We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but could be so much better...”
Review of Borneo BeacHouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Borneo BeacHouse
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here for one night because we wanted to spend a night closer to the beach and the amazing food hall at Tanjung Aru. The hostel is a one minute walk from the beach and a one minute drive to the airport. It takes about 20 minutes to drive there from KK city centre.

I feel like this place had a lot of potential but the owners just didn't want to bother with putting in any time/cash. The price of 60RM for a fan room with no breakfast is not really good considering the value for money you receive in the city. It's especially poor when there are no outlets in the area serving breakfast!

The rooms were simple, a good size and clean enough but were in need of some TLC. The wooden floor tiles stuck to our feet and came out of the floor everytime we stepped on them, to the point that we had to put a blanket down and walk around on it to avoid dislodging them all the time! Our sheet also had an enormous hole in it, as did our pillow cases. We went down and asked for another sheet which they gave us, but it also had holes in it!

The pathway out to the rooms is covered in long grass and there are a number of old matresses stacked around the entrance to the building where rooms are - not really a good first impression. There was an airy common room upstairs that was pretty nice to sit in, which is one of the only nice things I can say about this place.

My biggest complaint about this hostel is the bathroom. It was a standard combined shower/toilet but it was poorly maintained. The shower was hardly a trickle and there was absolutely no where to hang your towel or clothes (I had to hang mine on the door knob). There was also no toilet paper in the bathroom during my stay.

It's a shame because the hostel is in a great spot and has a lot of potential to be a nice place with just a little bit of attention to detail. My advice would be to stay in KK and just do a day trip out to Tanjung Aru.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sezbo_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Not the best but not the worst. Reminded me of an empty college fraternity (maybe we just visited when not many people were touring around the area). Lots of empty beer can towers, stupid signs with lame jokes that 17 year old boys would find funny. I'm sure it can be busy and fun if you want the party atmosphere at times, but if you're backpacking to see Kota Kinabalu, then stay in town. It's only near the one beach, which is decent but not post-card perfect, and it's not near the central area of town. It's walking distance to the airport which is why we stayed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I only stay for one night in Borneo Beachhouse. It was a Saturday, We were heading to Tanjung Aru for some beach scene and saw this little house. Went in and ask for price. RM70 for a private room (shared toilet,shared kitchen) is worthy for the location. walking distance to the beach.

There are few cute cats staying there too. It make the place even cosy. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Con: Bed sheet is not too clean, towel is clean but look old.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loisloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

The owner made me feel at home. The place is really quiet and safe. It is also good for those who are in transit or just need a bed after a night flight as it is walking distance from the airport (KKIA terminal 2). There are many food options 5 minutes from the property. The room is quite clean but a bit dusty. The aircon worked well. Laundry is cheap. Most importantly, the service is great. For those who love the sound of planes taking off and landing, this is the place to be. Lastly,Tanjung Aru Beach is the best place to catch the sunset.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHAIFULLAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The hostel is located very nice, close to the beach and the airport with many food options. The staff is very helpful. Beds and sheets are well used but clean.

Its a nice place to relax, hang out and you meet other travelers.

Room Tip: The fans in the fan rooms are not really great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andreas478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

the location is near the airport. about 5-10 minutes walk. the "free" beach is also near about 3-5 minutes walk. rooms were fine. some have their own comfort room, if not, there are public comfort rooms available. which are clean! there is a public kitchen where you can cook your own food. the kitchen is complete with toaster, ref, microwave oven, stove, utensils and etc. they also have billiard tables and t.v. the staff were SO FABULOUS!!!...they are so accommodating, friendly and always smiling ^____^our vacation in kota kinabalu had been such a great experience because we stayed here. kudos to RICKY, Richie, Three and Nick. Those were the staff that we will never forget because of their kindness and making us feel like we are part of heir family...Borneo Beach House would make you feel like you were at home.relax.comfortable.contented and happy. you guys rock!!! highly recommended. we'll definitely go back here.

Room Tip: the room depends on the number of people travelling. but make your reservation ahead of time since b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JekriJekuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

the staff are friendly...special mention to Rckey and Nick..thank you guys for being nice to us and being our new friends..we will definitely be back there and still stay in your beach house again...we'll miss you..

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank abs10_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
12.2 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
13.3 mi away
Borneo Beach Villas
Borneo Beach Villas
#15 of 109 in Kota Kinabalu
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
728 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo BeacHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo BeacHouse

Address: House No 122 Lorong Ikan Lais | Jalan Mat Salleh, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £21 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our newly converted bungalow beachouse for sunny-loving backpackers. Take pleasure in our sole exclusive beachouse (friendly, tranquil and hassle-free ambiance) offering an ideal holiday home for fun-loving leisure seekers and busy executives with beautiful eco nature environment. Simply unwind, let your hair down, kickback, chill-out and delight our beachousevista. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Borneo BeacHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing