We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #27 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel a couple of months ago now and always meant to write a review as the staff were extremely friendly and helpful during our stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable too. I'd definitely recommend requesting a room with window overlooking the mountains.

Less impressed with 1borneo shopping center though - it seemed very old (think it's meant to be 5 years old looks more like 50 years old!). The shuttle bus was regularly late - one time I waited an hour for it to turn up. Parking was very overpriced overnight. It was dirt cheap during the day and then about 10 times the price for overnight parking so I'd definitely recommend using the free parking at the first road entrance (plus the paid parking area was used for motorbike racing overnight!).

In all I'd say I was very happy with the Tune Hotel but less happy with 1borneo!

Room Tip: Room with window
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mattjamestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    177
    119
    43
    26
See reviews for
90
107
68
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

A 5 star hotel bed... A 5 star hotel environment with a clean room, friendly staff, comfortable and nice view. Enjoying a glance of stay that u will never forget about the experience. You can feel the 5 star exprience in cheaper unexpected price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Et_Ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly and that you had a good slumber experience

Compliments are always wonderful; it makes us motivated to be acknowledged while we take great effort in seeing into each and every need of our guests.

We are glad in making your stay a pleasant and warmly memorable experience.

See you soon.

Warm Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

If you only need a comfortable place to sleep, this hotel is perfect. Bear in mind that check out time is 11:00am to avoid any surprises upon departure. The air conditioner, TV and Wi-fi all require additional payment but I was out and about during the day and didn't purchase these extras. I thought the ceiling fan (absolutely enormous like an airplane propeller) was just fine to keep us cool. The stainless steel modern shower had great water pressure.

A small 7-11 is located near the front desk, together with a tour booking company.

If I could offer one small, relatively inexpensive tip for improvement, it would be to improve the view from the window by cleaning up the concrete space below. Perhaps remove the wheelbarrow and then install multi-colored lights to make the view more appealing?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amerivoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

i love the cosy room , soft bed & strong shower... location is superb....will definitely stay in tune again
i took 2 rooms - 1 for my mum & daughter and another for hubby and me....

I especially like the location - everything is easy to find- halal food are everywhere , u wan branded items to cheap things..just name it ... but i warn you - 3 days is not enough....should have spent more time exploring 1 B

after a long day exploring kk , you can relax in your comfy bed.... for me the room is jus enough... its cosy , homey feel too. even my mum enjoyed her stay there...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dona73Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We pride ourselves on the comfort, cleanliness and customer service and we are pleased to hear that we have fulfilled our promise in the case of your stay.

Going forward, we hope that you'll continue to look out for us in planning your future stays, and we in return, hope to continuously 'wow" your expectations in future.

Have a pleasant day.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I'd booked this property in a rush and didn't study the location. Turns out you're quite a way from KK center which is not really much fun for a daily commute!

Also, this hotel is located within a huge shopping mall and is one of the older, less swish Tune hotels (for those who've been to one before).

Room Tip: Get high, away from shopping centre noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Our hotel is actually located approximately 20 minutes from the city, and and you could actually take a free shuttle from 1 Borneo Hypermall. It's a faster and convenient.

We are fortunate to have a great Uptown location, Tune Hotels- 1Borneo, is situated in the largest shopping and lifestyle mall in east Malaysia. And is also en-route to major Kota Kinabalu eco-attractions, including Kinabalu Park - World Heritage Site and home of Mount Kinabalu, South-East Asia’s highest peak.

Please check out our packages form our website, hopefully we have you plan another trip back at Tune Hotels 1 Borneo KK soon.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stay for Borneo international marathon.
It's cheap, clean and simple. Nearby 1 Borneo mall provides all your needs

On downside room is small, too far from downtown where tourist like me wanna be. It's a bit far from airport

Room Tip: You don't need AC as fan is good enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razif Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Terengganu, Terengganu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is my 2nd time here.... price still the best in town.... located in 1Borneo, bit far from town center but when u rent a car, distance wasn't an issue anymore :)

Always be my 1st choice hotel when I'm thinking of visit Kota Kinabalu....

Room Tip: ask for room with window, better 3G coverage :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddy412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Great to read about your review following your recent stay. Thank you.

Keeping things clean, comfy and compact helps regulate affordable pricing, and ultimately savings for guests.

Our location is a great plus. Guests save travel time since we are located close to major shopping, sightseeing and business destinations.

Comfort, convenience, and affordable rates have propelled our hotel brand with the concept of pay-as-you-use that has become hugely popular amongst travellers from across the world.

We are invariably looking for ways of rewarding guests and providing great value for money.
Thank you for tuning in and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Warm Regards,
De Silva - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#62 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
6.1 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#28 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
#79 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
7.2 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
#37 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Property: Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Address: G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall | Jalan Sulaman, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing