We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel room is small and it's very far from the city. But is located inside the 1 borneo shopping center which is good for people who loves shopping. The only mode of free transport to the city is by the free shuttle service provided by the shopping center but it will be fully booked at night time. Everything you add-on in the hotel pay extra money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babysakthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

The concept of limited service means rooms are basic and functional. Where the costly extras such as swimming pools, coffee and tea making facilities, laundered towels are eliminated to regulate pricing and offer competitive rates.

We are a real treat for budget conscious back packers and perfect for people who just want a good price on a user pays basis.

Tune is a charm for the ones looking for a place that is clean, secure and value for money.

Thank you for tuning in and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Warm Regards,
Sharon - Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

I love staying in Tune Hotel whenever i visit Kota Kinabalu eventhough it's located in 1Borneo (10-15 minutes from Kota Kinabalu city center). A 5 star hotel with a price of 1 star hotel really said it all. The room and the bathroom are clean and you can just go for shopping at 1Borneo under one roof! There's 7 Eleven at the lobby and other 24 hour convenience store.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izyanliana84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Hi There,

Thanks for staying with us.

Our location is normally a strong positive for our guests. As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics, a 5-star bed and hot showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly. Thanks for this review, It's a pleasure to welcome you always.

Warm Regards,
De Silva- Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel a couple of months ago now and always meant to write a review as the staff were extremely friendly and helpful during our stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable too. I'd definitely recommend requesting a room with window overlooking the mountains.

Less impressed with 1borneo shopping center though - it seemed very old (think it's meant to be 5 years old looks more like 50 years old!). The shuttle bus was regularly late - one time I waited an hour for it to turn up. Parking was very overpriced overnight. It was dirt cheap during the day and then about 10 times the price for overnight parking so I'd definitely recommend using the free parking at the first road entrance (plus the paid parking area was used for motorbike racing overnight!).

In all I'd say I was very happy with the Tune Hotel but less happy with 1borneo!

Room Tip: Room with window
Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank mattjamestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

A 5 star hotel bed... A 5 star hotel environment with a clean room, friendly staff, comfortable and nice view. Enjoying a glance of stay that u will never forget about the experience. You can feel the 5 star exprience in cheaper unexpected price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Et_Ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly and that you had a good slumber experience

Compliments are always wonderful; it makes us motivated to be acknowledged while we take great effort in seeing into each and every need of our guests.

We are glad in making your stay a pleasant and warmly memorable experience.

See you soon.

Warm Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

If you only need a comfortable place to sleep, this hotel is perfect. Bear in mind that check out time is 11:00am to avoid any surprises upon departure. The air conditioner, TV and Wi-fi all require additional payment but I was out and about during the day and didn't purchase these extras. I thought the ceiling fan (absolutely enormous like an airplane propeller) was just fine to keep us cool. The stainless steel modern shower had great water pressure.

A small 7-11 is located near the front desk, together with a tour booking company.

If I could offer one small, relatively inexpensive tip for improvement, it would be to improve the view from the window by cleaning up the concrete space below. Perhaps remove the wheelbarrow and then install multi-colored lights to make the view more appealing?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amerivoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

i love the cosy room , soft bed & strong shower... location is superb....will definitely stay in tune again
i took 2 rooms - 1 for my mum & daughter and another for hubby and me....

I especially like the location - everything is easy to find- halal food are everywhere , u wan branded items to cheap things..just name it ... but i warn you - 3 days is not enough....should have spent more time exploring 1 B

after a long day exploring kk , you can relax in your comfy bed.... for me the room is jus enough... its cosy , homey feel too. even my mum enjoyed her stay there...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dona73Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We pride ourselves on the comfort, cleanliness and customer service and we are pleased to hear that we have fulfilled our promise in the case of your stay.

Going forward, we hope that you'll continue to look out for us in planning your future stays, and we in return, hope to continuously 'wow" your expectations in future.

Have a pleasant day.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I'd booked this property in a rush and didn't study the location. Turns out you're quite a way from KK center which is not really much fun for a daily commute!

Also, this hotel is located within a huge shopping mall and is one of the older, less swish Tune hotels (for those who've been to one before).

Room Tip: Get high, away from shopping centre noise.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Our hotel is actually located approximately 20 minutes from the city, and and you could actually take a free shuttle from 1 Borneo Hypermall. It's a faster and convenient.

We are fortunate to have a great Uptown location, Tune Hotels- 1Borneo, is situated in the largest shopping and lifestyle mall in east Malaysia. And is also en-route to major Kota Kinabalu eco-attractions, including Kinabalu Park - World Heritage Site and home of Mount Kinabalu, South-East Asia’s highest peak.

Please check out our packages form our website, hopefully we have you plan another trip back at Tune Hotels 1 Borneo KK soon.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
7.5 mi away
The Crown Borneo Hotel
The Crown Borneo Hotel
#71 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#65 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
364 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
#45 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
8 reviews
5.2 mi away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#26 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
105 reviews
6.6 mi away
Eminent Hotel
Eminent Hotel
#25 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Address: Jalan Sulaman | G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £13 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing