We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but not "International"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial International Hotel
Ranked #50 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great Location but not "International"”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Walk in to the hotel for 1 night stay. Looked great from outside. Check in was okay. Went up to the floor , and you can smell musty smell from the carpet. Room was modern at the first look, but then I realized there are a lot of maintenance work to be done not only the room, but the whole hotel. Room cushion was peeling off, mirror with stains, hairs on bathroom floor. bed sheet was stained as well. Not much of TV channels - plus blurry reception.The type of room that I stayed was a Court room - with inside view - which means outside room window you could only see a banquet walking hall. Since me and my wife were staying for 1 night, so we didn't bother to change our room. No ashtray in room can be found even though it is a smoking room. Bathroom not much amenities, but luckily we brought our own. Overall not so good experience, and better stay else where.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond-KIpoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    107
    53
    18
    6
See reviews for
9
21
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

The hotel is centrally located, close to shops and restaurants. However, it is shabby despite being renovated recently. The floor tiles are chipped. The seat of the chair is peeling. The material used for the bathroom is of poor quality and cannot withstand the moisture in the bathroom. The toilet bowl is chipped.The rack which holds the soap in the shower cubicle has dropped off. It is a pity because the hotel room is clean and the sevice is ok.

Room Tip: For a central location, you should try Hotel Eden instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Contact12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

LOCATION: This is the biggest selling point of Imperial International Hotel. It is located at city center, near waterfront, Filipino Market and shops.

ROOM: Room is big. Unfortunately, lighting is poor. Wifi is not available inside the room; instead, cable connection is required. This can present a problem to smartphone and iPad users.

SERVICE: I can't say much about service, as I only stayed one night here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank khengsiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

There is no parking space for taxi or anyone to pick/drop you. Room service done but they didn't leave any towels behind. We had to call them.

Location is good. That's all.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrylowyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

There are much better hotels for the value in KK. My first night we had a power cut which is normal in KK. Lifts not working so asked the staff how long, no idea, so I asked where the stairs were, very little help and she looked annoyed I was not waiting like the rest. Took the fire escape up and it is full of rubbish building work and very dangerous. Room ok but would not stay again as service is very bad. This is a very odd hotel to say the least.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaheath80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2011

I booked a hotel room for my mom, who is nearly 60 years old. She loves the room as this hotel is surrounded by malls, cafes and shops. The staffs are friendly and nice to her. I need to point out that my mum does not know English, so, they manage to communicate with her well in dialect. In this case, I should give out merit points to the staffs.

Shopping Tip : walking distance to Gaya street, jetty, night market, malls with a few international brands, authentic foods and cafes.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannieOshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Checked into this hotel for 4 nights stay in March 2011 and the location is great and is within stone throw distance to everything. Across the road is the water-front centre with few f&b outlets and pub lounge, slightly further on the right is the local fruits market, wet market and philipino market (pasar malam) and you could find all kind of grill seafood and local delicacy. Walk further to the right (15-20 minutes) you could reached Jesselton Point where you could go for island hopping.
I stayed in a sea view deluxe room and the view is fabulous, however the room is just average and the room service is below average. I've checked in the hotel rooms with few light bulbs faulty and it was not changed until we checked out even i've complained to front counter on the 1st day we checked in. During our 4 night stay, 2 days our room was not make up and we have to call housekeeping to clean our room after a whole day outing.
The breakfast is terrible but it's not a problem since you could simply walk down to a nearby stall.
In general, the location is fantastic but don't expect much on the room and service so your stay will be a pleasant one.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ng_angie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
3.3 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
313 reviews
3.3 mi away
Celyn City Hotel
Celyn City Hotel
#51 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
63 reviews
4.2 mi away
Eminent Hotel
Eminent Hotel
#30 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
D'Borneo Hotel
D'Borneo Hotel
#58 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
54 reviews
1.8 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Puri36
#63 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1 reviews
3.1 mi away
A & J Budget Hotel
A & J Budget Hotel
#84 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial International Hotel

Property: Imperial International Hotel
Address: Ground Floor, Block D Warisan Square | alan Tun Fuad Stephens, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Imperial International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial International Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Imperial International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing