We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy beds and great showers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 29 June 2012

we always like staying in all tune hotel branches. Hey....it's not a five star hotel...but i love their beds. so comfy that you just want to lounge in their bed the whole day. the showers are great and i love the modern bright bathrooms. even if the room is small....the price is reasonable....it's perfect for the budget traveler and yet feels not quite a backpakers hostel, but a 5 star hotel bed.

Room Tip: get outer rooms with windows. also....please i hope tune hotel will maintain the room cleanliness a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MT G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

Though it is a bit far from town, it is attached to 1Borneo, which is modern and full of great dining places & shopping. Also, there's an Anjung Selera (food court) not far from here, and always overflowing with people (good food attracts). Room is small but clean, bathroom is compact and adequate. Kuching's Tune rooms are much bigger, though. It is a hotel to stay if you don't want to stay in the hotel all day long.

Room Tip: can hear traffic from rooms facing main road (though tolerable level)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haida H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

value for price
not for location
value for sleep
not for shopping spot

Room Tip: ask for middle room which is extremely big but no window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

just got back from a 5-day trip in kk. liked the colour schemes esp the ones in the hotel lobby. room was clean. though on the 2nd last day, i couldnt find the green leaf. the green leaf is a piece of paper (shaped as a green leaf. lol) which u put on the bed to tell the cleaners to change ur bedsheets. im inclined to think that the cleaners purposely hid the green leaf so that they dont hav to change the sheets everyday but i will give then the benefit of the doubt.

leave early from the hotel as the sun comes up as early as 6am (local time). u hav more time to do things as the sun sets at around 6.15-6.45pm (quite early compared to kl). so if u wana go see the sunset, head on over to tanjung aru beach (not very clean) or sutera harbour (very clean).

spend at least one day at the poring hot springs. there is a butterfly farm, canopy walk n two separate waterfalls and of course, the hot springs. only managed to go to the canopy walk and the hot springs. din hav enuf time.

if ur heading to the desa dairy farm. the milking of cow is at 3pm. milking is done by machine. thought tourists cud hav the chance to milk them. but the view there is really gud. the black n white cows on the green grass with KK mountain right in the background.

if u wana keep ur bags (before or after checking out), at the counter, they offer the service at rm2 per bag. however, they are not very strict on this. i paid rm4 for two bags. after paying, my partner gave me another big plastic bag to keep. i was preparing to pay but the lady at the counter (cant remember her name) said it was ok to not pay (since i oledi had 2 bags paid for).

after my sight-seeing, I had a big box full of fruits which i wanted to keep. the same lady also said its ok to not pay. it's this type of flexibility that the price-conscious tourist (like me) are looking for. besides that, if there are rooms available (not peak period), u cud request to check-in early (normal check-in at 2pm) or check-out late (normal check-out at 11am).

i managed to check-in early here in kk and i managed to check-out late at the penang tune hotel.

thanks tune for helping me to save money.

btw, parking in the shopping complex is rm 2 per entry. overnight parking at the shopping complex is at rm10 per night. the advertised parking time for charges is 8am-2am the next day. so between 2am-8am (6 hours), u dont have to pay. but this "advertised parking time" is not followed religiously. they hav their own unofficial time.

i suggest to park in front of the hotel. there are limited parking available but i was lucky, managed to find parking for all 3 nights i had the car. rm 6 per entry per night. i only paid rm 6 for the first night. the parking attendant said that from 10am until wadever time they finish work, they wud charge rm 6 per car per entry. so if u park at 11am. u get charged rm 6. if u drive off n park again at 7pm, u are charged rm 6 again. if u dont drive off the car by 10 am the next morning, u are charged another rm 6 eventhough u din drive off.

wad i did was to park at around 11pm n leave the hotel at 8am. so don hav to pay. if ur lucky, u cud park the car at 9pm at night n the parking attendants hav oledi left. so u don hav to pay too.

Room Tip: if u want a view, choose a room with a window. but u wud hav noises from the traffic down below. not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Hi,

Thanks for the review and not to forget those wonderful tips. It's indeed a helpful one for all the budget conscious back packers.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights. Quite far away from the airport or the main city area though you can avail free shuttle bus service from 1Borneo where it is located. The rooms were ultra small; the cleaniness was not at par with other Tune hotels; unclean and smelly corridors. But the staffs were very courteous and helpful. Need a facelift to match other Tune hotels. Not a bad option considering the discounted price!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calcutta1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

Our budget friendly concept, allows customers to tailor their stay to suit their budget. Where a regular hotel gives you the complete stay package; perhaps for a similar price, they do not offer their services on a modular basis unlike we do. Thus, you would not have the option of a cheaper stay.

Cleanliness has always been one of our priorities and something we do not compromise. In any possible way, we are to surely remedy what needs to.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about our hotel we are glad that you enjoyed the other parts of your stay and hope that we will have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I was in Sabah last week for a weekend break from Friday to Sunday. Initially, I thought the location of the hotel will be far. So, if you're worried, you might want to read the tips I am going to share with you.

1. Hotel is next to 1Borneo shopping centre. It's a decent shopping centre with Rolex, Mont Blanc, Lacoste outlet there, so, you can expect Starbucks, like that there. If you like shopping or just like a walk after a day travelling Sabah, this is a good hotel for you.

2. Day 2, I'm travelling to Kundasang and Ranau. So, I believe if you're in Sabah to experience the outside world like Island or nature and wouldn't worry much about hotel experience. It is actually good to stay here. With 7-Eleven and 24 hours shop downstairs, that will keep your worries away.

3. Parking overnight at 1Borneo is RM12. With RM2 per access. So, I'd say it is quite okay. Just that here is a tips if you wish to park. Choose 3rd floor parking or 4th floor. Near the elevator. Reason? If you're thinking to leave the hotel early in the morning, chances the elevator of the shopping mall couldn't be use. So, you can use the lift of the Courtyard Hotel to take you to 3rd floor. I did that with a smile on my face.

4. Rent a car. You'll be happy to find several nice seafood around there. GPS coordinate: 6.008798,116.110382

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mohdrafie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Appreciate the tips on about the dining options close by our hotel. Indeed our hotel is strategically located where guest could enjoy the outdoors all within a short reach.

Thank you so much for the feedback and we happy to be part of making your stay a worthwhile experience.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Affordable but need to improve about bad odors at level 2.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruudow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Just like yours; all feedback helps us improve.

Take note of the areas we need to improve further. Your valuable feedback gives an insight of how we could improve further. We'll ensure the needful is carried out.

We are glad that you enjoyed the other parts of your stay and hope to have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#64 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
365 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Crown Borneo Hotel
The Crown Borneo Hotel
#72 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
146 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Eminent Hotel
Eminent Hotel
#26 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
41 reviews
5.2 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#49 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
20 reviews
5.2 mi away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#27 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Address: Jalan Sulaman | G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £14 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing