We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Price reasonable, but room not comfort” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #26 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Price reasonable, but room not comfort”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stay here 2 days. The room design only for trapped heat like in sauna. no window, totally no ventilation. The fan inside won't give any change of temperature. need purchased add-on air con. However, my room air con. not funtion well. The cool air need long time (about 6 hrs.) flow to every corner. Not suggest to stay in this hotel. Cheap but no quality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 328Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We apologize to hear that the air conditioning was faulty. If you could send me your stay details to sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com and I will get the fix it team sort this matter out.

Please connect with me directly if you require any assistance in future. We hope to welcome you back and provide better service.

Thanks for pointing this out to us for our action.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    177
    119
    42
    26
See reviews for
90
107
68
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The hotel is connected to1Borneo shopping mall, and is very close to the food courts and shopping outlets. The hotel staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. The only snag was the lift entrance faced the toilet payment counter and it was not so pleasant. The room was small and there was hardly any space to move.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jiggs157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Ok if you like wondering around in a shopping centre with no maps looks at stuff then the hotel maybe great for you. But personally I have descovered my personal hell. Be aware there is no laundry service here and I arrived with only one set of clean clothes Due to travelling around Borneo. After the staff informed me that there was no laundry they sent me on a wild goose chase around the shopping centre for a laundry service that no longer existed. I found it rather ridiculous that there was no laundry service in the whole shopping centre and the other hotels. After explains to the staff that this is just not on and that even when I have stayed in the most backwater type places there is always an option for laundry. Eventually the staff sorted it and arranged my laundry to be done. The staff them selves are very nice and are a credit to the hotel but the hotel I will never stay in again. Would rather wash myself in a bucket than be stuck in a shopping centre again. Also be aware there are also no post boxes or public telephones here. It will cost you about 35 rm for a taxi to the real town centre on the plus side there is a movie theatre in the shopping centre which was the only saving grace for my stay here. Also everything is an extra ie tv air con etc this is a place to stay one night and move on three days here was two days to much!!!

reviewed by www.leglesswanderer.com

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The hotel located some foot away from shopping mall is definitely good concept, but 1Borneo Mall is far away from KK city center, plus the crowds is not as much as expected.

Maybe there need some years for that area to well-developed, so that it can bring crowds.

Anyway, not recommended this hotel, as its location is really inconvenient which far away from city centre - there are lots of backpackers' hotels in the city centre, which is so much convenient and low cost, too.

Room Tip: Not recommmend to choose this hotel as its location is far from city centre, although we know that T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TweeBoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hi Twee Boon,

Thanks for the feedback. I come to agree with you that we are not close to the city. However there is a shuttle service offered by the mall as early as 9.00am to 9.00pm to the city centre that departs every half hour daily and the best part, it's free.

Our hotel is about an hour half from the National Park and we have tour packages where you could purchase at the time of bookings.

I hope you will come stay with us the next time you come to Kota Kinabalu and please reach out to me if you need any assistance in planning a tour or a stay at Tune Hotels.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed there two separated nights for transit.
The room wasn't big, but it's ok because I needed a few hours of sleep before my flight. There is a convenience store on the first floor so it's pretty convenient.
I payed only 30USD per a night, it was quite cheep.
The best part was that hotel stuff were very kind. I never had uncomfortable experience with them during my stay. All of them were quite nice.
Bad thing was the location. It is very far from the airport. It costs you 15USD for taxi to get there. And you basically can't take local bus with your luggages because the bus is pretty small. Also, beside the hotel, there is a night club and it's pretty loud. And drunk guys are around, so I didn't feel safe walking around at night.
There is 1 Borneo mall next to the hotel, and the mall is pretty big, if you are not going to go to downtown, just wanna spend some time in the mall, staying at this hotel is a good idea. Other than that, you need to know that it's cheep, but very far from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rimpsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hi Rimpsons,

Thanks for the feedback. It takes approximately less than half an hour to the airport, depending on traffic.

We apologize for the loud noise, please speak to the frontdesk if you wish to have a room located at a quieter end, we will work one out if we could get one available.

Hopefully you will look out for us the next time you come to Kota Kinabalu, and perhaps explore the eco attraction tours we have packaged with the hotel stays.

See you.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Located litter far a way from KKIA.But most of the front desk staff are do a good job since check in till check out.Provider the guest withy very usefull information.Just make a feel like a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid for stay a room without window.It too warm just like a sauna room.Specially when we not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Discovery A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Appalled on arrival as our first room was horrid, damp on the walls, bedside lights not working, filthy shower and our tele didn't work. After speaking to Reception we were moved to a slightly better room but the complex itself does not lend itself well to a hotel as it looks like a renovated multi storey carpark. Once we'd moved rooms and began to explore it wasn't too bad. The mall next door is extensive, with lots of lovely places to eat downstairs, although many of the shops are expensive and very English. In the mornings - as nothing else is open we enjoyed our breakfasts in the local hangout (chicken and rice anyone?), there's a regular free bus to town (thankfully coz it's quite a distance).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Incey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We apologize for the poor level of cleanliness you have experienced during your recent stay. The team had relocated you to a different room and I'm glad that made a difference. Please furnish your bookings details to sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com and I will investigate what had happened.

In the meantime, I shared your feedback to the the housekeeping team to ensure they
improve their cleanliness standards.

Thank you for the review. We hope you'll allow us the opportunity to restore your experience the next time you come by.

Warm Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#66 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
#79 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
#35 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#47 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
6.0 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Property: Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Address: G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall | Jalan Sulaman, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing