We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Kk's Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Tune hotel is well known for low rates. The room is really cozy for my experience as we came group of 12 people. We are known as the YOLO (You Only Live Once) group. We enjoy things which are not available at our origin which is in KL.

So for those who love to go for food hunting, night markets browsing, this Tune hotel is the best I may suggest to you.

The hotel itself is interconnected to a mall called 1Borneo. It's really convenient if maybe you wanna watch mid night movie. Next to the hotel is a massage centre where you can pamper yourself after tiring day enjoying the city of KK. Next to it there is also a convenience market like 7 Eleven even though 7 Eleven is actually at the hotel lobby.

On top of everything I enjoy my stay to the max at the most lowest cost.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Fauzi_Yolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Great locations, functional rooms, clean and affordable rates makes Tune Hotels a charm for bargain seekers. And we are happy to hear likewise from you.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

Low price, clean room, comfortable bed, good toilet, safe deposit box, hairdryer, powerful fan, high ceiling and large wall and toilet mirrors. Toilet has no hooks but has handle bars on glass toilet door and shower room door. No toiletories except toilet paper, no phone, not much room for lugguage space. Only 1 room card given due security but very inconvenient if another person needs to go out as entry to main corridor also needs card and has to ask guard to follow to open. Do ask for room with window. Front desk staff friendly and speak good English. If need aircon, tv, etc, pay for add-ons. Our room had "Comfort Package Add-ons" included. See photo for add-ons pricing. Towel & toiletories add-ons are 1 towel to return after use, 1 small bar of soap and 1 tube of shampoo in a takeaway bag which you can keep as a carrier bag. Hot and cold water dispenser at lobby but bring your own cup. Free half-hour wifi at lobby, renewable when time expired.

We booked for 5 nights. Inconvenient if you go to KK town daily. Though there's free shuttle at 1Borneo's North Atrium, it's limited by its hourly schedule and a 2-hr break near dinner time. Taxi to KK town costs RM30 one way from taxi stand. Tune Hotel has car rental - transport to KK town RM20 one way, RM40 to airport but must book early due limited drivers.

Next door is 24-hr Orange convenience store (like 7-Eleven). 1Borneo is a huge mall. Fun for those who enjoy shopping and coffee breaks. Most stores open 10am, close at 10pm. Car rental company at Tune Hotel offers tours which might be cheaper than if booked from town but do check prices and what are included. Note some companies apply transport surcharge for tours from 1Borneo instead of city hotels though it's not always the case.

Overall, hotel is good value for money if you don't spend on transport or know how to take public buses. After the initial getting used to and minor adjustments, room is actually very comfortable and sufficient.

Room Tip: Get a room with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyTravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We offer the basic; a comfortable bed and hot shower for a wonderful slumber experience, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices. Our rooms are space-challenged, but they're impeccably clean and perfectly adequate as "crash pads".

Thank you so much for the feedback and we happy to be part of making your stay a worthwhile experience.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel itself is just fine. It has 7-11 in it, Orange in neighborhood, and a plaza 100m away.
The only problem may be its distance from KK which is not really a problem since public transportation is almost free and convenience.
A bit noise came from the corridor which is the mutual problem of all Tune Hotels that I staid in them.

Room Tip: Try restaurants in the neighboring plaza, especially the Indonesian rooster restaurant at undergroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoohollahKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I think the concept of Tune Hotels is very suitable for those who have low budget but need a comfortable stay. The room only has the necessities (and by necessity I mean fan, not air condition). No toiletries, no towel, no TV, no Wifi. But if we are at a place where the greatest nature take place, who needs TV and internet, right? You go out as early as possible to get a better view of Mount Kinabalu, then you get back at night, you have no time for TV. So. Tune Hotels is very ideal for people who are really spending their time enjoying Kota Kinabalu. You just take shower and sleep once you get back to the hotel. And if you are a person who brings everything you need with you, then you do not need to buy the towel and toiletries from the hotel. And you can also enjoy special Sabah food for breakfast, as the hotel does not provide free breakfast for guests. Just remember that not all rooms have windows.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamsyamim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Great locations, functional rooms, clean and affordable makes Tune Hotels a charm for bargain seekers. And we are happy to hear likewise from you.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

It's located in a mall itself. So convenient. There's also a 7eleven at the lobby.

Value for money. And best of all comfortable bed!

I booked the room with the comfort package ( 24hours ac & toiletries ) but the fan provided in the room is actually already enough for my comfort in the room. So if you are looking for the basic amenity without having to pay extra, you actually don't need the 24 hours ac option. Just go for the basic room option & with toiletries option for only an extra of rm6

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Joan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel was as expected. It was a budget property, so we werent expecting bells and whistles! The staff were very helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable, for the price, you can't really expect anything else!

It is a bit out of town, which when you look at the location on a map during booking, it looks closer than it actually is. It is part of the 1 Borneo shopping complex, which turns out to be handy due to the complex putting on a free shuttle bus for the 15 minute journey to and from KK centre.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdt_y2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel room is small and it's very far from the city. But is located inside the 1 borneo shopping center which is good for people who loves shopping. The only mode of free transport to the city is by the free shuttle service provided by the shopping center but it will be fully booked at night time. Everything you add-on in the hotel pay extra money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babysakthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

The concept of limited service means rooms are basic and functional. Where the costly extras such as swimming pools, coffee and tea making facilities, laundered towels are eliminated to regulate pricing and offer competitive rates.

We are a real treat for budget conscious back packers and perfect for people who just want a good price on a user pays basis.

Tune is a charm for the ones looking for a place that is clean, secure and value for money.

Thank you for tuning in and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Warm Regards,
Sharon - Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
5.5 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#61 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
368 reviews
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
#79 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
100 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Crown Borneo Hotel
The Crown Borneo Hotel
#71 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Storytel Kota Kinabalu
Storytel Kota Kinabalu
#25 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
26 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,201 reviews
10.6 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#50 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Address: Jalan Sulaman | G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £14 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing