We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aged Hotel with Some Ticks but Could be Better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Putrajaya Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Putrajaya Marriott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Putrajaya
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Aged Hotel with Some Ticks but Could be Better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Spent 2 nights in this hotel due to work, without reservation. Smooth check-in, very pleasing services from staff but quality of service is extremely inconsistence between every staff. Moments during my check-in, I was convinced that it's the right hotel for me due to how courteous, attentive & efficient the reception staff is.

I had my second thought as soon as I walked into my room. First impression, extremely dated room with full height window overlooking main lobby dome. The wallpaper are peeling off from the wall, there's water stain mark near A/C vent, obviously there's some condensation problem. Worse, I found out that the bathroom door is jammed and can't be shut. Made my request to have my room changed. Within minutes, came the most unapologetic staff making remark that those flaws wouldn't affect my comfort in the room and demonstrated how I can forcefully slam shut the bathroom door if I really wanted it be closed then proceed to asking if I still want to change my room as he has "solved" my problem. After being under the hot sun entire morning, I was too tired to argue and dismissed him, without room changed. Luckily, on the following day, once the reception staff learnt about my room conditions, without any further question, I was rearranged to a better room and got check out hour extended till 3pm, although that room has a broken sliding door that can't be open but it's still a lot better.

Breakfast selection was good although taste & quality wise could better. Again very pleasing staffs from waiting to cooks, making sure I'm happy & comfortable except an incident where I noticed their cubed rice is not fresh but dried and request for some fresh one. They chef did acknowledge that the cubed rice is not fresh but instead of preparing a fresh new one, the cubed rice was just sent into boiling water to soften it again before being served to me.

Personally, I found it's strange that business center is only opened upon request with no one stationed nearby. Luckily, a ring from its nearby phone to concierge, someone came within minutes to give me access into their business center. Once again, very good service from staff but their computer is a little too slow and ancient, it takes good few minutes "starting up" before I can launch a browser to access my cloud documents. On the other hand, laser color printing is extremely reasonably priced for a hotel.

Maybe it was some isolated incidents but these experience really put a stain onto otherwise perfect relaxation between my work at Putrajaya. Maybe they need to get rid some bad apple within before serious damage is done.

Room Tip: Corner room furthest from elevation has balcony Only room higher than 7 floor has good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank v_st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    242
    145
    50
    40
See reviews for
170
89
22
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Beautiful and magnificient. A little faded but still a great place to stay. Lots of restaurants to choose from. The breakfast is fantastic. Great spa. Very attentive staff. Definitely something to experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovebali26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed for 1 night at Marriot on first week of October 2013. Luckily I decided only for 1 night. Although the room is big with king size bed, my husband and I still cannot get a good sleep. The pillows are so thin and flimsy. The bedsheet itches. The room aircond is not so cool although setting was low temp.Not the standard that I expected from Marriot.This hotel should provide religious book only upon request from customer. Not kept in the table drawer. The hallway to the rooms kind of creepy. Breakfast have good variety. Like the smoothie and yogurt section. But dislike the vast display of wines around the restaurant area while having breakfast. Dont have to make it so so obvious. Other hotels do have wines collection but still subtle and discreet display.
I dont think I will choose this hotel on next visit to Putrajaya.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

What a disappointing hotel. The gym was dirty (and staff were rarely there to help with towels, etc.). The pool closed at 7 pm. The restaurants were average (with a rotten grape in one of our desserts). I was put on a smoking floor (the default should be non-smoking for all guests - why should non-smokers have to go to the trouble of getting a non-smoking room?). The service was average - the coffee bar consistently insisted on taking only cash or credit cards and wouldn't let you put your coffee on your room (the front desk confirmed this wasn't right). The driver to the airport (arranged through the hotel) drove well over the speed limit and took curves at a white knuckle rate. The hotel is soulless (with its over the top enormous lobby and few places for guests to gather). It confirmed yet again why I try to avoid Marriott Hotels unless absolutely necessary for a nearby meeting. On the positive side: the shower had great pressure and the bed was comfortable. Sadly, it's one of those hotels I was happy to leave.

Room Tip: Insist on a non-smoking room if you're a non-smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAS-Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I am a Premier Plus Member /Marriot Club member. And so I have stayed here for many occasions and days. This hotel is excellent in every level and I would definitely highly recommend

Rooms
Spacious excellent room with very big king bed that can fit 2 adult and 2 toddlers! Comfortable sofas and nice bathroom with bathtub and shower. Tv with various movies, news (CNN, BBC,Aljazeera), Sports and even cartoon network for kids
I have various occasion asked for pool view and has always got what I want except for a time where there is a full capacity

Restaurants
We always had bfast at the Main Cafe and the choices is just to die for! You can never eat everything (unless you have really big appetite) :-p & have various occasion celebrate family member's birthday during lunch or dinner and the food is delicious and good in varieties. Weekend lunch will usually have a quartet singing from table to table which is a very nice touch. & there's a clown who makes a customised balloon to the kids which is always enjoyable

Pool
The pool is huge! You have choices of the main pool with very refreshing man made waterfall or a big jacuzzi or a kid pool with slide.

Kidsworld
This hotel has the best kids area ever! My 5 & 2 yrs old has always enjoy spending hrs and hrs playing here! Even me & hubby! :-D They have an impressive kid's movie room, adequate kids library, a few playstation booth and a huge main play area with beautiful cartoon deco, slides, toy kitchens & all! Other hotel should make this hotel as an example! & this is the main reason why we keep coming here because we know that me & hubby can relax & rejuvenate while the kids enjoy themselves

Spa
Very nice massage and reasonable price too

Gym
Adequate in size and has all the equipment needed

Conclusion, we have been here not only for weekend breaks but also various luncheon & dinner which makes this place a very comfortable family hotel to spent time in and we might say its our 2nd home :-)


Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

What a fantastic hotel!!!!! Grand in design, magnificent facilities and a buffet to die for. I have just returned to Australia after attending a conference held in this hotel. The staff are of the highest possible quality. Shaun and Rafizan at the front desk, Erma and Nazim in the Zest restaurant and Fitty in the lounge bar were especially good. Pool is fantastic. The only area that was of concern was the distance from KL and the lack of alternative venues around the hotel. But if you want a resort hotel where you can just stay and enjoy true hospitality, the Marriott Putrajaya is the place for you

Room Tip: Smoking floors are available for those of us with the nasty habit
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grantie0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hotel is big but it is really far from the popular shopping malls. The nearest was Alamanda and the hotel taxi charged high rates for even a 10-minute ride. Breakfast was good with juiced fruits and teh tarik. Rooms were spacious but there were no toothbrushes and toothpaste. However, we were most impressed by a kind staff member, Mr Eugene Khoo, who not only answered our queries but even helped to ensure that we were able to get to the various destinations in the most convenient way. Kudos to him for his excellent service - we were really touched by his thoughtfulness and kindness.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PNCPML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Putrajaya
1.9 mi away
Putrajaya Shangri-La
Putrajaya Shangri-La
#1 of 9 in Putrajaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
5.3 mi away
Pullman Putrajaya Lakeside
2.2 mi away
The Everly Putrajaya
The Everly Putrajaya
#3 of 9 in Putrajaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Dorsett Putrajaya
Dorsett Putrajaya
#7 of 9 in Putrajaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cyberview Resort & Spa
Cyberview Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Cyberjaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
14.7 mi away
Sama-Sama Hotel KL International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Putrajaya Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Putrajaya Marriott Hotel

Property: Putrajaya Marriott Hotel
Address: Ioi Resort City | Sepang Utara, Putrajaya 60520, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Putrajaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Putrajaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Putrajaya Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 380 elegant and spacious guestrooms, 73 Executive rooms and 35 exclusive suites. All rooms are regulated by international standards with the Revive(R) Bedding Collection of soft, silky, 300 thread count sheets, custom sheeted duvets, fluffy pillows and extra soft mattresses. All rooms feature a colour television with satellite channels, IDD telephone, Internet access, personal in-room safe, steam iron and ironing board, and bathrooms with a separate bath tub and glass shower cubicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Marriott and Expedia so you can book your Putrajaya Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Putrajaya Hotel Putrajaya
Putrajaya Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing