We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 days 1 Night Stay.. OK laa”
Review of Bellevue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bellevue Hotel
Ranked #65 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Shah Alam, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2 days 1 Night Stay.. OK laa”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is my first time visited Penang Hill and I decided to stay at The Bellevue Hotel. The Only Hotel operated on top of the hill. I arrived at 10.30 am and they allowed me to check in early. The reservation staff are very friendly and well trained. I was booked one standard room with two single bed. The interior was good and the toilet are clean. The Pillow and mattress a bit hard but still ok compared to others hotel.
The Pillow and Blanket a bit smelly with a " Heritage" smell..this need improvement ..
There are Hot water inside the toilet and well function.
For Breakfast you have no choice, you have to agreed with 2 half boiled eggs, 3 slices bread toast with butter and marmalade with Coffee or Tea.. this is complementary breakfast..
For Lunch and Dinner I prefer buy outside, There are few hawkers stall at Owl Museum so you can choose from varieties menu there. The price are reasonable..
The staff very helpful and so friendly..
The Garden view very superb ..
But at night there was no entertainment in this hotel.
FYI, the room not equip with air-cond but they provide the fan
I recommended for short stay..for long stay you have to consider again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomHaqimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    10
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
13
14
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Not too long ago when something was so bad it was possibly good it was described as being" camp". Well that's the Bellevue. At the equivalent of $US 100 for the night you better enjoy the view and location and not be fastidious.
The good is the location , perched atop Penang Hill with breathtaking views and adjacent to the buggy Drivers who will give you a tour of the area. There is also a Wat right there for a look at local Buddhism. The room had a full length picture window onto the jungle setting which
Was quite nice.
We had planned to sit on the lawn overlooking the city at dusk but the area was roped off due to fertilizer having been applied. So we sat at the covered porch instead and had drinks and food. Watching the weather change before your eyes all the way across the water to Butterworth was good.
If you're into hiking and walking there are many paths there which are quite good also.
Now the bad and the ugly.
The interior of the hotel is mid 1960s and in serious need of updating without losing it's colonial character since it once was the residence of a Mr. Halliburton. The room was as basic as they come a la an old Motel Six.
The food was , at best, mediocre. Breakfast is tea or coffee, toast with butter and marmalade, orange juice and two soft boiled eggs. That's it. OK but no choice.
The aviary contains a lot of spectacular birds but some of the cahes appeared to be too small. The foliage throughout the grounds was varied and plentiful.
So. We spent one night there. We were the only guests. We made the most of it and basically enjoyed ourselves but be forewarned that this is not a 5 star accommodation. Far from it.
In the right hands it could be a top destination but it needs serious upgrading without losing it's character.

Room Tip: Second floor to enhance the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This hotel to me in like an "unpolished diamond". What a waste. I like the location as it overlooks Penang Sea and the hill. I like the full length window as you can have nature so close to you. The hotel room is cosy and clean. Decent except that it has no aircon and we have to request for two fans. Much more can be done to improve the hotel. The balinese deco was a big mismatch to the colonial like house,and ikea like furnitures in the room, everything just looked very "rojak", even the chairs in the dining area was of different types. Dining has a really beautiful sunrise setting though. However, we love the David Brown's restaurant that is of walking distance. By contrast, it is a very romantic and lovely setting. Wish Bellevue could be upgraded to David Brown's standard that will be marvellous. However, i must say Bellevue has very nice polite and helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malmercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Visited the Aviary Ginger Garden at Hotel Bellevue as part of a shore excursion with Superstar Virgo. One of the sadest sights of our tour was a peacock in a pen so small the bird could not display his tail feathers without them being broken on the wire coop. Another bird was seen pacing its enclosure and seemed distressed.

Is there some authority that can review this "attraction"?

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bunyip63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these George Town hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

Hotel was clean and old, which gives you a heritage feel. Room was big and comfy.

The hotel staff were excellent. We arrived late at the hotel and there were no restaurant opened so the staff took the trouble to open back the restaurant and serve us. It was basically opened just for us, seeing that we were traveling with a baby.

A huge respect goes to the staff of the hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arisberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Come prepared for the Penang local hospitality which is not to be rushed. Staff are protective of facilities; and rightly so given the vantage point with unblocked views of Georgetown day and night. Simple courtesy and a smile goes a long way with the few staff. Lunch menu is limited to 3 local delights - fried rice and noodles with refreshments - tea, coffee and lime juice with sour plum. Breakfast menu is limited to tea, coffee, half boiled eggs and jam & toast. I stayed with my 2 primary school aged children. Yes I would stay again and to plan more time to explore the nature trails.

Room Tip: The 4 rooms on the 2nd floor are more spacious and have been renovated. Please bring your own toilet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teriwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

Excellent views of the town and the bridge of Penang from the highest peak on this lovely island. Recommend a stay in the hotel, now that the rooms are newly renovated. Try the ride on the buggy or the Segway when you are there.

Note that when you make a booking, you can request a pickup from airport or anywhere in town and arrange for 4-wheel drive vehicle to bring you and your luggage up to the hotel. Thus avoid using the train and the crowds.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ccchia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Loke Thye Kee Residences
Loke Thye Kee Residences
#42 of 84 in George Town
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wembley – A St Giles Hotel, Penang
0.2 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cititel Express Penang
Cititel Express Penang
#30 of 84 in George Town
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.2 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#21 of 84 in George Town
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Hotel

Property: Bellevue Hotel
Address: Bukit Bendera | Penang Hill, George Town, Penang Island 11300, Malaysia (Formerly Bellevue The Penang Hill Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bellevue Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bellevue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing