We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 26 July 2011

You pay for what you use: air-con, towels, TV, wifi, etc. But the beds are comfortable and the shower wonderful. The room was small, and there is no place to put your suitcase. Three hangers on hooks--no closet. But cheap. I stayed 4 nights for the cost of one night at the hotel where my conference was. A shopping center (1 Borneo) is near by...but isn't open until about 11 a.m. and closes at 9:30 p.m., so that didn't help with meals. And, it's far from downtown Kota Kinabalu. But it was a good, cheap stay with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommytompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Hi There,

Thank you for the appraisal on our hotel and staff.

Our pay as you use model, invariably allows the advantage of affordable room rates, even more for the ones that book early.

Travel time to KK city would take about 20 minutes and you could actually take a free shuttle from 1 Borneo Hypermall. It's a faster and convenient.

Once again, thanks for this review, It's a pleasure to welcome you always.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stayed at Tune Hotel 2 years ago when it first opened, and everything went so well that we decided to come back for another stay this year. What a bad mistake that was! Unlike 2 years ago when things actually worked, Tune hotel today is practically falling apart at the seams. Where shall I begin? During our 4 nights' stay (waaaay too long!), we:

1) changed room twice -- the first time when the side of the room next to the window was practically flooded by rainwater (due to a bad thunderstorm the night before); the second time because the aircond in our new room gave shrill beeps in the middle of the night, thus waking us both continuously--this problem unfortunately continued in the 3rd room we stayed in, but we were too tired to move anymore
2) In all the rooms we've been in, the safe boxes didn't work, due apparently to spare parts from China (which the reception said they were still waiting for)
3) Side table lamps didn't work in two rooms
4) In all the rooms we've been in, the LCD panel next to the door didn't show the required info (aircond hours left, etc); they were broken too
5) The fan cannot be controlled in the last room we stayed in -- it was rotating so wildly we thought it'll fall on our heads!
6) Traces of blood (probably from crushed mosquitos but it's a guess) and marks on the wall, which made the room look disgusting and dirty
7) Ants in the rooms -- don't keep any drinks or food in your room, or keep them in ziplock bags
8) If you're driving to KK, don't bother to stay at Tune cos the parking there is non-existent for Tune guests, and you've to pay a minimum of RM6 to park in 1 Borneo per day (more if you take the car in and out in one day, as they charge RM 6 per entry, not per day)
9) Last but not least, Tune hotel does NOT enforce a NON-SMOKING POLICY in their premises. We often smelt stale cigarette smoke in the corridors. What's worse is that the last two nights in our room, WE WERE WOKEN UP BY THE STRONG SMELL OF CIGARETTE SMOKE COMING IN THROUGH OUR AIR-COND VENTS IN THE EARLY MORNING! We complained to the front desk and they found the culprit smoking in the ROOM OPPOSITE OURS! Obviously, our airconds shared the same ventilation.

The only salvation of this place was that the reception staff handled our complaints and frustration as efficiently as they could. They were polite and sincerely tried to help, but the situation was beyond their control. Really, it's the upper management of Tune Hotel who should be taken to task for not maintaining the rooms and for not enforcing a strict non-smoking policy indoors.

This is the last time we stay in Tune Hotel KK. Even if it's dirt-cheap, it's not worth the amount of aggravation and frustration we experienced. There're B&Bs in KK with far better value (cleaner and smoke-free too) than Tune hotel. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

Room Tip: Don't stay there! Run fast, run far!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sayang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Hi Tuner,

I could see how these issues were an inconvenience to your stay.

The front-desk had done the best at capacity by relocating different rooms each time a complaint was received.

it's not the best approach I agree, but action had been taken to mend the damaged fixtures in some of the rooms. I assure you that, all of our hotels are non smoking territory. However, I could imagine how some guests are inconsiderate by choosing to literally ignore them, thus inconveniencing others. Being a limited service hotel, we provide only the basics; bed and shower. Parking is not a service extension by Tune Hotels 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu and we have no control over the parking fees as it is directly under 1Borneo’s management.

Rooms are also given a new paint job, and I trust any future stays would be a much pleasant one.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

We hope to see you soon

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I reckon if you have low expectations of this hotel, then your stay should be fine.
You do get what you paid for (in my case under $10! twas on special) towels, toiletries, wifi, tv and aircon will cost extra. No kettle or even a window in my case. Fairly clean but not the cleanest. Big selling points was the comfy bed, shower and friendly reception staff.

I would also recommend getting airconditioning because not alot of us can get a proper
rest let alone sleep without proper ventilation and cooling (also helps lessen the humidity). You will be sharing the lifts with other mall patrons. Speaking of malls,
1Borneo is a big plus if you are staying here. Again, you get what you paid for, and remember not to pay alot more :)

Room Tip: as above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bondeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

When we travel,we usually stay in tune hotels wherever there is one because aside from the affordable price the bed is really a five star and clean.But we were really disappointed with this one,we hardly slept coz the bass of the music from downstairs will vibrate through one's brain.Cockroach are everywhere .Exit stairs are full of cigarette butts.Though the reception is helpful but we really hope that the management can check on this matter.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BorisCebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Hi There,

Thank you for completing a TripAdvisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

We are disappointed to read about your experience and apologize that we fell short of your expectations.

From your feedback, Cleanliness is one of our crucial focus points in our service culture and we regret that it did not meet the standards. This feedback has been channeled to the relevant team for improvements.

This however does not happen often and we have always endeavored to provide the best within our limited service concept.

I am unable to completely identify on how we were not able to assist you with a room change. It has always been our priority to exercise relevant corrective measures at any given situation, including the ones which you have highlighted.

Perhaps you may log on to our website, select help and info, followed by contact and lastly select inquiry and drop us your booking details and also details of the incident and we will have them investigated.

In any case we apologize sincerely for this unpleasantness marring your stay - thank you once again for highlighting the matter to us for our action.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

It was my first trip to KK so I had no idea where to book a hotel. As I previously have stayed at KL, LCCT and two of the Bali's Tune hotels, i expect the quality will be the same. But the KK one is way below average especially the toilet. It was not really clean especially around the shower area.

The bed was alright, but there were noises from nearby karaoke/bar that can be heard to the room. My room was on the second floor.

Location wise is also a bit far from downtown, but the free shuttle from the adjacent mall comes in handy. Make sure you use that facility instead of taking a cab, but do register early cos only 20 seats available on each trip.

I got a good deal on my two night stay at RM30 each night so I cant complain. But if they charge a higher price then you better find another hotel in downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike_Jkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2011

Hi There,

Thank you for your review of Tune Hotels 1 Borneo, Kota Kinabalu.

There is a free shuttle service offered by the mall as early as 9.00am to 9.00pm to the city center that departs every half hour daily. Am sure this would complement any guest stay, who are also planning a trip to major sightseeing location such as, Kota Kinabalu eco-attractions, including Kinabalu Park - World Heritage Site and home of Mount Kinabalu, South-East Asia’s highest peak.

It is always interesting to read of guest taking advantage of early bookings and securing lower and better room rates. This is essentially how anyone could secure great deals and also is my advice to look out for promotions for added savings.

Thank you for tuning in.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Before arrival i was expecting the room & toilet is clean and excellent. I was always thinking tune hotel is a budget hotel with a clean room. However i was very dissapointed with the toilet,shower area floor & wall was yellowish and toilet seat not really clean. Room skirting was tear buy still tolerable compare to the toilet condition. Hope management will look into this. Date of stay 25 january 2011, room 207

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shinesilver_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2011

Hi There,

Thank you for completing a TA Review on your recent visit.

I am sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations during your holiday and I appreciate your feedback, which will enable us to review our service standards.

Your feedback on the cleanliness, as with the dirty toilet wall and floor has been channelled to the hotel team for improvements, and certainly these areas are kept in perspective during the routine housekeeping schedule.

If this had slipped into the cracks, please inform the front desk, allowing them to remedy this situation immediately.

Cleanliness has always been one of our priorities and something we do not compromise.

Thank you for your input.

In any case we apologize sincerely for this unpleasantness marring your stay - thank you once again for highlighting the matter to us for our action.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Dun think that its a budget hotel, think that its a good place to stay and can save your money on other tourist attactions.^^
Enjoy my staying there!
Location is a bit far from the city but they have free shuttle provide by 1 borneo hypermall which saved many of our money.^^

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarryGanWeiLer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#64 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
365 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Crown Borneo Hotel
The Crown Borneo Hotel
#72 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
146 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Eminent Hotel
Eminent Hotel
#26 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
41 reviews
5.2 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#49 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
20 reviews
5.2 mi away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#27 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Address: Jalan Sulaman | G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £14 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing