We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Chulia Street
from US$62.00
More Info
from US$62.00
More Info
from US$83.08
More Info
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveller rating
161
228
87
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
161
228
87
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street food little india love lane wanton mee lok lok night hawker stalls antique shops hawker food fruit juice wontons satay lor bak kailan backpackers georgetown carnarvon penang
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 490 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2019 via mobile

Famous older street,with heritage buildings,religous buildings, and of course plenty of restaurants,food stalls etc.My hotel was on this street so walked it everyday.Some interesting places along the street,Worth the walk.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank zalnikor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 March 2019

Chinatown is coming alive with new, small boutique hotels built in former shophouses around an atrium with wooden stairs, often a gastronomically ambitious restaurant downstairs. Chulia is still the busiest street for bars and entertainment, street food abundant in all directions. Busses coming from the ferry terminal past the old, still operational firehouse pass through it on their way to Komtar and the North coast.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Heli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 February 2019 via mobile

Our hotel was smack bang in the middle of Chulia St so we got to know it very well over several days. From local daytime traders to night time streetfood hawkers (and even ladies of the night), there is something for everyone. The street oozes charm and history, with a mixture of old and new-ish architectural styles. This is also a good place to grab the local CAT / airport bus.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank neilhassall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 February 2019 via mobile

A lot of food options. Really liked the wanton mee. We ordered a char kuay tiao and the entrance of an alley, near a fruit stall. It was alright but not the best we've tried in penang. We also tried granny's omelette and it was very nice (although cooked by a young man).

Word of caution: when we sat down to eat wanton mee the drinks lady pestered us to order drinks and said that we had to order a drink to sit there. We paid 2.50 for a can of 100 plus.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank jeezles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 February 2019

Our hotel was on Chulia Street, it is one of main arteries of the city and very lively. Character changes from day to night as the businesses close and the restaurants and street food get going.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank elveston
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews