We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #27 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very basic hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is old, the location its a bit far town, i will never stay here again. The entrance of the hotel is near the public toilet and the smells is bad.the good for this hotel is just its near the shopping mall n restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokinlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for your review of Tune Hotels 1 Borneo, Kota Kinabalu.

There is a free shuttle service offered by the mall as early as 9.00am to 9.00pm to the city centre that departs every half hour daily. Am sure this would complement any guest stay and also an added travel convenience.

My apologies about the smell, I hope this would not be the case in your next visit. And please connect with me directly at any point for anything further.

Again, we are sorry that we missed the mark on your stay and we truly hope for the opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.

Warm Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    177
    118
    43
    26
See reviews for
90
107
68
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Very comfortable 5 star hotel bed with basic facilities in an very affordable price.
Even if you need top up Aircond facility, it's based on hours you use, not by day.
So if you stay 3 nights, usually 48 hrs aircond is sufficient.
Bear in mind there won't be any cup or kettle for making drinks.
Drinking water is only available at lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeycm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

A little far from the town centre. I have hired a private vehicle to travel around so it was not much of a hassle for me, with the GPS system guiding me all the way. The front desk staffs were excellent and fine tuned to shine the Tune. Parking was rather expensive, RM 8/- per day for 24 hrs 1000-1000hrs daily. Tune is situated inside the huge 1Borneo Hypermall so its not a hassle to go shopping. Just walk out of your room and you are in the Hypermall. Choices of food rangers from Malay, Chinese, Indian, mamak and also from other regions. Even Kopi Tiam style food outlet is located in between the posh food outlets. Rooms were excellent (no comment).

Room Tip: 3rd floor view rooms are nicer, facing Jalan Sulaman)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anand111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Location too far from city centre. However shuttle bus available until 9.30pm. Unfortunately last trip bus full. So i use taxi to go back hotel. Not cheap when use taxi. Overall ok. Room are clean and big. You cant compare with 4 star hitel but for money this hotel are good for low budget.

Room Tip: No restaurant limited power point
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laksamana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selangor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I have been to KK many time on business but this time ,I opted for Tune Hotel with the promotion pakage on Air Asia.. The hotel can be reached by bus from the airport doorstep between 9am to 6pm on arrival which cost only RM1.20 to the city where you continue on the shutter bus to 1-Borneo Mall for free.The hotel is situated in the mall which is the largest in KK. This means a lot of shops to get what you need and a lot of nice foods to suit ones taste bud. I forgot to bring along the computer cable on the trip and easily obtained a new one in one of the shop with good price which also led me to purchase a power bank for my NOTE - 2 Samsung which I normally will only buy at home in KL in case of backup services. The hotel has cold airconditional on top of fan. The room is new and clean with hot shower.I stayed for 2 nights and plan to bring my family for a nice holiday and stay . It is value for money , with clean and comfortable bed, excellent location and free shutter bus to town,plenty of shops for foods and goods, especially book shop too. It is the place you have to experience at least once.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here two separate times and both were great. Our first room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. Our second room had less room but was still enough. The staff were exceptional. We made a mistake on our first booking and they fixed it for us before we even realised and let us use their computers and printer without charge for addition booking and information. They helped us get the best out of our stay (and the best deal). Above all, they are super friendly, and their english was fantastic.

We found the options for towel, internet, aircon, tv, etc. was actually quite good. We saved quite a bit of money this way. It's best to read their policy (it is very clear) so there is no surprise.

About location... no it is not the best in terms of city centre, however, we found everything we needed in the mall. Good food from all price ranges. There is also a FREE shuttle bus for tourist to the city centre in the mall. This bus leaves every hour except for 5pm and and you can take the free return as well. The tours that are available aren't very cheap, however, they are very personal. The tour drivers are so nice and want you to get the best experience.

It was our first time at a Tune hotel and we booked with Agoda, however, the staff informed us that it was cheaper to book with their actual website which has a better deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofiya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We pride ourselves on the comfort, cleanliness and customer service and we are pleased to hear that we have fulfilled our promise in the case of your stay.

Great to see you enjoyed your stay and that the staff looked after you throughout your stay. I have passed your comments onto the team this morning, who I know will appreciate them

Going forward, we hope that you'll continue to look out for us in planning your future stays, and we in return, hope to continuously 'wow" your expectations in future.

Have a pleasant day.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

If you want a 5 star sleeping experience instead of homestay experience (with the same price), definitely Tune Hotel is my first choice. I have stayed in many of Tune Hotel in Malaysia (KLIA airport, Miri, Penang, Kota Kinabalu) & Indonesia (Kuta, Bali). My comments are:
1. reasonably cheap price
2. Fantastic location
3. Super duper clean
4. many more. (but above are my top 3)
No regret! Hope more of Tune hotel branch, so I can continue to travel and stay in Tune Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecixoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review

Clean and central. That's our pride.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We wish to receive you again amongst us for another amazing experience.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#66 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
6.1 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#26 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
#79 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
7.2 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
#36 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Property: Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Address: G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall | Jalan Sulaman, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing