We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Nearby Hotels
US$368
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$344
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Klagan Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sixty3(Kota Kinabalu)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grandis(Kota Kinabalu)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveller rating
93
183
123
45
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
183
123
45
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar pricepower showerunder one rooflargest mallcomfortable bedother hotelscomfortable stayhypermalltoiletriesdryer
Filter
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 471 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Dun think that its a budget hotel, think that its a good place to stay and can save your money on other tourist attactions.^^
Enjoy my staying there!
Location is a bit far from the city but they have free shuttle provide by 1 borneo hypermall which saved many of our money.^^

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarryGanWeiLer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

If you are just looking for a comfortable place to sleep and shower, then this is the perfect hotel. It is located right next to the largest mall in 1 Borneo so it makes shopping a breeze. The room has a soft and comfortable bed, the bathroom is complete with all the basics we need and in good condition. Staffs are generally friendly, including the corridor cleaner! I didn't pay extra for air-conditioning and surprisingly the room was not stuffy at all. But sad to mention that there is a big crack on the room wall, the safe box wasn't working, the fan remote control wasn't working, and we could hear all the noise that came from the lobby downstairs. Overally the place is great considering the low price I paid, I couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichMooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Apart from the weird entrance to the hotel, we enjoyed our stay and loved the access to the free shuttle to town, and the proximity to 1 Borneo shops with associated cheap prices and bargain food close-by. The hotel staff were helpful and knowlegeable. Our adjoining rooms were not very well maintained, or clean but we pay around 20 ringit per night and our expectations were met. Not up to LCCT, KL City's Tune or even close to Tune Penang or Kuching for room quality but the 1 Borneo shopping centre made it a worthwhile stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lyndy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I've travelled over 1000km's with AirAsia on a return flight costing me less than RM20. So when I booked a room with Tune Hotel,3 months in advance, I was expecting a really yummy deal with them too, since everyone knew that the person helming Tune Hotel was the same person behind AirAsia's great, success story. Well, it turned out to be somewhat weird experience for me though. The Tune branch that I spent a few good nights at was the one within 1 Borneo, in Kota Kinabalu. Weird in the sense, it was full of surprises, not just from the positive end but also those bad ones. For a start, the room that I stayed in had large, visible cracks on its wall and the plaster ceiling finish was also peeling off rather badly, those that are hanging by its nail, you know it'll drop off any moment. Yet, that very same room had this gigantic mirror from the wall skirting right up to the ceiling, something you'll never find in hotels within the same price range. And when I mean same price range, I'm referring to the RM80-RM100 range. You'll go no where with the basic RM40-RM50 price range, since it's without the aircon, toiletries, wifi...etc.
Even the TV, which cost RM6.90 for a 24 hour credit usage, is limited to national tv channels only. Wow, and I thought Astro was pretty much standard. Then again, I was pretty glad that they had this eletronic safety deposit box in the room, as it really came in handy. The cosmetic, swing mirror in the bathroom to view you hair on the back of your head was also a pleasant surprise. Curtains were reasonably thick, able to shield the sunlight from the disturbing me up from my sleep. Cleanliness was average, nothing really to shout about. Didn't like the 'Tune Hotel' sticker on the bathroom door though, way overpromoting the brand IMHO, as if they were too scared their guests didn't know they were staying in 'Tune Hotel'.

All in all, it's a "reasonably, weird, expensive budget hotel".
Oh yeah, did I mention the check-out time is at 10am and the lift to the rooms are actually 'outside' of the hotel lobby. Plus, the toilet doors can't be locked and is transparent at some parts. Well, kind of hard to describe it in words, and last but not least, 'Good Luck'!

Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
8  Thank Hotelier_Dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Hi There,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay at Tune Hotels- 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu.

We appreciate the level of detail you went into and take note of the comments you have made.

Your input regarding our room with a crack wall and the marred plaster ceiling finish has been forwarded to the relevant team for their attention and action.

We are a Limited Service Hotel. Therefore, we provide the basics for a good night sleep. We do not provide items such as wardrobe, mini bar, coffee and tea making facilities, extra pillows, extra beds, room service, etc. Air-conditioning, Television, and Wi-Fi are chargeable add-ons and towels are on rental basis only. This typically allows our customers to assemble their stay requirements to suit their budget.

We adopt a demand based pricing mechanism. Room rates fluctuate based on demand and room availability. You are more likely to find more promo room rates during off peak periods than during peak periods (public holidays, weekends, etc).

We have always endeavored to provide the best within our limited service concept.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about our hotel we are glad that you enjoyed the other parts of your stay and hope that we will have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Rooms were clean and although small, were absolutely worth the price, staff organised mt kinabalu tour for us, even though we arrived late (flight was delayed), and tour had already left, they organised another driver promptly. AC/internet worked fine (add-ons). Safe for solo travellers. Convenient location, right near shops etc.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tasha094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2010

Hi,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay at Tune Hotels- 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

We appreciate all of the positive feedback about our hotel. Great to see you enjoyed your stay and that the staff looked after you through out your stay. I have passed your comments onto the team, who I know will appreciate them.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor and we hope that we will have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews