We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful hotel, which is falling apart” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #25 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful hotel, which is falling apart”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

This hotel is literally falling apart!! When I laid on my bed I could see day light coming through the cracks in the walls!! There's also lots of cockroaches running around as it's not one of the most hygenic of hotels. It's also very noisey, dont stay here!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rharri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    177
    119
    42
    26
See reviews for
90
107
68
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

Stay here from 5/11 to 9/11. Arrived almost around 10pm, no more windowed rooms available. Requested for transfer to windowed room whenever available and obtained it the next day. Got duplicate card for another RM5 deposit. The room is small as expected, smaller than Kuching's. The bed was comfy, the bedsheet and duvet cover material is very warm for tropical country. The toilet is clean. The power shower is so powerful whenever I used it. Hot water is available 24 hours - I know because I use the shower in the middle of the night and early morning. The room itself is a bit stuffy but it might not be a problem if aircond is purchased. I just used fan as I feel that it is sufficient as we spent most of the day outside and come back duing the night when it is colder. Location-wise, it is 20-30 min from city centre but manageable with clever itinerary planning & utilisation of free shuttle bus. Cleaning service is done after 4pm daily, a bit late!. If you dont want the service, tell the reception and no one will enter your room. Great for your budget!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aracolch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

Be prepared for lots of "NO" in your requests:
a) extra pillows (even if you want to pay for it - they don't provide)
b) extra bed (even if you want to pay for it - they don't provide)
c) aircon - available for 12 hours at a certain rate
d) TV - available at a certain rate - 3 channels - all TV Malaysia channels
e) Only one Access card
d) Very stuffy once ceiling fan is off / even if it is on, the room still abit stuffy
e) No windows !
f) No hot water (except from tap) if travelling with babies or old folks
g) alot of inconvenience if you are travelling with family
h) check out time is 10 am if im not wrong.
i) no room service - you only see room attendant when they come to ask you to check out. other than that, they are no where to be found. No phone in room either !

Overall room is clean, but really spartan ! Room is the same as you see it in website. Only thing - it is really stuffy and without windows at all ! Terrible !

Airport shuttle available from KK airport to 1Borneo Hypermall where the Tune hotel is. Not that frequent. Do check with the counter at airport.

I checked in for 4 nights, but on the 2nd nite, I was searching for better hotels. Location is good though cos it is in the Hypermall. In the end, I checked out for a more comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank qingyun59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

Just like the business concept of Air Asia (low fare airline), how much you pay for the room depends on how much service you need.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyFung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

This is the fourth of the Tune franchise I've stayed at. Having had a great time at the Kuching branch prior to this, I was appalled at the KK "hotel". What the other reviewers say about the location is true - it's far from town, at a horrid shopping mall with no soul. The shuttle from 1Borneo to the city (provided by the mall) takes about 30 minutes to get to the city. Both Tune and Novotel try to hide the distance issue on their respective website. If you want to shop and do nothing else, perhaps it is a good spot (but why bother?). The room itself was shabby. The bed and bedding were very comfortable, but the walls had cracks and gaps where plaster had fallen out, the light fixtures next to the bed were hanging off their hinges and taped up - the switches had fallen into the cavity behind the bed head. In terms of facilities - none. Well, there's an overpriced 7/11 and a Gloria Jeans coffee cart. If you want any decent breakfast before say 10am you have NO chance - nothing at 1Borneo opens before 10am. And the halls STANK of burnt oil/sewerage. A horrid experience. Plus the staff are surly, a taxi from the airport costs about RM50 (or if like me you arrived at midnight, RM75). The only good thing is the transit office - the lady there was really friendly and arranged a private transfer back to the airport for RM35. Incidentally - if you do stay there, the shuttle leaves from the North Atrium of 1Borneo. Tune staff were unable to explain where it was and the shopping centre (for a "Hypermall" has NO guides/maps!)/

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjisaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Dewsbury
Level Contributor
112 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

First of all the hotel IS NOT in Kota Kinabalu, in fact its completely the opposite direction.
Basically there is a mall and attached to it is this hotel.

Check in:
Dont even waste your time trying to get an early check in, 2pm end of story. But for 2rm they will keep your bags. I left a laptop, high def camera and it was all still there when i picked them up.

Room:
A midget would be cramped. The rooms are miniscule! The beds genuinely are comfy and 5 star as the hotel likes to proclaim, the 'power showers' are nothing more than drips of water in 5 minute intervals, seriously my 4 year old daughter would have more power spitting out water than the showers.
For a supposedly new hotel the paint was flaking off the walls and the fan is about as much use as my ex wife.
I paid 12rm for the wifi which broke down about 10 minutes later. I went for my money back and the hotel do not offer refunds. I moaned and moaned and eventually i was allowed to use the admin wifi in the lobby.

Location:
This is what the hotel keeps quiet, it is 50 ringitt from the airport, the cartel charge ridiculous amounts, so a return journey is 100rm, factor this into your plans.
Also, apart from the mall there is nothing at all. No beach, no pool - nothing.

I paid about 17gbp per night and wasn't annoyed, when you consider the taxi prices, add ons of wifi, towels etc.. i probably paid far more for a budget hotel than i would have for a decent one.
Its not a great hotel by any strectch of the imagination, but its not bad either. The location and add ons really let the place down. If it was located at the airport or in KK it would be fine.
But its not.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stu.bec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#66 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
#79 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
#35 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#48 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
6.0 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#22 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Property: Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Address: G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall | Jalan Sulaman, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing