We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place. A bit far, but OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #28 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Taiwan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely place. A bit far, but OK”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel itself is just fine. It has 7-11 in it, Orange in neighborhood, and a plaza 100m away.
The only problem may be its distance from KK which is not really a problem since public transportation is almost free and convenience.
A bit noise came from the corridor which is the mutual problem of all Tune Hotels that I staid in them.

Room Tip: Try restaurants in the neighboring plaza, especially the Indonesian rooster restaurant at undergroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoohollahKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    177
    119
    43
    26
See reviews for
90
107
68
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I think the concept of Tune Hotels is very suitable for those who have low budget but need a comfortable stay. The room only has the necessities (and by necessity I mean fan, not air condition). No toiletries, no towel, no TV, no Wifi. But if we are at a place where the greatest nature take place, who needs TV and internet, right? You go out as early as possible to get a better view of Mount Kinabalu, then you get back at night, you have no time for TV. So. Tune Hotels is very ideal for people who are really spending their time enjoying Kota Kinabalu. You just take shower and sleep once you get back to the hotel. And if you are a person who brings everything you need with you, then you do not need to buy the towel and toiletries from the hotel. And you can also enjoy special Sabah food for breakfast, as the hotel does not provide free breakfast for guests. Just remember that not all rooms have windows.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamsyamim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Great locations, functional rooms, clean and affordable makes Tune Hotels a charm for bargain seekers. And we are happy to hear likewise from you.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

It's located in a mall itself. So convenient. There's also a 7eleven at the lobby.

Value for money. And best of all comfortable bed!

I booked the room with the comfort package ( 24hours ac & toiletries ) but the fan provided in the room is actually already enough for my comfort in the room. So if you are looking for the basic amenity without having to pay extra, you actually don't need the 24 hours ac option. Just go for the basic room option & with toiletries option for only an extra of rm6

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel was as expected. It was a budget property, so we werent expecting bells and whistles! The staff were very helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable, for the price, you can't really expect anything else!

It is a bit out of town, which when you look at the location on a map during booking, it looks closer than it actually is. It is part of the 1 Borneo shopping complex, which turns out to be handy due to the complex putting on a free shuttle bus for the 15 minute journey to and from KK centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdt_y2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel room is small and it's very far from the city. But is located inside the 1 borneo shopping center which is good for people who loves shopping. The only mode of free transport to the city is by the free shuttle service provided by the shopping center but it will be fully booked at night time. Everything you add-on in the hotel pay extra money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babysakthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

The concept of limited service means rooms are basic and functional. Where the costly extras such as swimming pools, coffee and tea making facilities, laundered towels are eliminated to regulate pricing and offer competitive rates.

We are a real treat for budget conscious back packers and perfect for people who just want a good price on a user pays basis.

Tune is a charm for the ones looking for a place that is clean, secure and value for money.

Thank you for tuning in and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Warm Regards,
Sharon - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puchong, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I love staying in Tune Hotel whenever i visit Kota Kinabalu eventhough it's located in 1Borneo (10-15 minutes from Kota Kinabalu city center). A 5 star hotel with a price of 1 star hotel really said it all. The room and the bathroom are clean and you can just go for shopping at 1Borneo under one roof! There's 7 Eleven at the lobby and other 24 hour convenience store.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izyanliana84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Hi There,

Thanks for staying with us.

Our location is normally a strong positive for our guests. As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics, a 5-star bed and hot showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly. Thanks for this review, It's a pleasure to welcome you always.

Warm Regards,
De Silva- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel a couple of months ago now and always meant to write a review as the staff were extremely friendly and helpful during our stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable too. I'd definitely recommend requesting a room with window overlooking the mountains.

Less impressed with 1borneo shopping center though - it seemed very old (think it's meant to be 5 years old looks more like 50 years old!). The shuttle bus was regularly late - one time I waited an hour for it to turn up. Parking was very overpriced overnight. It was dirt cheap during the day and then about 10 times the price for overnight parking so I'd definitely recommend using the free parking at the first road entrance (plus the paid parking area was used for motorbike racing overnight!).

In all I'd say I was very happy with the Tune Hotel but less happy with 1borneo!

Room Tip: Room with window
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mattjamestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#62 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
6.1 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#27 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
#79 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
7.2 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
#37 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Property: Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Address: G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall | Jalan Sulaman, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing