We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Nearby Hotels
US$344
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grandis(Kota Kinabalu)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Horizon Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$381
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Klagan Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sixty3(Kota Kinabalu)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveller rating
93
183
123
45
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
183
123
45
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar pricepower showerunder one rooflargest mallcomfortable bedother hotelscomfortable stayhypermalltoiletriesdryer
Filter
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 471 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I reckon if you have low expectations of this hotel, then your stay should be fine.
You do get what you paid for (in my case under $10! twas on special) towels, toiletries, wifi, tv and aircon will cost extra. No kettle or even a window in my case. Fairly clean but not the cleanest. Big selling points was the comfy bed, shower and friendly reception staff.

I would also recommend getting airconditioning because not alot of us can get a proper
rest let alone sleep without proper ventilation and cooling (also helps lessen the humidity). You will be sharing the lifts with other mall patrons. Speaking of malls,
1Borneo is a big plus if you are staying here. Again, you get what you paid for, and remember not to pay alot more :)

Room Tip: as above
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bondeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

When we travel,we usually stay in tune hotels wherever there is one because aside from the affordable price the bed is really a five star and clean.But we were really disappointed with this one,we hardly slept coz the bass of the music from downstairs will vibrate through one's brain.Cockroach are everywhere .Exit stairs are full of cigarette butts.Though the reception is helpful but we really hope that the management can check on this matter.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BorisCebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Hi There,

Thank you for completing a TripAdvisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

We are disappointed to read about your experience and apologize that we fell short of your expectations.

From your feedback, Cleanliness is one of our crucial focus points in our service culture and we regret that it did not meet the standards. This feedback has been channeled to the relevant team for improvements.

This however does not happen often and we have always endeavored to provide the best within our limited service concept.

I am unable to completely identify on how we were not able to assist you with a room change. It has always been our priority to exercise relevant corrective measures at any given situation, including the ones which you have highlighted.

Perhaps you may log on to our website, select help and info, followed by contact and lastly select inquiry and drop us your booking details and also details of the incident and we will have them investigated.

In any case we apologize sincerely for this unpleasantness marring your stay - thank you once again for highlighting the matter to us for our action.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

It was my first trip to KK so I had no idea where to book a hotel. As I previously have stayed at KL, LCCT and two of the Bali's Tune hotels, i expect the quality will be the same. But the KK one is way below average especially the toilet. It was not really clean especially around the shower area.

The bed was alright, but there were noises from nearby karaoke/bar that can be heard to the room. My room was on the second floor.

Location wise is also a bit far from downtown, but the free shuttle from the adjacent mall comes in handy. Make sure you use that facility instead of taking a cab, but do register early cos only 20 seats available on each trip.

I got a good deal on my two night stay at RM30 each night so I cant complain. But if they charge a higher price then you better find another hotel in downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike_Jkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2011

Hi There,

Thank you for your review of Tune Hotels 1 Borneo, Kota Kinabalu.

There is a free shuttle service offered by the mall as early as 9.00am to 9.00pm to the city center that departs every half hour daily. Am sure this would complement any guest stay, who are also planning a trip to major sightseeing location such as, Kota Kinabalu eco-attractions, including Kinabalu Park - World Heritage Site and home of Mount Kinabalu, South-East Asia’s highest peak.

It is always interesting to read of guest taking advantage of early bookings and securing lower and better room rates. This is essentially how anyone could secure great deals and also is my advice to look out for promotions for added savings.

Thank you for tuning in.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Before arrival i was expecting the room & toilet is clean and excellent. I was always thinking tune hotel is a budget hotel with a clean room. However i was very dissapointed with the toilet,shower area floor & wall was yellowish and toilet seat not really clean. Room skirting was tear buy still tolerable compare to the toilet condition. Hope management will look into this. Date of stay 25 january 2011, room 207

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shinesilver_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2011

Hi There,

Thank you for completing a TA Review on your recent visit.

I am sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations during your holiday and I appreciate your feedback, which will enable us to review our service standards.

Your feedback on the cleanliness, as with the dirty toilet wall and floor has been channelled to the hotel team for improvements, and certainly these areas are kept in perspective during the routine housekeeping schedule.

If this had slipped into the cracks, please inform the front desk, allowing them to remedy this situation immediately.

Cleanliness has always been one of our priorities and something we do not compromise.

Thank you for your input.

In any case we apologize sincerely for this unpleasantness marring your stay - thank you once again for highlighting the matter to us for our action.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Dun think that its a budget hotel, think that its a good place to stay and can save your money on other tourist attactions.^^
Enjoy my staying there!
Location is a bit far from the city but they have free shuttle provide by 1 borneo hypermall which saved many of our money.^^

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarryGanWeiLer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews