We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, Clean, Friendly & helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Imperial Boutec Hotel
Ranked #63 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
kl
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Convenient, Clean, Friendly & helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2008

I stayed in this hotel in May 2008 with my wife it was so good we came back again a few days later. I paid RM125 (US$40)per room per night for the courtyard rooms (that means rooms without a view - or cheapest rooms available). Breakfast not included (the hotel doesnt serve breakfast).

ROOM
Rooms are small but enough for two people. The room had contemporary design with timber flooring. I prefer this to carpets as they do not clean carpets in hotels. The room was very clean and well maintained. I had a feeling this hotel was very new.

SERVICES
The basic requirements were there including LCD TV with 9 channels (RTM1, RTM2, TV3, NTV7, TV9, ESPN, DISC, CNN, STARMOVIE). Electric Kettle with complimentary coffee and Sabah tea. Hairdryer. Room safe. Complimentary bottled water. The only thing missing was a mini-bar and bedroom slippers. There is no gym or swimming pool so you arent paying for what you dont use.

BATHROOM
Small but nicely fitted with a shower (no tub). Shower was a modern standalone unit with built in pump to get good water pressure. It also had additional features like water jet sprays, etc. The bathroom was also fitted with a ventilation fan to suck out smells from the bathroom (in case there was any) and it comes on automatically when you switch on the light. Very clean.

AIRCOND
Instead of a centralised air-conditioning system like most hotels have, this had an individual unit which means tempreture control is fully in your hands. The aircond was cool and comfortable.

*Note : I travelled with 8 other friends and one of them had complained that water was dripping from their air cond unit (thats the only complain we had in the group).

STAFF AND SERVICE
Staff were friendly and efficient (even though we didnt tip - I am a Malaysian and we dont practice tipping). We needed extra bottles of complimentary water and it was delivered to our room.

LOCATION
The hotel is on the 7th Floor (yes thats right - just one floor) of the Warisan Square complex in Kota Kinabalu Sabah. This was a convenient location as the Ground and first floors were occupied by shops. The 2nd to 6th floors were car parks (although we could not hear any cars from our hotel). The 8th to 10th floors (i think) belongs to another hotel, Imperial. This hotel we heard belongs to the same owner but has larger rooms and is more expensive starting at US$53 (RM170). Service is said to be comparable.

The location makes it easy to find food (downstairs at the ground floor) and do some shopping across the road at Centre Point. Besides, that, the location is right in the centre of the Kota Kinabalu town making it easy to walk around or hop on a taxi.

  • Liked — Clean, helpful staff, good location.
  • Disliked — There was no mini bar.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MalaysianAged28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    110
    67
    25
    10
See reviews for
12
28
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2008

We found this hotel through it's website, which has lots of mistakes, but the pictures looked nice so we decided to give it the beneifit of the doubt.

The location was good and the hotel was clean and modern. The staff were helpful and friendly. However, I found it such a shame that the hotel did not seem to be finished properly. They cut corners with painting and fittings. The hotel had not been open long and the taps are loose, the bathroom doors did not close properly and there were chips in the woodwork. It is a shame as the hotel has such potential but is already starting to look shabby.

Overall by experience was good as it was clean and cheap.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank nelly-matilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2008

It was recommended by our travel agent. At first, we intend to stay at Sutera Harbour Hotel. However, there are no rooms available at that moment.

At first we were a bit sceptical about this hotel, but it turns out to be a pleasant stay for us. It's located in a commercial centre in a prime area. You can shop till you drop without worrying getting a taxi back to your hotel. It's within a short stroll to the Waterfront and best of all is one could easily find food - Italian, Chinese, Indian etc... I missed the yogurt ice-cream served in one of the outlets... yummy...

The room is small but clean and was decorated in a comtemporary style. There is no coffee making facilities in the room but there is a cafe located near the reception counter. The staff are friendly and helpful.

The only down side is the hotel has a Japanese garden at the corridor. Because of that, it is a bit noisy when there are kids running about in the garden

Nevertheless, it's worth a stay - good choice for those who are looking for a budget stay, with clean rooms, good location.

  • Liked — The room is clean, near to shopping complexes, easy access
  • Disliked — Noisy
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travfan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morroco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2008

I stayed in this hotel when my fiancee suggested to me.. Overall this hotel was really great and i had spend great time here..Furnish with modern style,its make me really comfortable..
Plus its also furnish with flat plasma tv and the visual really clear not like others hotel that i have been stayed before..So i enjoy watch local and satellite channel..Wasn't its great??Other features that i like about my room is its bio-tech bathroom with jacuzzi standing shower amenities....

Besides,radius international is connected with Warisan Square shopping complex..I believe this places is paradise for someone that like brand outfits..Such as shoes from vincci,sembonia,calvin & keith and etc..Outfits from padinni,allen joans,soda and etc..Me and fiancee had spend good time shopping over there..

Warisan square also offer bunch of places for dine..Start from local restaurants,chiniese cuisine to western dishes..Popular restaurant such as Secret receipes,Galeto and somes italian restaurant...If wanna try something more speacial,why dont go to seafood restaurant that just 5-10 minutes walk from warisan square..

I really love this hotel..Not just its concept and strategic location but also hospitality that being show by theirs staff..They are really friendly and helpful..And all of staff is being trains with well manner..The most things that i like about them is when i wanna checked in and checked out..Theirs staff have help us carried our's bag until in room and also when we checked out,once again their carried our's bag until in taxi..Even they also have arangged and call taxi for us without any extra charges..When we just stepped out from hotel,taxi already waited for us..Wasn't is marvelous???

You should experiences what i had experiences......

  • Liked — Location,staff and room concept..
  • Disliked — None..
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gentleman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Celyn City Hotel
Celyn City Hotel
#49 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
D'Borneo Hotel
D'Borneo Hotel
#54 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.5 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#32 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Deleeton
Hotel Deleeton
#37 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Boutec Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Boutec Hotel

Property: Imperial Boutec Hotel
Address: 7th Floor Jalan Puri Warisan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Boutec Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Boutec Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Boutec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing