We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant room with nice cafeteria and rooftop bar”
Review of Chulia Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chulia Mansion
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in George Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant room with nice cafeteria and rooftop bar”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My friends and I stayed for 2 nights. The location was good, with 10-15 mins walking distance from KOMTAR and we could basically reach places in Penang with ease by bus. The famous art streets were just nearby. We rent bicycles at a shop just opposite Chulia Mansion and explored the art streets and Chou Jetty.
The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was nice but it will be better if they make some improvements to the lighting and the paint. But I guess they used different paint colour in different rooms so you might get more comfortable-looking colour tone (ours was grey).
The staff were helpful with the recommendations of interesting places around. The rooftop was stunning with blue LED lights decorating and the view was awesome. The only drawback was that it was too dark if you wanted to enjoy your food there at night. The staff at the bar gave us a warm welcome by giving us a electronic candle, in attempt to help us light up our table. They provided breakfast with various choices of the local delicacies.
I will stay in Chulia Mansion if I visit Penang again :)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reveriejf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChuliaMansion, Manager at Chulia Mansion, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Reveriejf,

Thank you very much for posting a review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your comments mean a lot to us and we are addressing the room light as I write. Additional lights are being planned and you will be sure to notice a difference next time you come.

I remember talking to you on the rooftop that night and sharing that Lonely Planet book with my torch on my iphone. Since then we have already installed additional lighting, now the rooftop is sensational. Please check out our pics on facebook.com/chuliamansion. I will upload some pictures on TripAdvisor later to share.

Many Thanks. Enjoy the rest of your holidays.


Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    254
    46
    10
    7
See reviews for
149
349
94
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

i went to the hotel on last week. This hotel out side is so simple. We walk-in on Saturday lucky still have room for 3 girl. Fist when i open the door go in room it's exited. you can see the wall it's good texture and i like the style. smell also good. we sleep over there two night. The reception speak English very well. she ready to help you. but the breakfast it,s not so nice. Have loop top bar for u can relax at night. But beside the Hotel is mosque so you can here the sound worship of the Allah's kindness one day around five time.I think it,s not a big problem for me and friends. i still like the hotel. is a good location have 7 eleven and many food around there. so...I Happy

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank great_relax_nicerest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChuliaMansion, Manager at Chulia Mansion, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you Ms great_relax_nicerest for taking your time out to write us a review and we appreciate a lot.

Next time when you come back we will try to prepare some Thai dishes for you !!! Sawadee-kap !!!

Thank you for staying with us.


Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

After weeks of traveling through south east asia we stopped in Penang. After reading some reviews on tripadvisor we decided to take the risk to book Chulia Mansion which only had 2 reviews due to the opening a few weeks ago.

What a draw. The hotel is totally new renovated with a modern western feeling. The rooms look exactly like on the photos and are very spacious. It is a rather small hotel so you won't be disrupted at night. The roof top is just great with the view, the bar (limited choice, but cheap) and a place where the jacuzzi is going to be set up within the next month.

The breakfast was the best we had in weeks. It was a mix of (good!) western food and some prepared soups. We tried it all, from freshly made tuna or egg sandwiches to fresh fruits, eggs, yogurt etc.
The entire day they serve ice tea, tea, coffee and some desserts, which is great.

Also the location is perfect as the Mansion is located on one of the main streets next to all sights and the ferry harbor is just a 10 min walk away.

To be honest. The location and facilities are clean and very comfortable, but the real blast were the staff. They were so helpful with everything. We needed to book train tickets, wash our clothes, print airline tickets and so on. They invested a lot of time to help us and find the best way to fulfill our needs. We were also allowed to stay in the entire day after our check in to wait for our flight.

We met Fred, the manager of the hotel who was just plain friendly. He tried to make us feel home, showed us pictures from the roof top party they had a day before our arrival and met us on the roof to tell us some stories from his life. He even texted his receptionist to wish us a good journey to Siem Reap from him.

Overall the team of Chulia mansion was extraordinary and extremely committed to make this hotel a nice place! They take guest input very seriously.

Thank you for the best stay we could wish for in Asia.

Good luck in continuing this great work!

Jan and Cristina from Germany

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChuliaMansion, Manager at Chulia Mansion, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Jan and Cristina,

We're glad that you took the risk and decided to stayed with us. It was great having that chat and we talk about Germany. Please tell Cristina i used to stay at Apart Hotel in Silberhonstrasse. After you left, we had 2 couples from Munich whom stayed with us for 4 nights. Chulia Mansion seems to be a place for Germans get-together.

I hope you are having a good time in Siem Reap and can't wait to see you back here and the jacuzzi will be waiting for you.

At the time of writing, we have had 10 reviews and Chulia Mansion is now ranked #4 hotel in Georgetown. We are glad our guests enjoyed staying with us.

All the best.


Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We arrived in Georgetown without having made a reservation and stumbled onto this hotel by chance (we were actually looking for the Chulia Heritage Hotel) - and boy did we luck out !

The hotel was barely a month old and is ideally placed in the Chinatown of the city: close to restaurants, museums and shopping centers.
Staff is absolutely great and was able to help us out for laundry service, taxis, general directions and just plain friendly.

Rooms are spacious, very clean (to be expected with less than 1 month old rooms, but still), stylish yet simple, beds are comfy and bathroom was great with a good selection of utilities.

There's free WiFi on every floor as well as water dispensers near the elevator shaft.
During the day, you have free access to hot and cold drinks (tea/coffee/juice/water), as well as a selection of delicacies (mostly biscuits and some local sweets) and fruits.
Breakfast is included and has nice variety, simple but effective and good.
There is a rooftop terrace for drinks (limited choice but fairly cheap) during the evening, with a nice view and cosy atmosphere - we tried to convince the owner of setting up a jacuzzi and he said it was being worked on, so cross your fingers ;)

I can't recommend this address enough, it was the "hotel highlight" of our 2week trip in Malaysia, and I just hope they can keep up the service and state of their facilities over time.

Only complaint : there is ambient music in the corridors 24/7 (which is nice during the day, as it's good chill music, but not when you're trying to sleep) , albeit fairly quiet it's still noticeable if you're a light sleeper and I just can't fathom why they'd leave it on at night !
We'll chalk it to a "rookie mistake" which will surely be fixed in no time knowing the goodwill of the staff/management.

Room Tip: Rooms on the other side of the Minaret are quieter during Muslim prayer hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank I K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChuliaMansion, Manager at Chulia Mansion, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Ivan,

Thank you for putting in a lengthy review and I think you won't the Longest Review on TripAdvisor prize. Please come back to claim your win, haha.

Guess what, Jazuzzi is coming to the rooftop !!! After you left, we have added more choices at the rooftop bar and the choices will be growing in the coming months. Our management has to ensure we have the right resources to deliver the right products.

Corridor music is turned off every night at 10pm. The mosque next door has kindly turned down their praying volume upon our request. Another positive point for Chulia Mansion.

Thank you very much and see you soon.


Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel is only one month old. It's in one of the main street of Georgetown. It's cheaper than other hotels like hotel boutiques near it and this hotel has good facilities, including free wifi in all the hotel and parking and good city's views from rooftop. Any thing else? Of course, Chulia Mansion's staff are friendly and incredible people. Well-done! I hope that you're future will be successful! Thank you for your work during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avaed 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChuliaMansion, Manager at Chulia Mansion, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Avaed,

Thank you very much for your review and sorry for taking so long to reply. We've just managed to set up our management profile for Chulia Mansion.

Reading your review really gave everyone here at Chulia Mansion a boost and we strive to improve our service for our guests.

Please come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 84 in George Town
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#35 of 84 in George Town
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nam Keng Hotel
Nam Keng Hotel
#12 of 84 in George Town
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spices Hotel
Spices Hotel
#20 of 84 in George Town
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chulia Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chulia Mansion

Property: Chulia Mansion
Address: 413 Lebuh Chulia, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chulia Mansion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chulia Mansion is located in the centre of Georgetown's heritage zone. Ranked consistently in the top 10 hotels in Georgetown and we believe in service at a personal level. We offer FREE Breakfasts and Complimentary DRINK at our rooftop bar with a view of Georgetown to kill. You also get 1kg of FREE laundry every night of your stay. Why don't you come and find out why we're the hotel that ROCKS in Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chulia Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chulia Mansion Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing