We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded but quality dropped.”

Maxim Dim Sum Restaurant
Ranked #137 of 922 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Crowded but quality dropped.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Use to be my family monthly must go dim sum. But last 3 visits with different group of friends n family was confirm a disappointment n let down. Used to be very good n reasonable... but a complete let down now. And some dim sum was terrible. A Real sad case.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vincekyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    18
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Dim Sum”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

good business may not means good good. a "choked: place, too many tables. taking Dim Sum is relax pace BUT not rushing.
getting attention and serving of teas are always slower than the dim sum ushers.

Most of the dim sum displaced are "several times steamed" dishes , lost out the so called "fresh from the steam" taste.

However , the "aged egg" porridge is recommendable. has quite an authentic taste.

Other dim sum are difficult to get "fresh" as it may have re-steam few times, this causes the "skin" to be thicker and lost the flavours.

Personal acquired preference on Dim Sum : It has to be 1st time steamed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vinerlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Bland, boring and luke warm...”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We travelled halfway across Penang by scooter to visit this restaurant after reading some good reviews and the restaurant was reasonably busy, mostly with what appeared to be locals so we expected it to be good. This restaurant is different to most dim sum places in that they don't have a trolley service, you have to go up to a counter and point out what you want instead.

The dishes we got were average at best. The steamed dumplings and dim sims were hard, bland, and obviously not that fresh because they just weren't hot. It was still reasonably early too (10:30am) so it shouldn't have been the time of day that was the problem. Perhaps the ladies behind the counter were using the tourists to get rid of the older dishes from behind the counters?

After a death defying ride across Penang I was really hoping for someone better...

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Froggystyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fills a stomach but very average”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

A very busy place but just seems a place to fill the stomach... quality of food is average.

Helpful?
Thank paulksyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Usual Sunday Breakfast”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

one of our favorite place for dim sum for breakfast is this restaurant.

After the Steam Chai Tao Kueh here is the Deep Fried Chao Tao, which is the same ingredient to form the Chai Tao Kueh but this is deep fried to golden color, outside crispy and inside soft, so delicious.

Chee Cheong Fun, shrimp rolling inside Chee Cheong Fun, the sauce is sweet and tasty, not over salty and just right for my taste bud.

My favorite phoenix feet, the color tell that it is definitely nice and it never disappointed me as well, long hour of marinated and cook time making the phoenix feet suck all the juicy sauce to make it rich in flavor.

we visit many time and blog it twice as below.
Farlim
http://tasteiest.blogspot.com/2011/03/maxims-dim-sum-farlim.html

Pekaka
http://tasteiest.blogspot.com/2010/10/maxim-dim-sum-restaurant-at-pekaka.html

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Enqvistlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maxim Dim Sum Restaurant also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
 
Penang Island, Penang
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Maxim Dim Sum Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing