We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well managed and fast service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sri Ananda Bahwan

Sri Ananda Bahwan
Ranked #31 of 881 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Klang, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well managed and fast service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

There are two restaurants on the same street. Initially, I went to the intermediate restaurant and waited for 5 minutes but the staff did not bother to serve so I just walked out to look for another restaurant. As I was walking along the same street, I saw another Sri Ananda Bahwan at the end of the street. I decided to give a try. Their friendly staff and fast service really impressed me.The food were fresh and tasty. The restaurant is well managed and clean. Its a suitable place for everyone for all time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirmmala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    163
    51
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LA, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Vegan-licious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

An incredible selection of Indian food. Really diverse menu, with lots of tasty treats. The menuPlus fresh mango juice for RM3 just can't be beat in George Town!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank blaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT BANANA LEAF RICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Best lunch in Penang at the Banana Leaf (Ristoran Daun Pisang) Sri Ananda Bahwan. Delicious great value meal of curry, rice, dhal, rasam (Indian soup), vegetables and two other sauces, with additional fish/chickenmutton if you so desire. I also had the pleasure of trying a new drink 'sweet lassi' which which was delicious beyond expectation.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyLSavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Paradise for vegetarians in SE-Asia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

After starving for tasty and vegetarian food in Thailand, getting to know the Indian restaurants in Penang was a treat - getting to know Ananda was a dream!
Even though it's kind of a typical Indian 'fast food' place with very basic tables and chairs, their food topped all my expectations with excellently to the point cooked dishes - not a hint less in quality than other, more 'sophisticated' places around there.
Their menue takes a while to read through, regretfully I hadn't had the time try them all; but there was no dish less than excellent, having one or two meals there for 6 consecutive days...
Good to know for vegetarians is that there are 2 Ananda restaurants, app. 50m apart from each other; the one at the corner also serves meat dishes, the other one a bit further to the left is purely vegetarian, and also serves vegan food. Since I could 'tick' only one occasion (from bf to dinner, I chose dinner, but I tried breakfast, lunch, and dinner there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roushanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
663 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Not just a restaurant, this is an experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This isn't just a restaurant, this is an experience!

In the heart of Little India, this restaurant's food is incredible (and very well priced). Instead of plates, they'll spread a banana leaf on the table and put your food right on the leaf. And don't be shy, you dive right in with your hands to eat everything on your leaf.

The environment is very loud and hectic, with servers running around everywhere, but in this context it adds to the experience. Despite being so busy, every server will take a moment to patiently answer your questions and help you out with anything you need.

Highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlnAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sri Ananda Bahwan also viewed

 
George Town, Penang Island
Penang Island, Penang
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Sri Ananda Bahwan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing