We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Tune hotel, great bed and shower, LONG way from centre but with free shuttle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I cannot believe the reviews that say "Worst hotel i have ever stayed at", these are usually done by people who have not got their own way, or maybe one of the staff made a mistake. Tune KK is just a good cheap place where you will have no problems. I booked it 6 months ago, and the price was 25 Ringitts, but you can have a single room as low as 5 Ringits during sales booked well in advance. Even the walk in price is cheap, if you stay more than 2 days , it is best to buy the Towel/Shampoo package. All the rooms have a HUGE fans, no need for aircon !

It is important to understand that this hotel (unlike other Tunes i have stayed at) is 8-10 km from the centre of KK, 30 minutes, but there is a free shuttle bus that runs hourly in each direction.
I liked the novelty of staying in a hotel that was part of a shopping mall ! The entrance IS strange yes, but hardly worth mentioning really. Maybe there were some cracks, even ants, this is Borneo ! The most important things about a hotel, Tune provided, and did them well. Everything worked, reception good and helpful. Rooms cleaned daily.
Not a lot to say really,summing it up - NO PROBLEMS , long way from centre but with shuttle bus

Room Tip: I have stayed a few times, all room have been overlooking the main road, but they were all quiet. Ni...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

I have been a loyal Tune customer since the first months of the first Tune in KL.
By far this is the WORST hotel of any kind I have ever stayed in.
First room on arrival was flooded with rain water seeping in and covering the floor all around the bed so we were moved to another room. That one is infested with cockroaches for the entire duration of our stay.
The cleaning staff are so bad that the cockroaches I killed would still be on the floor in the same spot after the room had its so called daily cleaning. The toilet also retained the previous days use marks after the cleaning.
This hotel is so noisy I got no decent sleep in 6 nights meaning I could not do any activities during the day cause I was so tired. Other guests are screaming and banging doors out in the hall at all hours of the day and downstairs is a nightclub that plays heavy bass music that vibrates the walls 2 floors up.
I never complain about things to hotel staff but at this hotel I was at reception many times every day. They are great at saying "we are very sorry about that" but not really doing much to solve the issues.
Some might say you get what you pay for but like I said, I have always stayed with Tune and never had this terrible experience.
If you plan to go to KK pay the extra to stay somewhere other than this filthy hellhole!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BinicticanBandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

located in a mall, with all amenities around and free shuttle to kk every hour. gr8 value for money. why spend top $$$ when u get the basics with a small budget.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aspi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Quite a distance (around 25 minutes) from the airport and KK city. If you are a traveller with intention of exploring the KK city, this is not the hotel to stay. Too far!! However it is the right hotel if you are putting the night so that you can proceed to Mount Kinabalu the next day. The hotel is located inside 1-Borneo shopping complex itself. There are 3 other hotels operating in the same complex if this hotel is not to your liking. Very convenient. You can do your shopping and plenty of restaurant to choose from. For Mt. Kinabalu hikers who had aching muscle after a strenous hike, can enjoy massage from 2 massage shops situated just nearby the hotel lobby. It is cheap and good.
For the room price you pay (between RM60 to 80/night), this is what you get. My verdict is this is a good and decent hotel to stay. Room is clean with plenty of hot shower although slightly smaller size area. Bed is very comfortable with a ceiling fan. Value for money for budget traveller.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Magte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

You pay for what you use: air-con, towels, TV, wifi, etc. But the beds are comfortable and the shower wonderful. The room was small, and there is no place to put your suitcase. Three hangers on hooks--no closet. But cheap. I stayed 4 nights for the cost of one night at the hotel where my conference was. A shopping center (1 Borneo) is near by...but isn't open until about 11 a.m. and closes at 9:30 p.m., so that didn't help with meals. And, it's far from downtown Kota Kinabalu. But it was a good, cheap stay with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommytompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Hi There,

Thank you for the appraisal on our hotel and staff.

Our pay as you use model, invariably allows the advantage of affordable room rates, even more for the ones that book early.

Travel time to KK city would take about 20 minutes and you could actually take a free shuttle from 1 Borneo Hypermall. It's a faster and convenient.

Once again, thanks for this review, It's a pleasure to welcome you always.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stayed at Tune Hotel 2 years ago when it first opened, and everything went so well that we decided to come back for another stay this year. What a bad mistake that was! Unlike 2 years ago when things actually worked, Tune hotel today is practically falling apart at the seams. Where shall I begin? During our 4 nights' stay (waaaay too long!), we:

1) changed room twice -- the first time when the side of the room next to the window was practically flooded by rainwater (due to a bad thunderstorm the night before); the second time because the aircond in our new room gave shrill beeps in the middle of the night, thus waking us both continuously--this problem unfortunately continued in the 3rd room we stayed in, but we were too tired to move anymore
2) In all the rooms we've been in, the safe boxes didn't work, due apparently to spare parts from China (which the reception said they were still waiting for)
3) Side table lamps didn't work in two rooms
4) In all the rooms we've been in, the LCD panel next to the door didn't show the required info (aircond hours left, etc); they were broken too
5) The fan cannot be controlled in the last room we stayed in -- it was rotating so wildly we thought it'll fall on our heads!
6) Traces of blood (probably from crushed mosquitos but it's a guess) and marks on the wall, which made the room look disgusting and dirty
7) Ants in the rooms -- don't keep any drinks or food in your room, or keep them in ziplock bags
8) If you're driving to KK, don't bother to stay at Tune cos the parking there is non-existent for Tune guests, and you've to pay a minimum of RM6 to park in 1 Borneo per day (more if you take the car in and out in one day, as they charge RM 6 per entry, not per day)
9) Last but not least, Tune hotel does NOT enforce a NON-SMOKING POLICY in their premises. We often smelt stale cigarette smoke in the corridors. What's worse is that the last two nights in our room, WE WERE WOKEN UP BY THE STRONG SMELL OF CIGARETTE SMOKE COMING IN THROUGH OUR AIR-COND VENTS IN THE EARLY MORNING! We complained to the front desk and they found the culprit smoking in the ROOM OPPOSITE OURS! Obviously, our airconds shared the same ventilation.

The only salvation of this place was that the reception staff handled our complaints and frustration as efficiently as they could. They were polite and sincerely tried to help, but the situation was beyond their control. Really, it's the upper management of Tune Hotel who should be taken to task for not maintaining the rooms and for not enforcing a strict non-smoking policy indoors.

This is the last time we stay in Tune Hotel KK. Even if it's dirt-cheap, it's not worth the amount of aggravation and frustration we experienced. There're B&Bs in KK with far better value (cleaner and smoke-free too) than Tune hotel. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

Room Tip: Don't stay there! Run fast, run far!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sayang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Hi Tuner,

I could see how these issues were an inconvenience to your stay.

The front-desk had done the best at capacity by relocating different rooms each time a complaint was received.

it's not the best approach I agree, but action had been taken to mend the damaged fixtures in some of the rooms. I assure you that, all of our hotels are non smoking territory. However, I could imagine how some guests are inconsiderate by choosing to literally ignore them, thus inconveniencing others. Being a limited service hotel, we provide only the basics; bed and shower. Parking is not a service extension by Tune Hotels 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu and we have no control over the parking fees as it is directly under 1Borneo’s management.

Rooms are also given a new paint job, and I trust any future stays would be a much pleasant one.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

We hope to see you soon

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I reckon if you have low expectations of this hotel, then your stay should be fine.
You do get what you paid for (in my case under $10! twas on special) towels, toiletries, wifi, tv and aircon will cost extra. No kettle or even a window in my case. Fairly clean but not the cleanest. Big selling points was the comfy bed, shower and friendly reception staff.

I would also recommend getting airconditioning because not alot of us can get a proper
rest let alone sleep without proper ventilation and cooling (also helps lessen the humidity). You will be sharing the lifts with other mall patrons. Speaking of malls,
1Borneo is a big plus if you are staying here. Again, you get what you paid for, and remember not to pay alot more :)

Room Tip: as above
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bondeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
7.5 mi away
The Crown Borneo Hotel
The Crown Borneo Hotel
#71 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#65 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
364 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
#45 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
8 reviews
5.2 mi away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#26 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
105 reviews
6.6 mi away
Eminent Hotel
Eminent Hotel
#25 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Address: Jalan Sulaman | G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £13 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing