We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Perai
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Overview:
I've been here several times, after the renovation, it become a nice and cozy hotel, room is clean, bathroom clean also, had a major change in decoration, its much brighter now.

Room:
room is clean, decoration is good and cozy,
only the bed that is not so good for my back, too soft.

Food:
Food is good and has lot of variety.

Convenience:
near shopping mall and lot of place for dinner.
taxi stand always available and can book earlier, this is very good.
its not in penang island which make weekend travel a bit costly, especially if you use taxi.

Facility:
no swimming pool, that's all

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ArcTRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

We are delighted to read that your overall stay with us met your expectations and it is always wonderful to hear of guests enjoying our newly refurbished products.

Once again, we thank you for your continuous support and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Business hotel, good shower / bathroom, good beds and clean. Easy to reach from highway.
Service is very good. Could use some more international TV channels like HBO, Super Sport etc.
Near to big shopping mall and plenty of restaurants, pub etc.
Not family hotel as there is no swimming pool. Spa has been closed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johan129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are delighted that you recent stay with us went quite smoothly and that you found the location convenient. Please be assured we are continuously working to improve our facilities and service levels.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in near future.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Good stay at this hotel. Bathroom and sheets were clean. Was locked out of my room on three occasions (stayed for two nights) but the desk staff were quick to replace our key cards. Staff were overall very courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yell0wtulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to learn that you like our room, facilities and services during your entire stay. We have look into the area of concern and all efforts will be made for further improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya in the not too distant future.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

This is the 1st time staying here on the mainland not from the usual bustling Georgetown on Penang island. The hotel is clean, service is good and breakfast variety is ok too. Bed is abut hard but pillow is good and sheet is clean. Internet is good everywhere. TV channel is limited and some reception were poor. I basically had BBC and AXN or celestial movie. No s'pore channel or CNN although it's Astro. Lots of business traveller here as I am don't see any tourist and cos this is a town close to many business around the area.
Good for quick turnaround stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank AIK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Meanwhile, we acknowledge your comments on the bed and TV channels. We will certainly address the poor TV channels issue with our Engineering Department.

Thank you again for your patronage. We look forward to your second visit in the near future.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

great hotel, suitable for business staying. reasonable ok room. easy to find and exit from main highway. located next to one of the biggest shopping mall, lots of shops around which mean plenty of restaurants to try. will i come again...? nah... its quite expensive..i would rather stay in another hotel in Penang island.. which is cheaper..and of course have swimming pool for the children...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohd O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us. At the moment, we are a business class hotel caters mostly for business travellers. However, the management already have planned to build a new swimming pool to cater for leisure travellers in due course.

Your comment is indeed appreciated and we look forward to welcome you back once our facility is ready to serve you better.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

It was a good stay at the hotel. Reached in the night and check in was smooth and fast. My booking details was with them. The room was spacious and clean. Bed was a bit too hard to my liking but still alright. The toilet was clean and medium sized. Only disappointment was the slow internet there. Wifi speeds was below average. Less than 1 mb. Had to use my phone's Internet to get the work done fast. The buffet breakfast was nice and simple. Not many dishes but a good mix of local and western. A few choices of fruit juices. Check out was as good as the check in. Overall, a good hotel to stay and recharge before the next day of work.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank mdineshp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us. Whilst we see that you enjoyed your recent stay, we have noted your feedback on the Wi-Fi speed. Our Wi-Fi Internet speed is base on best available effort. We shall feedback to our vendor for further improvement on the Internet bandwidth.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya in the near future.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Nice, clean and cosy rooms. the room also very spacious.
Free and safe parking provided and the locations was strategic.
Food, lots of variety from western to Eastern style.
The elevator, was a bit small if you had to carry big luggage.
Plus, it was near to shopping mall

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, in particular the food and location. We are delighted that the arrangements extended during your stay with us met your expectations

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya in near future.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perai
0.1 mi away
The Light Hotel Penang
The Light Hotel Penang
#1 of 1 in Seberang Jaya
220 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ixora Hotel
Ixora Hotel
#2 of 4 in Perai
232 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Iconic Hotel Penang
Iconic Hotel Penang
#1 of 8 in Bukit Mertajam
112 reviews
11.8 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,741 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya

Address: 11 Lebuh Tenggiri Dua | Pusat Bandar Seberang Jaya, Perai 13700, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Seberang Perai District > Perai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Perai
Price Range: £31 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya is strategically located at the intersection of the North-South and East-West highways, and conveniently accessible via a 30 minutes drive from the Penang International Airport and Penang Island's main attractions. Situated in the centre of a vibrant hub, the hotel is within close proximity to the fireflies cruise at Nibong Tebal, which is mother nature's own mesmerising light show, St Anne's church, bird park and many other attractions. Within walking distance from the hotel is Sunway Carnival Shopping Complex with over 160 specialty stores, food and beverage outlets, cineplex and an amusement centre. Located on the upper floors of Sunway Carnival is Sunway Carnival Convention Centre. The largest pillar free convention facility on mainland Penang, offers event planners 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, accommodating up to 1,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Hotel Prai
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya Penang/Perai, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing