We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay at 1borneo, kota kinabalu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #28 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“nice stay at 1borneo, kota kinabalu”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

stayed @ tune for 6 nights. the room was reasonably comfortable and clean. for the price i paid, it was a very good bargain. eventhough the norm essentials (eg. towels & toiletries or a/c) are additional charges, it is inexpensive to have the add ons. as for toiletries, a huge supermarket is conveniently located in the premises as the hotel is in a shopping mall. in addtion, a 7eleven and a tour agency is located withing the lobby. so, pretty much planning and the neccessary things are easily available.
tips: request for the rooms overlooking the main road. you will get a nice view of the hills/mountains.
thank you for the good experience and nice stay.

Room Tip: rooms facing the main road are better choice. but if u subscribe for the tv service, choose the 1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siti n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Hi There,

Thanks for staying with us. and for the review.

We put a lot of emphasis on ensuring that out hotel is functional and that, guests enjoy soothingly powerful shower for a relaxing treat.

Our location is normally a strong positive for our guests. As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics, a 5-star bed and hot showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly. Thanks for this review, It's a pleasure to welcome you always.

Warm Regards,
De Silva- Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    177
    119
    43
    26
See reviews for
90
107
68
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2012

this is budgeted hotel but you will feel greater than some 3 stars hotel. i feel great to stay this hotel and will suggest to my friend who like to have their back pack vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Comfortable bed and power shower makes Tune a charm for the ones looking for good value for money.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We wish to receive you again amongst us for another amazing experience.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Initially i'm quite shocked that the room just can fit 2 person with their luggages. But we manage to arrange the stuffs so that there is some space for praying. Toilet does not have lock, thats why at most only 2 person can be in the room. Does not require air-conditioning actually,as the weather is nice and fan is enough. Bring along a electrical extension as only 1 electrical plug provided. Overall, the hotel is nice for travellers who need place to sleep n keeo their lugages while they travels.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cikmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacolod, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2012

we always like staying in all tune hotel branches. Hey....it's not a five star hotel...but i love their beds. so comfy that you just want to lounge in their bed the whole day. the showers are great and i love the modern bright bathrooms. even if the room is small....the price is reasonable....it's perfect for the budget traveler and yet feels not quite a backpakers hostel, but a 5 star hotel bed.

Room Tip: get outer rooms with windows. also....please i hope tune hotel will maintain the room cleanliness a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MT G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Though it is a bit far from town, it is attached to 1Borneo, which is modern and full of great dining places & shopping. Also, there's an Anjung Selera (food court) not far from here, and always overflowing with people (good food attracts). Room is small but clean, bathroom is compact and adequate. Kuching's Tune rooms are much bigger, though. It is a hotel to stay if you don't want to stay in the hotel all day long.

Room Tip: can hear traffic from rooms facing main road (though tolerable level)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haida H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

value for price
not for location
value for sleep
not for shopping spot

Room Tip: ask for middle room which is extremely big but no window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selangor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

just got back from a 5-day trip in kk. liked the colour schemes esp the ones in the hotel lobby. room was clean. though on the 2nd last day, i couldnt find the green leaf. the green leaf is a piece of paper (shaped as a green leaf. lol) which u put on the bed to tell the cleaners to change ur bedsheets. im inclined to think that the cleaners purposely hid the green leaf so that they dont hav to change the sheets everyday but i will give then the benefit of the doubt.

leave early from the hotel as the sun comes up as early as 6am (local time). u hav more time to do things as the sun sets at around 6.15-6.45pm (quite early compared to kl). so if u wana go see the sunset, head on over to tanjung aru beach (not very clean) or sutera harbour (very clean).

spend at least one day at the poring hot springs. there is a butterfly farm, canopy walk n two separate waterfalls and of course, the hot springs. only managed to go to the canopy walk and the hot springs. din hav enuf time.

if ur heading to the desa dairy farm. the milking of cow is at 3pm. milking is done by machine. thought tourists cud hav the chance to milk them. but the view there is really gud. the black n white cows on the green grass with KK mountain right in the background.

if u wana keep ur bags (before or after checking out), at the counter, they offer the service at rm2 per bag. however, they are not very strict on this. i paid rm4 for two bags. after paying, my partner gave me another big plastic bag to keep. i was preparing to pay but the lady at the counter (cant remember her name) said it was ok to not pay (since i oledi had 2 bags paid for).

after my sight-seeing, I had a big box full of fruits which i wanted to keep. the same lady also said its ok to not pay. it's this type of flexibility that the price-conscious tourist (like me) are looking for. besides that, if there are rooms available (not peak period), u cud request to check-in early (normal check-in at 2pm) or check-out late (normal check-out at 11am).

i managed to check-in early here in kk and i managed to check-out late at the penang tune hotel.

thanks tune for helping me to save money.

btw, parking in the shopping complex is rm 2 per entry. overnight parking at the shopping complex is at rm10 per night. the advertised parking time for charges is 8am-2am the next day. so between 2am-8am (6 hours), u dont have to pay. but this "advertised parking time" is not followed religiously. they hav their own unofficial time.

i suggest to park in front of the hotel. there are limited parking available but i was lucky, managed to find parking for all 3 nights i had the car. rm 6 per entry per night. i only paid rm 6 for the first night. the parking attendant said that from 10am until wadever time they finish work, they wud charge rm 6 per car per entry. so if u park at 11am. u get charged rm 6. if u drive off n park again at 7pm, u are charged rm 6 again. if u dont drive off the car by 10 am the next morning, u are charged another rm 6 eventhough u din drive off.

wad i did was to park at around 11pm n leave the hotel at 8am. so don hav to pay. if ur lucky, u cud park the car at 9pm at night n the parking attendants hav oledi left. so u don hav to pay too.

Room Tip: if u want a view, choose a room with a window. but u wud hav noises from the traffic down below. not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Hi,

Thanks for the review and not to forget those wonderful tips. It's indeed a helpful one for all the budget conscious back packers.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#62 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
6.1 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#27 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
#79 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
7.2 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
#37 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Property: Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Address: G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall | Jalan Sulaman, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing