We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 4 December 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2009

This hotel is literally falling apart!! When I laid on my bed I could see day light coming through the cracks in the walls!! There's also lots of cockroaches running around as it's not one of the most hygenic of hotels. It's also very noisey, dont stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rharri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Stay here from 5/11 to 9/11. Arrived almost around 10pm, no more windowed rooms available. Requested for transfer to windowed room whenever available and obtained it the next day. Got duplicate card for another RM5 deposit. The room is small as expected, smaller than Kuching's. The bed was comfy, the bedsheet and duvet cover material is very warm for tropical country. The toilet is clean. The power shower is so powerful whenever I used it. Hot water is available 24 hours - I know because I use the shower in the middle of the night and early morning. The room itself is a bit stuffy but it might not be a problem if aircond is purchased. I just used fan as I feel that it is sufficient as we spent most of the day outside and come back duing the night when it is colder. Location-wise, it is 20-30 min from city centre but manageable with clever itinerary planning & utilisation of free shuttle bus. Cleaning service is done after 4pm daily, a bit late!. If you dont want the service, tell the reception and no one will enter your room. Great for your budget!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aracolch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Be prepared for lots of "NO" in your requests:
a) extra pillows (even if you want to pay for it - they don't provide)
b) extra bed (even if you want to pay for it - they don't provide)
c) aircon - available for 12 hours at a certain rate
d) TV - available at a certain rate - 3 channels - all TV Malaysia channels
e) Only one Access card
d) Very stuffy once ceiling fan is off / even if it is on, the room still abit stuffy
e) No windows !
f) No hot water (except from tap) if travelling with babies or old folks
g) alot of inconvenience if you are travelling with family
h) check out time is 10 am if im not wrong.
i) no room service - you only see room attendant when they come to ask you to check out. other than that, they are no where to be found. No phone in room either !

Overall room is clean, but really spartan ! Room is the same as you see it in website. Only thing - it is really stuffy and without windows at all ! Terrible !

Airport shuttle available from KK airport to 1Borneo Hypermall where the Tune hotel is. Not that frequent. Do check with the counter at airport.

I checked in for 4 nights, but on the 2nd nite, I was searching for better hotels. Location is good though cos it is in the Hypermall. In the end, I checked out for a more comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank qingyun59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 12 October 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Just like the business concept of Air Asia (low fare airline), how much you pay for the room depends on how much service you need.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittyFung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

This is the fourth of the Tune franchise I've stayed at. Having had a great time at the Kuching branch prior to this, I was appalled at the KK "hotel". What the other reviewers say about the location is true - it's far from town, at a horrid shopping mall with no soul. The shuttle from 1Borneo to the city (provided by the mall) takes about 30 minutes to get to the city. Both Tune and Novotel try to hide the distance issue on their respective website. If you want to shop and do nothing else, perhaps it is a good spot (but why bother?). The room itself was shabby. The bed and bedding were very comfortable, but the walls had cracks and gaps where plaster had fallen out, the light fixtures next to the bed were hanging off their hinges and taped up - the switches had fallen into the cavity behind the bed head. In terms of facilities - none. Well, there's an overpriced 7/11 and a Gloria Jeans coffee cart. If you want any decent breakfast before say 10am you have NO chance - nothing at 1Borneo opens before 10am. And the halls STANK of burnt oil/sewerage. A horrid experience. Plus the staff are surly, a taxi from the airport costs about RM50 (or if like me you arrived at midnight, RM75). The only good thing is the transit office - the lady there was really friendly and arranged a private transfer back to the airport for RM35. Incidentally - if you do stay there, the shuttle leaves from the North Atrium of 1Borneo. Tune staff were unable to explain where it was and the shopping centre (for a "Hypermall" has NO guides/maps!)/

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sjisaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
5.5 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#63 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
369 reviews
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
#79 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
100 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Crown Borneo Hotel
The Crown Borneo Hotel
#71 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Storytel Kota Kinabalu
Storytel Kota Kinabalu
#25 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
26 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,201 reviews
10.6 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#49 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Address: Jalan Sulaman | G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £14 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing