashim | Tanjung Tokong, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Naza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naza Hotel Georgetown
Naza Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing