We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food and real friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sri Ananda Bahwan

Sri Ananda Bahwan
Ranked #33 of 881 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Utrecht, Nederland
Level Contributor
1 review
“Delicious food and real friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

The recommendations from the friendly staff were great and the food was delicious. Also very nice that they have some tables outside so you can sit amidst the bustling street. We had a terrific night and will definately come back.

Helpful?
Thank Arnout B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    163
    51
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cyberjaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“best vegetarian food!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

There are 2 anandha bahwan restaurants along the same road.; non veg and veg.

I went to the vegetarian restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food was fantabulous!!! they have great selection of veg foods (north indian, south indian and also local foods) and the service was excellent. No complaints there.

Don't miss the "Teh Tarik"..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Devi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
107 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fabulous Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We ate some great food in our week in Penang - but after having both lunch and dinner here, my husband and I agreed that this was our favourite. Exquisite use of spices - nothing too heavy or oily.The breads were light and fluffy, the tandoori was tender.....we could have easily eaten here another 3-4 times and not been bored. The service was attentive and relatively fast both times and prices of course are ridiculously cheap, even when you try and order half the menu like we did. Good clean inside area which is also airconditioned. A must try if you are in Penang and love Indian food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Reached Penang on 7th June night. On our way to Leisure Cove Hotel, we packed our dinner here. This is an Indian Restaurant with all types of Malaysian flavour. Liked the food very much and went to this restaurant for dinner on 8th night too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scdr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The place is clean and cool. There is a great selection of Indian food to choose; from rice, noodles, snacks, roti canai, tosai to desserts. I had the chicken murtabak and it's good. My kids love the mango lassi. On both visits, we had the curry fish. It went well with the rice and the roti canai.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LTHIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sri Ananda Bahwan also viewed

 
George Town, Penang Island
Penang Island, Penang
 

Been to Sri Ananda Bahwan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing