We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Very well fitted apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marina Court Resort Condominium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very well fitted apartment”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this huge 3 bed flat with view of the bay. The flat was clean, each room was air conditioned, the kitchen big and fully equipped. There was even a washing machine we could use. The block sits very close to the bay full of restaurants and pubs. It's also minutes away from the market and the dock for the islands. Only drawbacks the area is quite noisy because of traffic and pubs, and there is a building in overnight construction just opposite the road (this was during oct 2013)

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cescofry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    95
    46
    12
    14
See reviews for
122
10
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I've read some of the review on Marina Court Resort Condominium written by others and I'm quite surprised that some did not like it like I did! I believed that there are a few agency that provided the hospitality over at Marina Court Resort. The one we made our booking on was www.marinacondos-sabah.com. They provide us with good clean rooms and friendly approach.

10 of us were staying over at Marina Court Resort and were separated into two unit. The one I got was pretty impressive, the moment you step in the unit it's has those hotel room feel, with yellow paint on the wall and yellow curtains.

Basic apartment necessity was provide, cutleries, cups, refrigerator, stoves, washing machines, TV, WiFi, even TOASTER and etc. We were very pleased with the unit as we are going for some sport the next two days and a washing machine really come in very handy.

Rooms and living rooms are all equipped with air-conditioning and water heater are working well for both of our units. Wooded floor for the rooms and tiles for bathroom and living room. House keeping are always on time (around 4-5p.m).

Swimming pool was available and it's kept clean all the times, no leaves or debris in the swimming pool. Although the signs says closes at 9.30p.m but you are still able to swim with the lights off. Children might want supervision as there were no lifeguards.

Location wise is perfect for our experience, as we are only required to travel a short distance to find food and hypermarkets. There's even a clinic that opens 24 hours nearby just WAZE it and you will see. Sunday market are within walking distance.

The only down side was Saturday night, where there's drag race and car show happening near the roundabout just outside the apartment, it did not affect us as we are all tired and slept through it.

We do encounter some problem with the lifts, it was scary because the door was unable to close and the lift sinked slightly twice, but we managed to get out in time. Although we did not exceed the weight limit but i think the lift could not handle the load therefore we had use it separately. Might wanna keep an eye for that.

If you are travelling in groups of 5 or 10. I believe this is the place for you. Some says the it's under maintained but we did not face this problem, I guess it depends on which agency you go to. =)

Room Tip: Block 1 unit 603 was the best among the two unit we've gotten. 603 and 607.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZhengNeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

There was 5 of us in our 3 bedroom apartment and as the accommodation was courtesy of a friend I stayed, enjoyed the company of friends more than the building itself. They would only give us one key to the room and one security pass key which was a real challenge. Our apartment had no knives either, the fridge temperature wasn't adjustable and froze drinks and food. The aircon in my room made enough noise to drown out the external noises other reviewers have commented on. Housekeeping was unpredictable. And as mentioned by other reviews the cleaning was cursory and don't look too close. The carpets worn and the linen tired. The owners of block A2 could well spend a little money on appliances like a toaster, wine glasses, and if the place is to sleep 6 as ours did have cutlery and crockery for 6! Oh yeah you can hire some stuff - it's like a low budget airline...anyway...great location but limited entry and exit points to leave the compound too. This has given me a good insight into this type of accommodation for my future travels.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at the Marina Court Condominiums for 7 days early October and could find little to recommend this place to anyone.

To put things into perspective, we had a 3 bedroom, furnished, 4th floor unit, in the second north side block. It was sea facing, but be advised, sea facing is not sea view. The new building being constructed opposite has taken away all but side glimpses of the sea. Don’t get conned into paying extra for a sea view, you will be disappointed. Perhaps a unit at the back of the block, or lower down, higher up or at another time of year would have eliminated some of the problems we endured, but it is very much a matter of paying your money and getting what you’re given. There is no one to turn to, to eliminate the noise problems as most are outside the means of the unit managements, and I really don’t think anyone is going to take on a hoard of screaming kids and asking them to quiet down.

Perhaps if you have a group of screaming kids this could be the place for you, dump the kids here and book elsewhere for yourselves.

From the moment we checked in we knew we had made a big mistake, and whilst being shown to our unit going though dingy hallways with lots of heavy metal grills on unit fronts, we thought we were in a prison block.

After being shown how the unit worked we were left to our own devises, and first problem to overcome was no hot water. We eventually found switches to turn on the water heater units. Hot water lasts around 5 minutes so showers need to be quick.

The three bedroom unit itself was fine, clean on the surface, but look a little closer and quite dirty and obviously only maintained to minimum standards. Our unit was cleaned (sic) daily, but took all of 5 minutes for a quick tidy up and the replacement of towels. Looking closer at the edges and window sills it has been a long time since our unit had been dusted down properly or had a coat of paint. The bed was comfortable, linen clean. The unit came with kitchen and most requirements for the stay, except for knives, perhaps management only cater for kids and teens after all.

If you are looking for any kind of quality sleep, do not stay here. You won’t get any.

Opposite the units is a very large construction site. The noise from the site comes across 18 hours a day from around 6am, till midnight. The main road outside of the units is a drag strip from around 10pm till 3am and local hoons enjoy speeding up and down as well as doing burnouts. The disco noise from the waterfront establishments permeate the units from about 9pm till 2am or 3am, depending on the day. And just when you think noise could not get any worse, the planes from KK airport inbound and outbound, depending on the wind direction will addle your brain for the rest of the day, but between 6am and 8am there are lots of planes coming and/or going very close overhead. Yes the units are closely in line to the KK airport runway and you will hear the big jets fly.

As if the external noise is not bad enough, the internal noise can be worse, depending on whom your neighbors are. We had 2 units opposite us filled with teenagers, and no supervision. They thought it fun to run up and down the hallway at all hours, kicking a football and ringing our doorbell.

The noise from the pool we overlooked was loud with screaming kids and went on well into the night to around 10pm, before abating.

We could clearly hear every footstep from the unit upstairs, and the slightest scratch from furniture being moved around. This can happen at anytime of the day.

There is a large wide drain running along the north side the units, it stinks and the smell permeates the units at that side of the block.

At one time this would have been an up market and well maintained block of quality condominiums, but not now. The entire place looks and is tired and dirty.

Are there any good points.

Yes, it is close to the waterfront and eating and drinking places, a short walk to a very popular day and night food market, opposite is one of KK’s largest shopping centers and short walking distances to other shopping centers and tourist destination. Taxis are outside the units or across the road at the shopping centre and all taxis know where the units are.

There must be lots of better choices in KK other than the Marina Court Resort Condominiums and my advice is to explore every possible alternative before settling into this place. Even as a last choice it will be a bad choice.

Room Tip: Based on our experience and the noise problem there are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wizardoz1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The fully furnished apartment is spacious with 1 masterbed room and 2 other rooms. There are kitchen with fridge, stove if you want to cook yourself which is a good idea since you can get cheap and fresh seafood from the nearby wet market. There is also spacious living room with couches and tv set. There is also swimming pool available within the block.

Room Tip: Book online to get discounted price and indicate that you want at unit that have easy access to swim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moraz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My girlfriend and I loved this place. In block A we rented a room(one of four) really quite cheap at 950RM a month with all utilities paid and we had a washing machine. It came with two pools one in our block and another in block C that also had a gym. 950RM works out to be almost half price to dormitory styled backpacking in KK. Not to mention you are in the centre of town, one block over fron the main city bus station and a stones throw away from the coast line

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurtislorite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Ours was a 3-bedroom appartment managed by mr. Donald who was very helpful and friendly. Furniture is old, wifi not so good. Bad maintenance inside the appartment (e.g. attachment for showerhose broken, window latch broken), not so very clean but doable. No knives or glasses available in the appartment we rented. If we would have asked mr. Donald, he probably would have supplied us, we didn't bother. The location is good and a low price considering the fact that the appartment is spacious. My kids enjoyed the swimming pool. Plenty of restaurants and shops close by.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.1 mi away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#16 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Court Resort Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Court Resort Condominium

Property: Marina Court Resort Condominium
Address: Jalan Api-Api | Block B1-808, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marina Court Resort Condominium 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina-Homestay offers holiday condos run by Samajaya Borneo Sdn. Bhd. Each Condo have 3 bedrooms, living room, kitchen, 2 bathrooms and balcony. There are two swimming pools, gym and a squash court. Marina Court is located in the centre of Kota Kinabalu very close to all the waterfront restaurants, bars and cafes. The airport is only about 15 mins away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Court Resort Condominium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Court Resort Condominium Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing