We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short trip to Kota Kinabalu.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #30 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Located litter far a way from KKIA.But most of the front desk staff are do a good job since check in till check out.Provider the guest withy very usefull information.Just make a feel like a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid for stay a room without window.It too warm just like a sauna room.Specially when we not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discovery A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Appalled on arrival as our first room was horrid, damp on the walls, bedside lights not working, filthy shower and our tele didn't work. After speaking to Reception we were moved to a slightly better room but the complex itself does not lend itself well to a hotel as it looks like a renovated multi storey carpark. Once we'd moved rooms and began to explore it wasn't too bad. The mall next door is extensive, with lots of lovely places to eat downstairs, although many of the shops are expensive and very English. In the mornings - as nothing else is open we enjoyed our breakfasts in the local hangout (chicken and rice anyone?), there's a regular free bus to town (thankfully coz it's quite a distance).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Incey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We apologize for the poor level of cleanliness you have experienced during your recent stay. The team had relocated you to a different room and I'm glad that made a difference. Please furnish your bookings details to sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com and I will investigate what had happened.

In the meantime, I shared your feedback to the the housekeeping team to ensure they
improve their cleanliness standards.

Thank you for the review. We hope you'll allow us the opportunity to restore your experience the next time you come by.

Warm Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

My room was clean but so many ants in my bathroom. The front desk gave me a bug splay, but after I splayed my little room, it smelled so strong and I got sore throat. I booked the room with AC and towels. You had to return your old towels to the front desk and exchanged them to new ones. Housekeeping would not even change towels for $40 USD per nite that I paid for. Other than that, my stay was OK.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Thaiahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We apologize for not meeting the cleanliness standards you have come to expect from us. Please connect with me directly at sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com with your booking details so that I could identify what went wrong during the housekeeping activities at the time of your stay.

Please rest assured, I have shared this review with the housekeeping team to improve their service and ensure that this does not happen again.

We provide only the basic; bed and shower. You'll have to pay for the extras. We do not provide daily change of towel but you could purchase additional ones at the front desk or alternatively, bring your own.

Besides offering the advantage of affordable pricing, This practice supports the environment; Less Waste More Earth which typically encompasses energy –consuming facilities such as air-conditioning, TV, WIFI and laundered towels.

Thank you for the review and we hope to be given the opportunity to renew your experience the next time you come by.

Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in at least six tunes
Most were well good to better than average
This place is a dump
An old building with peeling paint and wallpaper. Nothing works Broken AC
Filthy toilet and dirty floor
A horrendous two days in a pig sty
The staff are dense and unresponsive as well. Steer clear of this one
Broken

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Russel,
We sincerely apologize for not meeting up to your expectations following your recent stay.I have wired your feedback to the fix it crew, who will be looking into resolving this matter soon. I have also shared your comments about the level of service with my team this morning; please rest assured, necessary steps will be taken to improve.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope to serve you better in future.

Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The usual Tune deal, including its labyrinthine pricing structure. Small room but OK, comfortable bed, good shower, good wifi, good price, but the room already looked rough around the edges, and the traffic from the highway was very noisy. And why on earth would most travelers choose to stay in such a remote place? I was driving back from up north with a plane to catch in the morning so I had no need to spend time in the city, which I already knew. But for first-time visitors, KK isn't pretty, but it's a fun city, with good eateries at all prices and great bars. The Tune hotel is out in the sticks, part of 1Borneo, a modern office and shopping complex a very long way away from the city. Reviewers mention a shuttle service to KK, but I never saw it nor was offered it. Of all the out-of-way locations of the Tune hotels I know (Kota Baru, Angeles City, even downtown KL), this is by far the most bizarre and inconvenient. Have a good look at the map and at your needs before you book!

Room Tip: Away from the very noisy highway and not in the center of the building, where rooms have no windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our first stay at 1Borneo Tune Hotel was very2 OK, unexpectedly comfortable and convenient - for travellers on the go and need to save on hotel stay yet stay comfortably with not much hassles, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Higher room for lesser noise, with windows facing main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CitiZaleha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Guest,

It's great to find that we have made a good first impression. Thank you for the review.

Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had a sort stay, just 1 night at 1 Borneo. The room was very clean and nice, the bed was so comfy. It is located in a huge shopping centre in Sabah, but a bit far from the main town. The surrounding place was very nice, with a huge parking area. All was great except the aircond ventilation was not good as some part of the room was too cold while the other part was a bit warm. But that didnt bother us much as we just stay for 1 night.

Room Tip: Ask a room with a window to get good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Husse_Serk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
5.5 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#62 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
369 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Crown Borneo Hotel
The Crown Borneo Hotel
#70 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
147 reviews
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
#78 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Storytel Kota Kinabalu
Storytel Kota Kinabalu
#26 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
28 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,202 reviews
10.6 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#50 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Address: Jalan Sulaman | G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £14 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing