We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aviary Ginger Garden at Hotel Bellevue”
Review of Bellevue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bellevue Hotel
Ranked #65 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Aviary Ginger Garden at Hotel Bellevue”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Visited the Aviary Ginger Garden at Hotel Bellevue as part of a shore excursion with Superstar Virgo. One of the sadest sights of our tour was a peacock in a pen so small the bird could not display his tail feathers without them being broken on the wire coop. Another bird was seen pacing its enclosure and seemed distressed.

Is there some authority that can review this "attraction"?

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bunyip63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    10
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
13
14
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

Hotel was clean and old, which gives you a heritage feel. Room was big and comfy.

The hotel staff were excellent. We arrived late at the hotel and there were no restaurant opened so the staff took the trouble to open back the restaurant and serve us. It was basically opened just for us, seeing that we were traveling with a baby.

A huge respect goes to the staff of the hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arisberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Come prepared for the Penang local hospitality which is not to be rushed. Staff are protective of facilities; and rightly so given the vantage point with unblocked views of Georgetown day and night. Simple courtesy and a smile goes a long way with the few staff. Lunch menu is limited to 3 local delights - fried rice and noodles with refreshments - tea, coffee and lime juice with sour plum. Breakfast menu is limited to tea, coffee, half boiled eggs and jam & toast. I stayed with my 2 primary school aged children. Yes I would stay again and to plan more time to explore the nature trails.

Room Tip: The 4 rooms on the 2nd floor are more spacious and have been renovated. Please bring your own toilet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teriwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

Excellent views of the town and the bridge of Penang from the highest peak on this lovely island. Recommend a stay in the hotel, now that the rooms are newly renovated. Try the ride on the buggy or the Segway when you are there.

Note that when you make a booking, you can request a pickup from airport or anywhere in town and arrange for 4-wheel drive vehicle to bring you and your luggage up to the hotel. Thus avoid using the train and the crowds.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ccchia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I didn't actually stay at Bellevue The Penang Hill Hotel, having only visited to dine in the cafe and enjoy the view. However, it's obvious that the facilities are aging... No surprise, as Bellevue The Penang Hill Hotel is among one of the first stone structures ever built on Penang Hill, and was formerly a bungalow owned by the sheriff of Penang, William Halliburton.


As the first and only hotel on Penang Hill, Bellevue The Penang Hill Hotel is rather small, with only 11 rooms, and no other normal hotel facilities (Swimming Pool, Arcade, etc.). It does have a small cafe / lounge, on a deck behind the hotel, which overlooks Penang Island, and has a great view.


Nowadays, Bellevue The Penang Hill Hotel is mostly booked for events, rather than hotel stays. Currently, as of September 2012, the hotel is undergoing upgrading and restoration works, although you can still visit and dine at the cafe.


The Bellevue The Penang Hill Hotel cafe is minimally staffed, during my visit, there were only 2 staff present. Also, unless the Bellevue The Penang Hill Hotel (Cafe) has been booked for an event, the menu selection is limited to finger food. The full menu is only available during an event booking, this is because they ferry supplies up the hill according to demand.


Tip: Staff are instructed to discourage guests from dining in the garden behind, however, they will allow garden dining if the cafe is full. Or if you first dine indoors on the deck, then request to move to the garden later. You can however, walk around the garden, take photographs, and enjoy the view. As Bellevue The Penang Hill Hotel is private property, there won't be hordes of tourists here, only guests and customers of the hotel, and is therefore relatively quiet compared to the rest of Penang Hill.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RunningMan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I just recently stayed at Bellevue when i hiked up Penang hill. My initial plan was to hike from Teluk Bahang forest park till penang hill. I had reserved Bellevue because it would be late when i reach Penang hill and there would be no way to get down.
The service is average and so is food - Nothing fancy. Alcohol is expensive. However, the view from the restaurant is great. You get a good view of Georgetown.

All in all, expensive and may not be worth it. If you can go down the same day, just eat at the restaurant, enjoy the view and skip staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AthmaGyaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I had been a long time ago and back with a visitor to show them the view. What a let down. Following a slow and disjointed journey up on the railway we went to the hotel for a light brunch. Service was dealy slow as we sat on the terrace (gardens all roped off) Eventually a menu arrived and orders attempted. How can eggs or vegetable rolls be out if stock ? A juice and coffee was eventually managed after a 20 minute wait. Best summed up by two ladies on the next table who sent back a simple pot of tea as it was cold and metalic tasting. ..how can they get that wrong ?
The place has a wonderful setting and has a h u g e amount of potential but is run down, badly maintained -with no apology-and regretfullyto be avoided at all costs

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oldFordfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these George Town hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Loke Thye Kee Residences
Loke Thye Kee Residences
#43 of 84 in George Town
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wembley – A St Giles Hotel, Penang
0.2 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cititel Express Penang
Cititel Express Penang
#31 of 84 in George Town
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.2 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#22 of 84 in George Town
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Hotel

Property: Bellevue Hotel
Address: Bukit Bendera | Penang Hill, George Town, Penang Island 11300, Malaysia (Formerly Bellevue The Penang Hill Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bellevue Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bellevue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing