We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so hotel for $40 per nite ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kingston, Jamaica
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“So so hotel for $40 per nite ”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

My room was clean but so many ants in my bathroom. The front desk gave me a bug splay, but after I splayed my little room, it smelled so strong and I got sore throat. I booked the room with AC and towels. You had to return your old towels to the front desk and exchanged them to new ones. Housekeeping would not even change towels for $40 USD per nite that I paid for. Other than that, my stay was OK.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Thaiahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We apologize for not meeting the cleanliness standards you have come to expect from us. Please connect with me directly at sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com with your booking details so that I could identify what went wrong during the housekeeping activities at the time of your stay.

Please rest assured, I have shared this review with the housekeeping team to improve their service and ensure that this does not happen again.

We provide only the basic; bed and shower. You'll have to pay for the extras. We do not provide daily change of towel but you could purchase additional ones at the front desk or alternatively, bring your own.

Besides offering the advantage of affordable pricing, This practice supports the environment; Less Waste More Earth which typically encompasses energy –consuming facilities such as air-conditioning, TV, WIFI and laundered towels.

Thank you for the review and we hope to be given the opportunity to renew your experience the next time you come by.

Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    179
    120
    43
    26
See reviews for
93
108
68
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in at least six tunes
Most were well good to better than average
This place is a dump
An old building with peeling paint and wallpaper. Nothing works Broken AC
Filthy toilet and dirty floor
A horrendous two days in a pig sty
The staff are dense and unresponsive as well. Steer clear of this one
Broken

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Russel,
We sincerely apologize for not meeting up to your expectations following your recent stay.I have wired your feedback to the fix it crew, who will be looking into resolving this matter soon. I have also shared your comments about the level of service with my team this morning; please rest assured, necessary steps will be taken to improve.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope to serve you better in future.

Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Jomtien Beach, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The usual Tune deal, including its labyrinthine pricing structure. Small room but OK, comfortable bed, good shower, good wifi, good price, but the room already looked rough around the edges, and the traffic from the highway was very noisy. And why on earth would most travelers choose to stay in such a remote place? I was driving back from up north with a plane to catch in the morning so I had no need to spend time in the city, which I already knew. But for first-time visitors, KK isn't pretty, but it's a fun city, with good eateries at all prices and great bars. The Tune hotel is out in the sticks, part of 1Borneo, a modern office and shopping complex a very long way away from the city. Reviewers mention a shuttle service to KK, but I never saw it nor was offered it. Of all the out-of-way locations of the Tune hotels I know (Kota Baru, Angeles City, even downtown KL), this is by far the most bizarre and inconvenient. Have a good look at the map and at your needs before you book!

Room Tip: Away from the very noisy highway and not in the center of the building, where rooms have no windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our first stay at 1Borneo Tune Hotel was very2 OK, unexpectedly comfortable and convenient - for travellers on the go and need to save on hotel stay yet stay comfortably with not much hassles, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Higher room for lesser noise, with windows facing main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CitiZaleha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guest,

It's great to find that we have made a good first impression. Thank you for the review.

Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had a sort stay, just 1 night at 1 Borneo. The room was very clean and nice, the bed was so comfy. It is located in a huge shopping centre in Sabah, but a bit far from the main town. The surrounding place was very nice, with a huge parking area. All was great except the aircond ventilation was not good as some part of the room was too cold while the other part was a bit warm. But that didnt bother us much as we just stay for 1 night.

Room Tip: Ask a room with a window to get good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Husse_Serk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

first time i stay at Tune Hotel,
it erases all the bad impression which was leveled by others. This is because the service we received was very satisfactory and the treatment accorded equal status with vip guests. The orderly room and adequate facilities in the room commensurate with the price we paid. No hidden charges. We enjoy what we pay. We will not be tired to book Tune Hotel again in the future. Nor do we doubt to recommend others to book Tune Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank r0zita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Hi Rozita,

Thanks for the sharing a post stay review. We take great pride in offering the highest level of service to our guests. It's rewarding to find you have come to agree with us on that. We look forward with you staying with us again.

Warm Regards,
De Silva- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I went to this hotel in 2011. The room was quite small, but complete with almost everything you need, including a wired broadband free of charge! It has also bus (free of charge) to take you to the city center every hour. The downside is the hotel if quite far from the city center. Overall, I'm quite astounded!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conrad_Grayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Hey Grayson,

We are happy to read that we have exceeded your expectations during your recent stay. We take great pride in offering the highest level of service to our guests. Reviews like yours gives a resounding “thumbs up” to the entire team, and in particular; absolutely motivating.

Thank you for the review.

Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
7.5 mi away
The Crown Borneo Hotel
The Crown Borneo Hotel
#68 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
146 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,190 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
#43 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#65 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
362 reviews
4.8 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#29 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
49 reviews
5.0 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#32 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Property: Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Address: Jalan Sulaman | G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing