We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst ever TUNE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in at least six tunes
Most were well good to better than average
This place is a dump
An old building with peeling paint and wallpaper. Nothing works Broken AC
Filthy toilet and dirty floor
A horrendous two days in a pig sty
The staff are dense and unresponsive as well. Steer clear of this one
Broken

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Russel,
We sincerely apologize for not meeting up to your expectations following your recent stay.I have wired your feedback to the fix it crew, who will be looking into resolving this matter soon. I have also shared your comments about the level of service with my team this morning; please rest assured, necessary steps will be taken to improve.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope to serve you better in future.

Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

The usual Tune deal, including its labyrinthine pricing structure. Small room but OK, comfortable bed, good shower, good wifi, good price, but the room already looked rough around the edges, and the traffic from the highway was very noisy. And why on earth would most travelers choose to stay in such a remote place? I was driving back from up north with a plane to catch in the morning so I had no need to spend time in the city, which I already knew. But for first-time visitors, KK isn't pretty, but it's a fun city, with good eateries at all prices and great bars. The Tune hotel is out in the sticks, part of 1Borneo, a modern office and shopping complex a very long way away from the city. Reviewers mention a shuttle service to KK, but I never saw it nor was offered it. Of all the out-of-way locations of the Tune hotels I know (Kota Baru, Angeles City, even downtown KL), this is by far the most bizarre and inconvenient. Have a good look at the map and at your needs before you book!

Room Tip: Away from the very noisy highway and not in the center of the building, where rooms have no windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our first stay at 1Borneo Tune Hotel was very2 OK, unexpectedly comfortable and convenient - for travellers on the go and need to save on hotel stay yet stay comfortably with not much hassles, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Higher room for lesser noise, with windows facing main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CitiZaleha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Guest,

It's great to find that we have made a good first impression. Thank you for the review.

Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had a sort stay, just 1 night at 1 Borneo. The room was very clean and nice, the bed was so comfy. It is located in a huge shopping centre in Sabah, but a bit far from the main town. The surrounding place was very nice, with a huge parking area. All was great except the aircond ventilation was not good as some part of the room was too cold while the other part was a bit warm. But that didnt bother us much as we just stay for 1 night.

Room Tip: Ask a room with a window to get good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Husse_Serk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

first time i stay at Tune Hotel,
it erases all the bad impression which was leveled by others. This is because the service we received was very satisfactory and the treatment accorded equal status with vip guests. The orderly room and adequate facilities in the room commensurate with the price we paid. No hidden charges. We enjoy what we pay. We will not be tired to book Tune Hotel again in the future. Nor do we doubt to recommend others to book Tune Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank r0zita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Hi Rozita,

Thanks for the sharing a post stay review. We take great pride in offering the highest level of service to our guests. It's rewarding to find you have come to agree with us on that. We look forward with you staying with us again.

Warm Regards,
De Silva- Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I went to this hotel in 2011. The room was quite small, but complete with almost everything you need, including a wired broadband free of charge! It has also bus (free of charge) to take you to the city center every hour. The downside is the hotel if quite far from the city center. Overall, I'm quite astounded!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conrad_Grayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Hey Grayson,

We are happy to read that we have exceeded your expectations during your recent stay. We take great pride in offering the highest level of service to our guests. Reviews like yours gives a resounding “thumbs up” to the entire team, and in particular; absolutely motivating.

Thank you for the review.

Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed only for a night and felt it was the best for a over nite stay. Rooms were pretty clean and good bathroom. Location is really nice as hotel is in the 1 Borneo Mall. Good eating options available in the mall, 24 hrs 7 eleven for last minute purchases.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
5.5 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#64 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
370 reviews
10.4 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#38 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
133 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Crown Borneo Hotel
The Crown Borneo Hotel
#62 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Storytel Kota Kinabalu
Storytel Kota Kinabalu
#26 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
38 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,209 reviews
8.1 mi away
InHotel
InHotel
#46 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Address: Jalan Sulaman | G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £14 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing