We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tune Cheap but not so good ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Caloocan
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Tune Cheap but not so good ...”
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We stayed only for one night in this branch of Tune hotel in 1Borneo KK. I was expecting the hotel to be at par with the Tune Hotel near LCCT, KL. I was disappointed. The price is cheap however, the quality of the room and cleanliness is way below. First, the aircon is very slow in cooling the room. You need to turn on the ceiling fan to be able to cool the room. The toilet floor and wall is moldy and not properly cleaned. The painting on the walls are deteriorating already considering that it is a new hotel. The access to the hotel rooms is thru the mall and unfortunately, the staff did not mentioned to us that the main door of the hotel will open only if we use your room cards. We have to go around the mall and asked some mall staff on how to gain entrance to the hotel.

Luggage storage will cost you RM2 per luggage which is a rip off. The only consolation we have is that the local shuttle operator office inside Tune offers cheaper options for transport to the airport at around RM35 against taxi which charges you RM50.

Tune hotel is good alternative only for cheap accomodations otherwise, stay near the city center hostels.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    179
    120
    43
    26
See reviews for
93
108
68
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Very affordable! Nice,clean and safe place to crash for the night... For those who are ona tight budget and traveling alone, by twos and those whose flight arrives late at night.. This hotel is for you..
It is located inside the biggest mall in kk.. So If you just want to relax.. Eat, shop and maybe wanted to go to a spa ... This hotel is zeee right choice.

Stores at the mall: vincci, charles&keith,nike,addidas,mango, esprit, urs, starbucks, gloria jeans, coffeebean and tea leaf, mcdonalds,kfc,zouk
spa, thai spa,watsons, money exchange (i saw 3) ... Other hotels inside the mall, etc

Downside: must have ringgit available for deposit of card and towel; ac and tv wont work; early check out time of 10am

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanglanyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

True to their word - It was no frills, cheap, yet clean and great place. Amenities like TV, Aircon, towels are add-ons if you wanna pay for them. Ceiling fan is free. All their Beds are King Koil (Tune special) queen size. Right next to largest modern shopping mall in Borneo - there's also a hyperrmart (Giant) and a Cineplex. Little out of place though, but a free shuttle service between town and 1Borneo was provided for hotel guests. They can store your luggage if you are checking out and going some place (ed climb Mt Kinabalu). Costs RM 2 per piece per day. What more can one ask for? Book online now!

Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CJChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights from 14 to 18 February 2010 and it was a unique experience to say the least. Whilst I expected no frills accomodation, what I did not expect was a shower stall so small, my toiletries had to be hung in a plastic bag off shower tap.

Lobby : Cluttered and uninteresting with a mix of lobby furniture from the Gloria Jean's Coffee kiosk and from what looks like leftover dinner chairs from a closed down restaurant. The convenience store is well-stocked but draws more attention to it than the reception desk. A travel agent offers tours and transportation when needed.

Check in & staff: This process was extremely smooth and painless. Staff are friendly and competent. You can pay for 12hr or 24hr usage of air-conditioning (which I found a pain to do everytime the hours ran out), use of the very small television, towel and toiletries (requires a RM10 deposit on top of what you pay) and WiFI. The WiFi did not work so well in the rooms. We brought this up with the staff and they quickly refunded us. You are only given one key per room but you can request for an additional one for a fee.

Getting to the rooms: To access the rooms, one must pass the convenience store and out the door into the hallway leading to the mall and into a corridor which leads to the mall loos but also to the lifts up to the hotel rooms. The lift opens up to a non-descript lobby where "security" is a couple doors,possibly leading to the public parking area, boarded up with a single bar. I did not feel safe despite the promise of 24 hour security.

Rooms: The room I stayed in was spartan with only a queen sized bed, poorly hung, less than 17 inch LCD TV (only shows 3 local channels), 1 side table, and a fold out table for laptops. There is a small rack with 4 hangers for use hung in the corner of the room just above the solo side table. The room feels claustrophobic and felt even more so when i discovered that behind the curtains was a window which looked out to a dark dingy corridor. I never looked out again and prayed for safety.

There is no proper place to put your luggage so the already minimal floor space will have to be used for that purpose. The bed is suitably comfortable with only 2 pillows provided. A ceiling fan can be used instead of opting for air conditioning. However, the lack of windows to fresh air negates the use of just the ceiling fan and air conditioning is a necessity for ventilation. The bathroom is small and the shower stall has soap scum which is badly in need of scrubbing off.

Needless to say,unlike what was promised, it was not a five star experience on a 1 star price. I would not stay in this hotel or any of the Tune hotel chains again. Its a great idea but very poorly executed. I would much rather go for another lesser known, lesser hyped budget accommodation, where everything is paid for upfront and I know exactly what I'm getting myself into.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsseah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

As stated thru the website, 5 star bed with the cheapest price you pay. Location of this hotel is NOT center of the town. It's about 30-45 minutes drive from airport or KK town. As review by others this hotel is connected with Sabah Biggest Hypermall "1 Borneo". The mall with three direction (North, South & Center Atrium) consist of a GSC cinema, Parkson, Fast Food outlets, Giant Supermarket, Tune Shop(same company owned by Tune Hotel), Novotel Hotel, Grand Borneo Hotel(previously Mercure Hotel), Courtyard Hotel, RHB & CIMB bank, Daiso & many many more independent outlets. The room size of this hotel is good for two person only whereby all the rooms consist of a queen size bed. NO TWIN OR SINGLE BED!!! Air con consist of 12 & 24 hrs usage, tv usage, internet wifi usage, towels + toiletries all which with minimal charges. Check in time is 1400hrs & check out is 1000hrs with no early or later from that time. Room access using key card for corridor gate, room doors & power activation in the room. One key card only per room whereby a deposit of RM5 for the return of the key upon check out. Free shuttle service runs every hours from the mall to the town whereby you need to get a ticket from the information counter located at the other end of the mall. I would say this hotel is good for a night or two. You will get bored at this place if you tend to stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 734 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

This hotel is a good value for money. We stayed here for 1 day on Feb.05. From the airport we headed to the hotel for 50MYR. Quite Expensive. The hotel is inside the 1Borneo which is a Big Shopping Complex Mall. The staff welcomes us with nice smile. We booked in Agoda.com. Luckily, towel with soap and 12 hour air-con is included. The room they gave us has a good view. The bed was comfortable and the room is nice esp. for a short trip. We availed a free Shuttle Bus going to Warisan Square. From there, we headed to airport for 25MYR. All in all, we had a good stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
7.5 mi away
The Crown Borneo Hotel
The Crown Borneo Hotel
#67 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
146 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,189 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
#43 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#64 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
362 reviews
4.8 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#30 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
49 reviews
5.0 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#32 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Property: Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Address: Jalan Sulaman | G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing