We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night wasn't enough...”
Review of Borneo BeacHouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Borneo BeacHouse
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“One night wasn't enough...”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We booked one night here as we were flying back into KK and then out again the next day. Although the beach isn't amazing it is very close and the local food on the beach is cheap and tasty. It is only Rm 1 on the bus into KK city and having stayed in the city I would definitely recommend staying here and taking the bus in. You would never believe that the airport is a 5 minute walk away, it is peaceful and relaxing. The kitchen could do with a bit of bleach but overall the place is clean and what you expect from a back packer place. The guys who run the place are laid back, friendly and helpful and the beer in the fridge is cheap at Rm 12 for four cans! THe communal areas were a big swing for us, after a week being at one with nature across Sabah we sat back on the comfy chair and watched the news :-) Would definitely head here again if we were flying into KK.
But do take mosquito coils - we were feasted on in the night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarkes_in_asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    17
    21
    6
    9
See reviews for
5
20
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moreton Bay Region, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I checked and they wanted to see my email booking even though my name is written in their book.

Then they short change me 2rm and hope i dont notice and say they dont have change. So i to mAke my own change by walking 10 minutes down the road.

I tell them i am checking out early and not to bother giving me a key because i will be leaving too early to get the deposit back.

Then the insist that they will be up at 5.00am and for me to knock on the door. They tell me it is 30rm deposit but their sign says only 20rm. They say the gate is locked and they will open it for me at 5.00am. They do not give me a receipt until i ask for it. It is signed nic.

After i checked in earlier they purposely locked my door behind me so i couldn't get in and would do the key deposit thing.

At 5.00am i knock on the door and they do not answer and then i knock again. There are some other people there too who say that the staff is usually there.

The toilet bowl i think has never been cleaned. I have never seen such a brown toilet bowl. I dont think it could even be cleaned back to its original state. The bed was ok and the fan worked.

But dont stay here. Better to stay down in kk even if you have an early flight out. Nic just wants to pocket your money.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twobigfeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A convenient hostel for the nearby beach and airport, run by friendly staff. The rooms are adequate but cleanliness of the communal areas left a bit to be desired...a line of ants in the bathroom and the kitchen wasn't so inviting!

Beds and rooms are basic but comfortable, the building is set back from the road so not noisy, and tours can be booked through reception. The staff had messed up our booking for a room with fan but cheerfully got us an air con one for the same price which was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Its more like a house that a hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are pretty big and super comfortable. We arrived very late but there staff was still up waiting for us. Our room was clean and big. The beds we very comfy. We had a fan room and that was all we needed it didn't get too hot in there. They also have a van to that took us to the airport and is was cheaper that the airport taxis.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SparklesSparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou
Level Contributor
66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The only reason I chose this hotel is we didn't want to sleep in KK airport when we arrived midnight. It's only a 10 minute's easy walk from Terminal 2. Maybe the other reason choosing it is an early departure, because we saw a couple of Taiwanese were leaving when we arrive at 4 AM.
It looks like a local house transformed hotel, as both of its buildings have a big living space, and most rooms aren't equipped with private bathrooms. Public living space looks neat but cushions are rather dirty.
They don't serve meals. The beach is 3 minute's walk away and has a few food stalls that caters to night life seekers only. No breakfast is served in and around. So, better pack you own breakfast before arrival if you don't want to skip it the next morning.
Another drawback: hotels in this area tend to be noisy.

Room Tip: rooms at the back building tend to have fewer guests, with better availability of the shared bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qing0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Borneo BeacHouse. It was close to the beach and relaxing - just what we wanted. The bathrooms aren't the best, but we didn't seem to mind at all. We stayed in a room without AC, which was fine. It was surprisingly cool at night. The best thing about this hostel is (hands down) the staff. Nic, Daus, Justine were all beyond incredible and will go out of their way to help you out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateLehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I expected this to be rough from other posters' reviews. I didn't know how rough though. The walls were falling down and leaking, the AC barely worked, the bathrooms were prison like and had no lights. When we checked in someone had urinated all over one of the bathrooms and it was not cleaned up until the next morning. The only saving grace was the kind staff who helped us out with our trip planning. We stayed here because it's so close to the airport and we were coming in late. It's really unnecessary though - KK is not a large town and the airport can be reached from Gaya Street (hostel central) in about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohmystars28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.6 mi away
Megah D'Aru Hotel
Megah D'Aru Hotel
#33 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Borneo Hotel
The Crown Borneo Hotel
#71 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel
Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel
#42 of 77 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Goldenhill Hotel
Goldenhill Hotel
#10 of 77 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.5 mi away
C'haya Hotel
C'haya Hotel
#3 of 77 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hin Loi Guesthouse
Hin Loi Guesthouse
#52 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo BeacHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo BeacHouse

Property: Borneo BeacHouse
Address: House No 122 Lorong Ikan Lais | Jalan Mat Salleh, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 99 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our newly converted bungalow beachouse for sunny-loving backpackers. Take pleasure in our sole exclusive beachouse (friendly, tranquil and hassle-free ambiance) offering an ideal holiday home for fun-loving leisure seekers and busy executives with beautiful eco nature environment. Simply unwind, let your hair down, kickback, chill-out and delight our beachousevista. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Borneo BeacHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing